Thurstan demolish Pathana once again

Isipathana Vs Thurstan Annual T20 Match


The annual T20 encounter between Thurstan College and Isipathana College was worked off at the Colts Cricket club in Colombo this morning with Thurstan College comprehensively beating the Pathanians by 54 runs.

Thurstan secure hat-trick of wins

Bringing in all the confidence they got from the big match win, Thurstan College…

Riding high on confidence after winning the 56th Battle of the Brothers and also comprehensively beating arch rivals Isipathana College in the 39th limited encounter, Thurstan College came all guns blazing to savor another victory. Batting first the Thurstanites posted a formidable 144 before being bowled out in the final delivery of the 20th over.  Bawantha Jayasinghe top scored for the boys from Thurstan with a determined 43 of 22 balls consisting 4 fours and a mighty six. Yohan Liyanage chipped in with 41. In the bowling department Yasiru Kasthuriarachchi bagged 4 wickets for 30 runs whilst Gagana Lakthilaka picked up 3 wickets for 26 runs.

Sandaru Dias spins Thurstan to landmark win

The 19-year result-less streak in the Battle of the Brothers encounter was broken…

Chasing a target of 145 at over 7 runs an over the green machine were greeted to a valiant bowling performance they’d be facing the last couple of weeks. Eshan Fernando was the top scorer for Pathana as he raised his way to a controlled 30 runs. Yohan Liyanage brought his wonderful all round performance into the game picking up 4 wickets for 25 run. Liyanage was adjudged Man of the match for his excellent effort with bat and ball. This is the first time in history that Thurstan College has won all three encounters.

Photos: Thurstan College vs Isipathana College | 12th T20 Encounter

Brief scores

Thurstan College 144 all out (20 overs): Bawantha Jayasinghe 43*, Yohan Liyanage 41, Jayavihan Mahavithana 26, Yasiru Kasthuriarachchi 4/30,  Gagana Lankatilaka 3/26


Isipathana College 92 all out (18.2 overs)Eshan Fernando 30, Yohan Liyanage 4/25

Thurstan College won by 52 runs


  • Best Batsmen – Bawantha Jayasinghe (Thurstan College)
  • Best Bowler – Yasiru Kasthuriarachchi (Isipathana College)
  • Best Fielder – Kaalik Amaath (Isipathana College)
  • Man of the Match – Yohan Liyanage (Thurstan College)