Bishan and Amshi propel to the top of the charts

SLC Major Club Youth (U23) Tournament 2020/21


Bishan Mendis amassed 104 runs while Amshi de Silva picked up a fifer to become the most run-scorer and wicket-taker of the tourney respectively as 7 games of SLC Major Youth Tournament was worked off today, 23rd September 2020.

Read More : Hasitha Boyagoda’s all-round show guides NCC to victory; Kamindu Mendis strokes a ton

In the battle between the soldiers at Welisara, Bishan Mendis kept his form while Pathum Kumara played second fiddle to him scoring an unbeaten 71 runs. Army SC boasted 71 runs in 47 overs stamping their authority in the tournament. Akindu Karunaratne of Navy SC managed 3 wickets as consolidation.

Sakuna Liyanage of Nugegoda S&WC scored a stroke-filled 81 runs which included 5
boundaries and 4 sixers in the 74-ball showdown. In the same game, the spin duo of Badureliya CC, Vimukthi Kulathunga, and Thashika Nirmal picked up 3 wickets each to add a bit of tension on the rope.

All-rounder Ravindu Fernando of Tamil Union C&AC scored a gritty half-century to spice up the Tamil Union-SSC match as the SSC top-order batsman Nipun Dhananjaya replied with an elegant 62 runs putting his team well in the fight. The icing on the cake was applied by the hammering allrounder Sammu Ashan who struck an unbeaten 45 to see SSC over the line.

Ravindu Sembukkittige (67*), Ranesh Silva (67*), Avindu Theekshana (51) all struck handsome half-centuries today to make the tournament get even more competitive.

With the ball in hand, it was yet again Amshi de Silva show as the guileful right arm seamer registered his second fifer of the tourney. He was well partnered by the former Peterite off-spinner Ruvin Senevirathne who picked 4 for 18.

Brief Scores

Kandy Customs Sports Club 130/8 (23)
Sasith Manuranga 28, Sasith Priyal 25, Thanula Chamod 2/23, Kushan Madusha 2/23

Galle Cricket Club 124/6 (22)
Ravishka Wijesiri 44, Kavindu Ediriweera 33, Imesh Madusanka 3/12

Galle CC won by 2 Runs (DLS Method)

Read : Harith Fernando’s 88 earns a win for Army SC

Army Cricket Club 271/9 (47)
Bishan Mendis 104, Pathum Kumara 71*, Akindu Karunarathna 3/63, Johanne De Zilwa 2/42

Navy Sports Club 114/9 (22)
Bhagya Dissanayaka 21, Imesh Viranga 21, Hashan Sandeepa 3/10, Gihan Koralage 2/27, Heshan Madusanka 2/29

Army CC won by 62 Runs (DLS Method)

Tamil Union Cricket And Athletic Club 235 (49)
Ravindu Fernando 56, Kamesh Nirmal 47, Kavindu Madarasinghe 45, Ashan Fernando 23, Supun Kavinda 22, Himesh Ramanayake 3/47, Kalana Perera 2/38

Sinhalese Sports Club 223/6 (45.4)
Nipun Dananjaya 62, Sammu Ashan 45*, Krishan Sanjula 45, Chamindu Wickramasinghe 40, Raveen De Silva 2/26, Sachindu Colombage 2/38

SSC won by 4 Wickets (DLS Method)

Read : Get to know the players of Major Youth League 2020/2021

Lankan Cricket Club 148 (43.4)
Kevin Perera 29, Damith Silva 27, Sawan Kankanange 21, Kasun Ekanayake 3/31, Ravindu Sembakuttige 2/11, Kasun Ravindu 2/23, Movin Subasinghe 2/28

Air Force Sports Club 139/6 (39.4)
Ravindu Sembakuttige 67*, Movin Subasinghe 23*, Chaamikara Hewage 22, Sandun Sathsara 4/31, Yasiru Rodrigo 2/31

Air Force SC won by 4 wickets (DLS Method)

Nugegoda Sports & Welfare Club 222 (44.3)
Sakuna Liyanage 81, Pasindu Adithya 31, Muditha Lakshan 24, Abishek Liyanarachchi 23, Ruchira Koshitha 3/29, Malinda Jayod 2/45

Badureliya Cricket Club 225/8 (44)
Ranesh Silva 67*, Avindu Theekshana 51, Mithira Thenura 32, Dunith Jayathunga 21, Avishka Lakshan 21, Vimukthi Kulathunga 4/41, Thashika Nirmal 3/39

Badureliya CC won by 2 wickets

Read Also : Major Club Youth Tournament 2020/21 fixtures announced

Sebastianites Cricket and Athletic Club 170 (49.1)
Tharusha Fernando 46, Tharusha Samarawickrama 23, Rayan Fernando 23, Mohamed Faheem 3/10, Charuka Jayathilake 3/39, Resandu Thilakarathna 2/26

Police Sports Club 132 (40.3)
Bawantha Udangamuwa 29, Lakshitha Amarasekara 27, Hasindu Shamika 22, Tharusha Fernando 4/24, Tharusha Samarawickrama 2/20, Hansa De Silva 2/25

Sebastianites C & AC won by 34 Runs (DLS Method)

Kurunegala Youth Cricket Club 105 (33.4)
Randeera Ranasinghe 24, Kaveen Bandara 21, Amshi De Silva 5/23, Ruvin Seneviratne 4/18

Colombo Cricket Club 100/6 (18)
Pavan Ratnayake 27*, Pawantha Weerasinghe 25, Asitha Wanninayake 4/34

CCC won by 4 Wickets (DLS Method)