Minod Bhanuka’s ton goes in vain as Galle seals a thriller at Pallekele

National Super League 50-Over Tournament 2024

National Super League 50-Over Tournament 2024

The third day of the National Super League 50-Over Tournament 2024 worked off today (29th February), with Team Galle and Team Kandy registering wins at Pallekele and Dambulla.

Team Galle sealed a thrilling win over Team Dambulla in their encounter played today at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.

Dambulla skipper Minod Bhanuka won the toss and had no hesitation to bat first. Bhanuka led the way in their batting essay, scoring a brilliant century and helping his side post 241 runs on the board.

>>Janith Liyanage ton orchestrates Jaffna’s stunning win

Bhanuka hit 102 runs off 116 balls with 14 fours and a six, while the speedster Milan Rathnayake impressed with the ball for Galle, scalping 3 wickets.

Galle had to work hard in the run-chase, but eventually, they managed to cross over the line in the 48th over with only 1 wicket remaining.

Shehan Fernando (67), Lahiru Samarakoon (53*) and Dunith Wellalage (52), who stroked vital knocks, were the chief architects of Galle’s hard-fought run-chase.

The chinaman bowler Lakshan Sandakan was the pick of the bowlers for Dambulla as he bagged 3 wickets for 60 runs.

Team Kandy registered a convincing win over Team Colombo in another encounter played today at Dambulla International Cricket Stadium.

After being put into bat first, Team Colombo were bowled out for 215 as the speedster Lahiru Kumara and left-arm spinner Wanuja Sahan shone with the ball, sharing 5 wickets between them for Team Kandy.

>>Kandy and Colombo register wins in opening day

Vishad Randika (59*), Dushan Vimukthi (48) and Chamindu Wickramasinghe (40) stood out with the bat for Team Colombo with vital knocks.

Team Kandy chased down the target quite convincingly courtesy of excellent half-centuries made by Kamil Mishara (63), Sahan Arachchige (58*) and Niroshan Dickwella (50).

Brief Scores 

Dambulla – 241 (48.3) Minod Bhanuka 102, Lakshan Sandakan 38, Dushan Hemantha 21, Milan Rathnayake 3/36, Nimesh Vimukthi 2/24, Dunith Wellalage 2/49

Galle – 242/9 (47.1) Shehan Fernando 67, Lahiru Samarakoon 53*, Dunith Wellalage 52, Dhananjaya Lakshan 34, Lakshan Sandakan 3/60, Vishwa Fernando 2/40

Result – Galle won by 1 wicket

Colombo – 215 (46.4) Vishad Randika 59*, Dushan Vimukthi 48, Chamindu Wickramasinghe 40, Krishan Sanjula 25, Lahiru Kumara 3/27, Wanuja Sahan 2/39

Kandy – 221/4 (42) Kamil Mishara 63, Sahan Arachchige 58*, Niroshan Dickwella 50, Chamika Karunaratne 20*, Prabath Jayasuriya 2/26

Result – Kandy won by 6 wickets