Trinity, Ananda and Wesley fight to draw

Under 19 ‘Division I’ Cricket Tournament 2018/19


Four matches of the Singer Schools ‘Under 19 Division I’ Cricket Tournament 2018/19 were conducted today around the island.

Read More: Kamil Mishara slams record-breaking 250; Dellon Peiris takes 7-fer

S. Thomas College, Mount Lavinia vs Wesley College, Colombo

The traditional fixture between S. Thomas’ College and Wesley College ended in a draw today at Mount Lavinia with the hosts claiming first innings points. The overnight batsmen Deon Fernando and Sithara Hapuhinna resumed the innings for the hosts at 46 runs for no wicket and they continued to pile runs on the board but the former was dismissed for 26 runs when the score was at 74.

Photos: S.Thomas’ College v Wesley College | Singer U19 Cricket Tournament 2018/19

Then the number three batsman Shalin de Mel built a 100-run partnership with the skipper Hapuhinna before the former was caught of the bowling off Thenuka Perera for 17. All-rounder Kalana Perera then joined Hapuhinna and stroked a quick 23 runs off 13 balls before the declaration comes at 206 runs for 3 wickets.

Read More: Bhagya Dissanayake smashes 88, Shalinda Senevirathne takes 6 fer

Thomian Skipper Sithara Hapuhinna stroked an unbeaten 129 runs off 95 balls including 12 fours and 3 sixes. Chasing 268 runs to win, the visitors got off to a poor start as the opening batsman Thisuraka Akmeemana was dismissed by left arm spinner Dellon Peiris for just 4 runs when the score was at 17. The visitors continued to lose wickets and were 92 for 4 at one stage.

However, skipper Shenal Dangalle and Kavindana Perera showed some resistance with the bat scoring half-tons but after their dismissals, they had to settle to a draw posting 191 runs for 7 wickets at the close of play on day two. Shenal Dangalle scored 51 runs off 68 balls with 6 fours and 2 sixes while Kavindana Perera scored 50 off 85 balls including 5 fours and 2 sixes. Thomian spinner Dellon Peiris picked up a match bag of 10 wickets for 96 runs for the hosts.

Read More: Pasan Pethangoda puts Mahinda College on top

Brief Scores

S. Thomas College – 152/9d (44.4) Umayanga Suwaris 45, Thevin Eriyagama 22, Sithara Hapuwinna 21, Thenuka Perera 5/31 & 206/3d (34) Sithara Hapuhinna 129*, Deon Fernando 26, Kalana Perera 23, Thenuka Perera 2/27

Wesley College – 91 (36.3) Buddima Wijesundara 19, Thisuraka Akmeemana 19, Dellon Peiris 7/26, Kishan Munasinghe 2/2, Tehan Schaffter 1/11 & 191/7 (73) Shenal Dangalle 51, Kavindana Perera 50, Movin Subasinghe 27, Buddima Wijesundara 20, Dellon Peiris 3/70, Tehan Schaffter 2/14

Result – Match Drawn (S. Thomas College won first innings points)

Royal College, Colombo vs Ananda College, Colombo

Royal College managed to claim first innings honors against Ananda College in the drawn traditional fixture which concluded today at Ananda College Grounds in Colombo. After being 48 runs for 5 wickets overnight, the hosts were bundled out for 140 runs with Lahiru Madusanka claiming 5 wickets for 37 runs for the visitors.

Read More: Nuwanindu’s 83 off 55 puts Sebs in commanding position

After being asked to follow on, the Ananda College batsmen showed an improved batting performance in the second innings to avoid an innings defeat against the visitors. Kanishka Ranthilakage top scored with 42 runs for the hosts.  

Brief Scores

Royal College – 373/2d (81) Kamil Mishara 250, Ahan Wikramasinghe 69*, Isiwara Dissanayake 31

Ananda College – 140 (41.2) Sudeepa Agulugaha 32, Chamika Gunasekara 22, Lahiru Madusanka 5/37, Gishan Balasooriya 2/23 & 203/8 (70) Kanishka Ranthilakage 42, Janidu Jayawardane 35, Daminda Reshan 31, Sudeepa Agulugaha 21, Gishan Balasooriya 4/29, Kamil Mishara 2/56

Result – Match Drawn (Royal College won first innings points)

Mahinda College, Galle vs Dharmaraja College, Kandy

The traditional fixture between Mahinda College and Dharmaraja College also ended in a draw today at Dharmaraja College Grounds in Kandy but the visitors managed to take first innings points. After being 70 runs for no wicket overnight, the Mahinda College batsmen batted out the whole day scoring 475 runs for 9 wickets.

Read More: Kaumal Nanayakkara spins the Cambrians to innings victory

Hansika Welihinna stroked a brilliant knock of 155 runs while Vinura Dulsara gave good support to him scoring a century for the visitors. Sri Lanka U19 cap, Navod Paranavithana also contributed with a knock of 77 runs.

Brief Scores

Dharmaraja College – 325 (82) Kasun Gunawardhane 82, Isuru Dayananda 60, Yakitha Samararathne 48, Chethiya Bandara 32, Dhanuka Marasinghe 22, Nipun Malinga 3/54, Nawod Paranawithana 2/50, Vinura Dilsara 2/82

Mahinda College – 475/9 (103) Hansika Walihinna 155, Vinura Dulsara 102, Navod Paranavithana 77, Nipun Malinga 41, Danuj Iduwara 30, Pasan Pethangoda 23, Thushan Bandara 4/119

Result – Match Drawn (Mahinda College won first innings points)

Trinity College, Kandy vs St. Joseph’s College, Colombo

St. Joseph’s College managed to take major honors against Trinity College in their traditional fixture which ended in a draw today at St. Joseph’s College Grounds. After being 115 runs for 1 wicket overnight, the Joes posted 341 runs for 6 wickets before declaring their first innings.

Read More: Shalinda Senevirathne takes 9; Suwath Mendis shines for Cambrians

Johanne de Zilva (79), Shevon Daniel (73) and Sachintha Ravindu (58) stroked half-tons for the hosts. The visitors began their second innings trailing by 109 runs and posted 146 runs for 9 wickets when umpires called stumps on day two. Left arm spinner Shalinda Senevirathne picked up a match bag of 8 wickets for 159 runs for the hosts.  

Brief Scores

Trinity College – 232 (76.2) Pubudu Bandara 78, Ashan Lokuketiya 46, Umail Faizan 26, Ranuda Somaweera 22, Ashen Daniel 4/68, Shalinda Senavirathne 3/81 & 146/9d (54.4) Pubudu Bandara 25, Ashan Lokuketiya 49, Shalinda Senavirathne 5/78, Ashen Daniel 2/41

St. Joseph’s College – 341/6d (79) Joanne de Zilva 79, Shevon Daniel 73, Sachintha Ravindu 58, Dineth Jayakody 45, Dilesh Perera 48, Lakshan Gamage 30*, Kavishka Senadeera 3/126

Result – Match Drawn (St. Joseph’s College won first innings points)