Sumathipala withdraws; Four candidates for SLC top post


Former Sri Lanka Cricket President Thilanga Sumathipala will not be contesting in the upcoming Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) elections scheduled for February next year.

Sumathipala announced that he will not be contesting for the post of president at a press conference held at SSC yesterday. He pointed out ‘political commitments’ for not contesting, and claimed he has no legal issues as made out by his opponents.

Read More : New Sports Minister halts SLC elections?

Although Sumathipala will not contest the elections he will still be a key figure at SLC. As the Immediate Past President of the Board, Sumathipala will sit on the Executive Committee meetings.

The much-anticipated postponed SLC election will be held on 7th February after it was postponed from the earlier slated date of 31st May due to an injunction order by

Read More : SLC election should happen before December 31st – outgoing SLC ExCo

Sumathipala’s ally Mohan De Silva will run for Presidency against K. Mathivanan, Jayantha Dharmadasa and Shammi Silva.  

Mohan de Silva, K Mathivanan and Shammi Silva have also submitted their names to the two posts of vice-president positions along with former Sri Lanka World Cup winning Captain Arjuna Ranatunga.

Read More : Appeal Court postpones SLC elections

Former secretary of SLC Nishantha Ranatunga, Bandula Dissanayake, Mohan de Silva and Shammi Silva will battle it out for the post of secretary while for the treasurer’s post Lasantha Wickramasinghe, Ravin Wickramaratne, Nalin Wickramasinghe and Shammi Silva will contest.

The Ministry of Sports announced that the closing date for filing of objections is 31 December at 3.00pm and stated that only afflicted association office bearers can submit objections while third party objections will not be accepted.

Full list of nominations

President – Jayantha Dharmadasa, K Mathivanan, Shammi Silva, Mohan De Silva

Vice-President (2) – Shammi Silva, Ravin Wickramratne, K Mathivanan, Arjuna Ranathunga, Pramodya Wickramasinghe, Mohan De Silva

Secretary – Bandula Dissanayake, Nishantha Ranathunga, Shammi Silva, Mohan De Silva

Treasurer – Lasantha Wickramasinghe, Ravin Wickramaratne, Nalin Wickramasinghe, Shammi Silva.

Assistant Secretary – Chrishantha Kapuwatte, Bandula Dissanayake, Ravin Wickramarathne, Hirantha Perera

Assistant Treasurer – Lalith Rambukwella, Nalin Wickramasinghe, Eastman Narangoda, Gihan Weerasinghe, Sanuja Senadeera.