Hasitha Boyagoda’s all-round show guides NCC to victory; Kamindu Mendis strokes a ton

SLC Major Club Youth (U23) Tournament 2020/21


10 matches of the SLC Major Club Youth Tournament were worked off today in venues around the island. The encounter between Panadura Sports Club and Ragama Cricket Club was called off due to the prevailing weather conditions. 

NCC got off to a flying start in the tourney, registering a 87-run victory over Kalutara Town Club. The all-round performance of former Sri Lanka U19 player Hasitha Boyagoda stood out as he stroked an elegant half-ton with the bat while capturing 3 wickets with the ball. 

Harith Fernando’s 88 earns a win for Army SC

Tamil Union Cricket Club registered a comprehensive 7-wicket win over Kurunegala Youth Cricket Club thanks to the efforts of Miranga Wickramage (4/25) and Kamesh Nirmal (62*). National capped Avishka Fernando (69), Santhush Gunathilaka (60) and left-arm spinner Rohan Sanjaya (3/28) helped Colts Cricket Club, defeating Sri Lanka Ports Authority by 141 runs.  

The all-round efforts of Lakshitha Manasinghe helped SSC to record their second consecutive win of the tournament, while Kamindu Mendis stole the limelight at Katunayake as he helped the Chilaw Marians to register a win, scoring a classy century against Negombo Cricket Club.  

The encounter between Saracens SC and Moors SC was reduced to a 22-over match but turned out to be a one-sided affair, with Moors SC clinching a comfortable win thanks to the disciplined bowling effort led by left-arm spinner Praveen Jayawickrama (3/09) and right-arm seamer Kavishka Anjula (2/09).

Major Club Youth Tournament 2020/21 fixtures announced

In the other encounters, Shehan Fernando (57) of Army CC, Tharusha Fernando (72*) of Sebastinites CC, Pawan Sandesh (57) of Galle CC, Vinura Dulsara (52*) of Galle CC, Asel Sigera (71) of Police SC and Nisal Francisco (64*) of BRC showed their colours with the bat by scoring valuable half centuries for their respective teams. 

Brief Scores

Kandy Customs Sports Club vs Sinhalese Sports Club

  • Toss: SSC
  • Ground: SSC Grounds, Colombo 

Kandy Customs Sports Club 173/8 (45) Madushan Gunasinghe 44, Rashmika Madushanka 32, Ganindu Dewmina 32, Lakshitha Manasinghe 2/19, Kalana Perera 2/.2, Dilum Thilakarathna 2/35

Sinhalese Sports Club 171/5 (31) Lakshitha Manasinghe 36*, Chamindu Wickramasinghe 30*, Sammu Ashan 28, Nipun Dhananjaya 21, Krishan Sanjula 21, Thimira Malshan 4/39

SSC won by 5 wickets (DLS Method) 

Moors Sports Club vs Saracens Sports Club

  • Toss: Saracens SC
  • Ground: Moors Grounds, Colombo

Saracens Sports Club 68/9 (22) Praveen Jayawickrama 3/09, Kavishka Anjula 2/09

Moors Sports Club 69/2 (14.1) Mohomed Shamas 34*, Dinuka Dilshan 20

Moors SC won by 8 wickets 

Nondescripts Cricket Club vs Kalutara Town Club

  • Toss: Kalutara TC
  • Ground: NCC Grounds, Colombo

Nondescripts Cricket Club 225/9 (50) Hasitha Boyagoda 81, Dineth Jayakody 56, Thewin Amarasinghe 25, Lasindu Aroshana 4/32

Kalutara Town Club 138 (40.4) Teron Shenal Baskaran 51, Danal Hemananda 29*, Senash Fernando 27, Venura Jayakody 3/17, Hasitha Boyagoda 3/18, Chamika Gunasekara 2/14, Ashain Daniel 2/34

NCC won by 87 runs 

Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC vs Colombo Colts Cricket Club

  • Toss: SLPA
  • Ground: Colts Grounds, Colombo

Colombo Colts Cricket Club 255/8 (50) Avishka Fernando 69, Santhush Gunathilaka 60, Vishad Randika 38, Rohan Sanjaya 36*, Jehan Daniel 20, Themal Bandara 2/35

Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC 114 (37.4) Dilhara Polgampola 25, Rohan Sanjaya 3/28, Sulekshana Wijewardhana 2/07, Amantha Gunarathna 2/15

Colts CC won by 138 runs (DLS Method)   

Get to know the players of Major Youth League 2020/2021

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club vs Negombo Cricket Club

  • Toss: Negombo CC 
  • Ground: Marians Cricket Grounds, Katunayake 

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club 264/9 (50) Kamindu Mendis 117, Raveen Yasas 36, Sanoj Darshika 27, Lasith Croospulle 26, Risira Weerasuriya 24, Sheshan Fernando 2/45, Chamath Wickramasinghe 2/61

Negombo Cricket Club 155 (40.2) Abhishek Anandakumar 37, Chamath Wickramasinghe 24, Nishan Peiris 20, Shasheen Rashmitha 20, Naveen Gunawardena 2/08, Sanoj Darshika 2/16, Dasun Senevirathne 2/24 

Chilaw Marians won by 109 runs 

Kurunegala Youth Cricket Club vs Tamil Union Cricket & Athletic Club

  • Toss: Tamil Union C & AC 
  • Ground: P. Sara Oval Grounds, Colombo 

Kurunegala Youth Cricket Club 150 (48) Dilshan Kollure 41, Tharinda Wijesinghe 20, Miranga Wickramage 4/25, Sachindu Colombage 2/23, Trishen Wickramasinghe 2/36

Tamil Union Cricket & Athletic Club 153/3 (29.2) Kamesh Nirmal 62*, Supun Kavinda 43, Ashan Fernando 25* 

Tamil Union C & AC won by 7 wickets

Navy Sports Club vs Nugegoda Cricket Academy

  • Toss: Navy SC
  • Ground: Surrey Village Grounds, Maggona 

Navy Sports Club 116 (27.1) Vimud Sapnaka 38, Samitha Ranga 38, Nipun Lakshan 3/19, Kavinda Ishwara 3/25, Muditha Lakshan 2/17, Vimukthi Kulathunga 2/25

Nugegoda Cricket Academy 120/4 (14.4) Muditha Lakshan 30, Sakuna Liyanage 26*, Abishek Liyanarachchi 24, Akindu Karunarathne 2/47 

Nugegoda CA won by 6 wickets 

Bloomfield Cricket & Athletic Club vs Galle Cricket Club

  • Toss: Galle CC
  • Ground: Bloomfield Cricket Grounds, Colombo 

Bloomfield Cricket & Athletic Club 156 (49) Nadun Ahangamage 34, Vinuja Ranpul 20, Thanula Chamod 3/30, Kushan Madusha 2/26

Galle Cricket Club 157/3 (38.3) Pawan Sandesh 57, Vinura Dulsara 52*, Subanu Rajapaksha 20*

Galle CC won by 7 wickets 

Police Sports Club vs Burgher Recreation Club

  • Toss: BRC
  • Ground: Police Grounds, Colombo 

Police Sports Club 150 (44.1) Asel Sigera 71, Nadeera Balasuriya 27*, Kevin Koththigoda 3/29

Burgher Recreation Club 151/4 (32.4) Nisal Francisco 64*, Dishen Weerasinghe 2/16 

BRC won by 6 wickets 

Sebastianites Cricket and Athletic Club vs Army Cricket Club

  • Toss: Sebastianites C & AC
  • Ground: De Soysa Grounds, Moratuwa  

Army Cricket Club 248/9 (50) Shehan Fernando 57, Pathum Kumara 40, Gihan Koralage 39, Samitha Dilshan 28, Sanjeew Coomaraswamy 22*, Tharusha Fernando 2/44, Savindu Peiris 2/45, Kalana Sandeep 2/56

Sebastianites Cricket and Athletic Club 130/6 (29) Tharusha Fernando 72*, Sachin Fernando 30, Heshan Hettiarachchi 2/10

Army CC won by 62 runs (DLS Method)

>>For More Cricket News<<