Karunanayake and Chandraguptha tons light up Day 1

National Super League 4-Day Tournament 2023/24

National Super League 4-Day Tournament 2023/24

The second phase of National Super League 4-Day Tournament 2023/24 commenced today (14th March) at Colombo (RPICS) and Hambantota.

The encounter between Team Kandy and Team Galle began today at Mahinda Rajapaksha International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota.

>>Dominant S. Thomas’ qualify for Tri-Series Final

Team Kandy opted to bat first after winning the toss but were bowled out for just 210 runs as left-arm spinner Nimesh Vimukthi and seamer Dhananjaya Lakshan ripped through their batting lineup picking up 3 wickets each.

In reply, Team Galle made 53/3 at the close of play on Day 1. Nimsara Atharagalla picked up 2 wickets for 25 runs for Team Galle.

Team Jaffna finished Day 1 on a strong position in their encounter against Team Colombo at R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo.

Having opted to bat first after winning the toss, Team Jaffna posted a commanding total – 305/2 on the board. Nipun Karunanayake and Ron Chandraguptha were brilliant with the bat as they made fine centuries.

>>Centenary Celebrations of the Big Club Grounds at S Thomas’ College Mount Lavinia

Karunanayake hit unbeaten 118 runs off 177 balls with 16 fours and a six while Chandraguptha made unbeaten 118 runs off 245 balls with 12 fours. The duo added 208-run partnership for the 3rd wicket to guide Jaffna to a solid total on Day 1.

Brief Scores 

Kandy – 210 (63.5) Pawantha Weerasinghe 56, Wanuja Sahan 56, Kamil Mishara 21, Ashian Daniel 20*, Nimesh Vimukthi 3/21, Dhananjaya Lakshan 3/26

Galle – 53/3 (16) Dhananjaya Lakshan 20*, Nimsara Atharagalla 2/25

Stumps – Day 1

Jaffna – 305/2 (89) Nipun Karunanayake 118*, Ron Chandraguptha 118*, Nishan Madushka 53, Nisala Tharaka 2/58

Stumps – Day 1