Tharupathi, Dinusha light up opening day of Major Club T20 Tournament

SLC Major Clubs T20 Tournament 2023


Major Club T20 Tournament 2023, which is organized by Sri Lanka Cricket, kicked off today (27th March) as Chilaw Marians CC, Nondescripts CC, Colombo CC & Moors SC secured victories on the opening day.

SL Army SC vs Chilaw Marians CC

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club beat Sri Lanka Army Sports Club by 4 wickets at P. Sara Oval Stadium in Colombo.

After being asked to bowl first, the Chilaw Marians restricted SL Army to 143/7 in 20 overs. Pathum Kumara and Skipper Thisara Perera scored 45 & 41, respectively, while Nipun Premarathne and Kavindu Nirmana scalped two apiece.

Supun Kavinda and Chamod Sandaru scored 36 & 35 respectively, as Chilaw Marians CC chased down the target with one over to spare.

>>SLC Major Clubs T20 Tournament to kick off on 27th May<<

Nondescripts CC vs Panadura SC

NCC secured a 48-run win over Panadura SC at their match played today at Surray Village Grounds in Maggona.

After inviting NCC to bat first, they posted 182/4 in their 20 overs, with the legendary Upul Tharanga smashing 89 off 58.

In reply, Panadura SC was unable to chase that down as they were bowled out for 134. Asela Sigera bagged 3/8, while Chamika Gunasekara took a couple as well.

>>Moors SC crown as U23 champions<<

Colombo CC vs Galle CC

Colombo Cricket Club registered a massive 107-run win over Galle Cricket Club at the match which was played today at Surray Village Grounds in Maggona.

After deciding to bat first, CCC posted a competitive total of 173/7. Vinushka Silva and Sonal Dinusha stroked half-centuries, while Tharinda Guruge picked 3 wickets.

When chasing 174 to win, the Galle CC batters were completely outplayed by the CCC bowlers, who were led by Sonal Dinusha and Sandun Mendis as they both bagged 3/6 each.

>>Jayathunga’s terrific double ton makes headlines on final day<<

Kandy Customs SC vs Moors SC

Moors SC took a comfortable 8-wicket win against Kandy Customs SC at P. Sara Oval Stadium in Colombo.

After opting to bat first, Kandy Customs SC showed a rather disappointing batting display to blow away for 89, led by Malsha Tharupathi with terrific figures of 4/12 in 3.3 overs.

Sohan De Livera raced to 46 off 20, as Moors SC chased down an easy target of 90 in just 11.2 overs after losing 2 wickets.

Brief Scores:

SL Army SC 143/7 (20) Pathum Kumara 45, Thisara Perera 41, Nipun Premarathne 2/23, Kavindu Nirmana 2/25

Chilaw Marians CC 149/6 (19) Supun Kavinda 36, Chamod Sandaru 35, Kaumal Nanayakkara 2/19, Lakshan Edirisinghe 2/22

Result: Chilaw Marians CC won by 4 wickets

NCC 182/4 (20) Upul Tharanga 89, Thaveesha Abhishek 46, Ahan Wickramasinghe 19*, Yashan Avishka 1/18

Panadura SC 134 (19.4) Sukitha Manoj 43, Sineth Jayawardane 42, Asela Sigera 3/8, Chamika Gunasekara 2/26

Result: NCC won by 48 runs

CCC 173/7 (20) Vinushka Silva 78, Sonal Dinusha 51*, Tharinda Guruge 3/21, Damith Rathnayake 2/24

Galle CC 66 (13.4) Oshada Fernando 18, Sonal Dinusha 3/6, Sandun Mendis 3/6, Nuwan Thushara 2/14

Result: Colombo CC won by 107 runs

Kandy Customs SC 89 (17.3) Harindu Jayasekara 32, Malsha Tharupathi 4/12, Lahiru Samarakoon 2/9, Thilan Lorensu 1/10

Moors SC 90/2 (11.2) Sohan De Livera 46, Dinuka Dilshan 27*, Nisala Akash 1/7, Yohan Suresh 1/17

Result: Moors SC won by 8 wickets