Dinuka Dilshan 4-fer rattles Galle CC

SLC Major Clubs T20 Tournament 2023


SLC Major Clubs T20 Tournament 2023 continued for the 3rd day today (29th May), as another six matches were played at three venues in Colombo.

Galle CC vs Moors SC

Moors SC delivered another dominant performance with the ball to make it two in two after an 8-wicket win over Galle CC at the Army Grounds in Panagoda.

After putting Galle CC to bat first, Moors SC had rattled them for a brief 40 runs in 13.3 overs, led by Dinuka Dilshan, who picked 4/10 in his 4-over spell, while Lahiru Samarakoon and Thilan Lorensu shared 5 wickets between them.

Moors SC reached the target inside the first 8 overs after losing a couple of wickets.

>>Tharupathi, Dinusha light up opening day of Major Club T20 Tournament<<

Pandura SC vs SL Airforce SC

Panadura SC defended their total of 156 against SL Airforce SC to claim a 75-run win as their first win at CCC Grounds in Colombo.

After having won the toss, Airforce decided to bowl first as Panadura SC posted 156/8. Rajeewa Weerasinghe scored a 29-ball 47, as their top scorer while Sineth Jayawardane got out after a 34-run knock, while Lasanda Rukmal bagged 4 wickets with the ball.

However, the Airforce side were restricted to 81 with 2.3 overs to spare, led by Vishwa Lahiru who picked 3/19, while Asela Sampath and Koshan Jayawickrama scalped two apiece.

Negombo CC vs Colombo CC

Colombo CC secured their 2nd consecutive win after beating Negombo CC by 5 wickets at NCC Grounds in Colombo.

After being asked to bat first, Negombo CC struggled throughout their innings, only managing to post 124/8 in their 20 overs. Jeewaka Sashen was their chief scorer with 29 runs. National Team seam bowler Vishwa Fernando picked 3/22, while Chathuranga De Silva got 2 wickets as well.

The CCC team chased down the target after losing 5 wickets with 5 balls to spare. Minod Bhanuka stroked a 24-ball 41, while Nimesha Gunasinghe remained not out on 40.

>>SSC prevail in low-scoring thriller to register first win<<

Kandy Customs SC vs Burgher Recreation Club

Burgher Recreation Club beat Kandy Customs SC by 8 wickets at their match which was played today at Army Grounds in Panagoda.

After opting to bat first, the Kandy Customs’ batters failed to post a competitive total as they scored only 75 runs for 8 wickets in 20 overs. Mohammed Shiraz bowled superbly to pick 3/10 in his 4 overs including a maiden over, while Duvindu Thilakarathne bowled an absolutely extraordinary spell as he bagged a couple of wickets by conceding only 4 runs in his entire 4-over spell.

The BRC side reached the target quite easily inside the first 10 overs after losing 3 wickets. Dilruwan Perera opened the innings and scored 26 off 19, while Lakshan Gamage contributed with a 13-ball 23.

SL Army SC vs Nondescripts CC

Nondescripts Cricket Club registered a comprehensive 9-wicket win over SL Army SC at CCC Grounds in Colombo.

After having won the toss, NCC decided to field first as they were restricted the opposite side to 121/8. Harshajith Veerendra was the top scorer for Army SC with 26 runs, while Ashian Daniel was the star with the ball to pick 3/17.

The NCC openers Niroshan Dickwella and Kamil Mishara provided a brisk start to their chase as the veteran raced to 34 off just 11 balls. Mishara took their side home with an unbeaten fifty as they chased down the target in just 12.4 overs.

>>SLC Major Clubs T20 Tournament to kick off on 27th May<<

Chilaw Marians CC vs SL Police SC

Chilaw Marians SC registered a 22-run win over SL Police SC at NCC Grounds in Colombo.

After opting to bat first, the Chilaw Marians was managed to post 151/7, with Damitha Silva scoring a half-century. Nalin Priyadarshana took 3 wickets with the ball.

When chasing 152 to win, Police SC fell well short of the target by being bowled out for 129 with 4 balls to spare. Chamod Sandaru was the pick of the bowlers for the Chilaw Marians with a terrific 5-wicket haul.

Brief Scores:

Galle CC 40 (13.3) Maleesha Silva 13, Dinuka Dilshan 4/10, Lahiru Samarakoon 3/5, Thilan Lorensu 2/7

Moors SC 42/2 (7.4) Dinuka Dilshan 17*, Pasindu Sooriyabandara 9*, Maleesha Silva 1/10, Tharush Damindu 1/14

Result: Moors SC won by 8 wickets

Panadura SC 156/8 (20) Rajeewa Weerasinghe 47, Sineth Jayawardane 36, Roshan Wijenayake 34*, Lasanda Rukmal 4/33

SL Airforce SC 81 (17.3) Nadun Dilshan 31, Vishwa Lahiru 3/19, Asela Sampath 2/11, Koshan Jayawickrama 2/12

Result: Panadura SC won by 75 runs

Negombo CC 124/8 (20) Jeewaka Sashen 29, Dimuth Sandaruwan 25, Vishwa Fernando 3/22, Chathuranga De Silva 2/29

Colombo CC 127/5 (19.1) Minod Bhanuka 41, Nimesha Gunasinghe 40*, Nishan Peiris 2/15, Sachindu Colambage 2/21

Result: Colombo CC won by 5 wickets

Kandy Customs SC 75/8 (20) Sasith Manuranga 23*, Mohammed Shiraz 3/10, Duvindu Thilakarathne 2/4, Malindu Shehan 2/26

Burgher Recreation Club 76/3 (9.2) Dilruwan Perera 26, Lakshan Gamage 23, Bhagya Dissanayake 15*, Sasith Manuranga 2/7

Result: Burgher Recreation Club won by 7 wickets

SL Army SC 121/8 (20) Harshajith Veerendra 26, Asela Gunarathne 25, Ashian Daniel 3/17, Kamil Mishara 2/25

Nondescripts CC 126/1 (12.4) Kamil Mishara 56*, Niroshan Dickwella 34, Thaveesha Abishek 24*, Lakshan Edirisinghe 1/40

Result: Nondescripts CC won by 9 wickets

Chilaw Marians CC 151/7 (20) Damitha Silva 56, Kasun Vidura 22, Nalin Priyadarshana 3/23, Danal Hemananda 2/30

SL Police SC 129 (19.2) Randunu Ganganath 26, Chathuranga Jayathilake 24, Chamod Sandaru 5/22, Nipun Premarathne 2/20

Result: Chilaw Marians CC won by 22 runs