Serendib humiliate Ratnam; Sea Hawks narrowly beat Police

Vantage FFSL President’s Cup 2020

Serendib trounce Ratnam while Sea Hawks narrowly defeats Police

Serendib FC thumped Ratnam with six goals while Sea Hawks registered their first win of the Vantage FFSL President’s Cup 2020.

Serendib FC v Ratnam SC

Serendib trounced Ratnam into a knockout as the game ended 6-2 at the Sugathadasa Stadium.

Serendib opened the scoring when Mohamed Aasir capitalized on a misjudgment by the Ratnam goalkeeper Mohamed Fazreen to score into an open goal. Soon after the restart it was Ranidu Rukshan’s turn to make a mistake as he let in a Rajkumar Shanthan long range effort from an acute angle for the equalizer.

Serendib restored their lead when Asante Evans dispatched a penalty but looked unfortunate to not get another penalty before the break. Minutes into the 2nd half a defensive mistake allowed Serendib to score their third through D.J. Hemantha. Serendib again were given a penalty which Evans slotted in gleefully to make it 4-1.

Ratnam managed to pull one back through P.S. Chithrakumar after some good work down the right wing. Serendib put the game to bed with Evans scoring his hat-trick after some brilliant individual play. Evans nearly had his fourth but his free-kick rattled off the upright but Riyas Ahamed tapped the rebound.

Full Time – Serendib FC 6(2) – 2(1) Ratnam SC

Goal Scorers

Serendib FC – Mohamed Aasir 5’, Evans Asante 10’(P), 67’(P) & 90+1’, Hemantha Jayaweera 48’, Riyas Ahamed 90+6’

Ratnam SC – Rajkumar Shanthan 6’, P.S. Chithrakumar 75’

Police SC v Sea Hawks FC

Sea Hawks edged out Police 1-0 to secure three points at the Racecourse International Stadium.

Asela Madushan had two good chances squandered for Sea Hawks, of which the 2nd one saw him getting injured trying to convert. Sea Hawks were denied a goal for a foul, after Nagoor Meera headed in from close range. Replays showed referee Tharanga Pushpakumara had made an error in judgement.

Read more:

However, Sea Hawks took a deserved lead when Mohamed Asmeer scored from a Avishka Deshan through ball. Deep into injury time Nagoor Meera was taken down inside the penalty area but was not able to convert from the spot as Mahendran Dinesh made a brilliant save.

Full Time – Police SC 0(0) – 1(0) Sea Hawks FC

Goal Scorers

Sea Hawks FC – Mohamed Asmeer 57’

>>For More Football News Click Here<<