Joes and Petes through to limited over Quarter finals


A number of 2-day and limited over encounters of the Singer Schools under 19 championship were worked off around the island today.

St Joseph’s College vs St Joseph Vaz College

The under 19 limited over pre quarter final playoffs were in full swing today as St Joseph Vaz Wennapuwa made a visit to Darley road in an all-important fixture.

Josephian skipper Ashain Daniel won the toss and elected to bowl first on a scorching Tuesday morning after a well battled out traditional encounter against the Peterites ended up in a tame draw over the weekend. Sri Lanka under 19 batsmen Nipun Dhananjaya troubled the Josephians with some elegant cricketing shots, but was a lone ranger in the Vazian innings as Daniel together with Lakshan Gamage bundled up the innings in the penultimate over. Dhanajaya ended up with 74 whilst Gamage and Daniel picked up two wickets each.

Chasing 180, the boys from Darley road were in spot of bother at 25 for the loss of 2 wickets early on. Dilesh Perera’s 64 together with Dunith Wellalage’s 64 not out helped the Josephians cross the line with five wickets in hand as they reached the target quite comfortably, with 12 overs to spare.

Brief scores

St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa 180 (49.1)

Nipun Dhananjaya 74, Yohan Maduwantha 27*, Lakshan Gamage 2/21, Ashain Daniel 2/31, Ashan De Alvis 2/41


St. Joseph’s College, Colombo 182/5 (37.1)

Dunith Wellalage 64*, Dilesh Perera 64

St. Joseph’s College won by 5 wickets

Santhush Gunathilake turns saviour at 85th Battle of the Saints

The Peterites were staring down the barrel at an outright loss at 106/6 in their second…

St Peter’s College vs Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya

Back in Bambalapitiya, the Peterites took on Dharmapala College Pannipitiya in another pre-quarter final playoff. Batting first, Dharmpala College crawled their way to 202 with Avishka Hasarinda and Chamindu Samarasinghe leading the way, scoring 56 and 48 respectively. Left arm seamer Tariq Saboor was the chief destroyer for the Peterites whilst Kanishka Maduwantha, the Best All-rounder from the recently concluded Battle of the Saints, chipped in with two wickets.

The Peterites were off to a solid start as Dinith Anjula and Santhush Gunathilaka scored two important fifties early on to put the hosts in the driving seat. Vice-captain Nipunaka Fonseka together with skipper Ranmith Jayasena sealed the deal for the Peterites, claiming a 7 wicket victory.  

Brief scores

Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya 202/8 (48)

Avishka Hasarinda 56, Chamindu Samarasinghe 48, Tariq Saboor 2/25, Kanishka Madhuwantha 2/34, Wanuja Sahan 2/43


St. Peters College, Colombo 203/3 (42.5)

Dinith Sanjula 92, Santhush Gunathilaka 65, Nipunaka Fonseka 22*, Ranmith Jayasena 20*

St Peter’s won by 7 wickets

Sublime Dineth Jayakody half century puts Josephians in box seat

A bold batting display by the Josephians led by their ace run getter Dineth Jayakody…

Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda vs Mahinda College, Galle

After resuming on an overnight score of 5 for the loss of 1 wicket, Mahinda College Galle managed to secure a first innings win over Dharmasoka College Ambalangoda in their traditional encounter at the Galle international Cricket Stadium. Replying to Dharmasoka College’s score of 219, the Mahindians were off to a shaky start, losing wickets early on. Sri Lanka under 19 cap Nipun Malinga steadied the Mahinda innings with an important knock of 80  in partnership with Kaushitha Kodithuwakku as Mahinda College managed to go pass the 219 run mark before being bowled for 230 in the 61st over. Aroshana De Soyza and Dinuka Dilshan bagged 3 wickets each for the Sokians.

The Sokians impressed with the bat the second time around as Kavindu Nadeeshan converted his impressive 42 runs in the first innings to top it off with wonderful 50 not out. Dharmasoka ended the day on 133 for the loss of 2 wickets as Mahinda College picked up a first innings win.

Brief scores

Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda 219 (78.2) Dinuka Dilshan 55, Kavindu Nadeeshan 42, Sena Deshayi 33, Aroshana de Soyza 26, Subhanu Rajapaksha 4/39, Ashen Kandambi 3/25 & 133/2 (30) Kavindu Nadeeshan 50*, Sena Deshai 41, Sasindu Malshan 25*, Subhanu Rajapaksha 2/41


Mahinda College, Galle 230 (60.3) Nipun Malinga 80, Kaushitha Kodithuwakku 51, Hansika Welihinda 43, Binura Dulsara 22, Aroshana De Soyza 3/46, Dinuka Dilshan 3/65,