Kandy and Colombo register wins in opening day

National Super League 50-Over Tournament 2024

Kandy and Colombo register wins in opening day

National Super League 50-Over Tournament 2024 kicked off today (23rd February), with Team Kandy and Team Colombo registering wins on the opening day.

Team Kandy registered a convincing win over Team Galle in their first game of the tournament played today at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.

Galle skipper Dunith Wellalage won the toss and opted to bat first, but things didn’t span out as expected for the visitors as they were shot out for just 146 runs.

Shehan Fernando made a fighting half-century for Galle, while the speedster Lahiru Kumara impressed with the ball for Kandy, scalping 3 wickets for 31 runs.

In reply, Kandy were in a spot of bother, losing their opening pair inside the powerplay, but Kamil Mishara (66*) and Chamod Sandaru (33*) made sure their side crossed over the line without any further hiccups, adding an unbeaten 99-run partnership for the third wicket.

Team Colombo recorded a 3-wicket win over Team Jaffna in their opening game of the tournament played today at Dambulla International Cricket Stadium.

After being put into bat first, Jaffna showcased a brilliant batting display, putting on 310 runs for 6 wickets in the allotted 50 overs.

The middle-order batter Nipun Karunanayake was the star performer with the bat as he made an unbeaten 108 runs off 119 balls with 8 fours. The opening batter, Hasitha Boyagoda, also contributed with a vital half-century.

The target of 313 was a challenging target on paper, but Team Colombo managed the run-chase perfectly as they got over the line in the 48th over with 3 wickets in hand.

Ashen Bandara was the chief architect of Colombo’s successful run-chase as he made an unbeaten 80 runs off 66 balls with 10 fours at a strike rate of 121.21. Nuwanidu Fernando and Vishad Randika also contributed with vital half-centuries.

Brief Scores  

Galle – 146 (44.4) Shehan Fernando 66*, Lahiru Kumara 3/31, Chamika Gunasekara 2/17

Kandy – 147/2 (23.2) Kamil Mishara 66*, Chamod Sandaru 33*, Niroshan Dickwella 30, 

Result – Kandy won by 8 wickets

Jaffna – 310/6 (50) Nipun Karunanayake 108*, Hasitha Boyagoda 86, Ravindu Fernando 26, Kasun Rajitha 2/62

Colombo – 312/7 (47.3) Ashen Bandara 80*, Nuwanidu Fernando 61, Vishad Randika 54, Krishan Sanjula 47, Tharindu Rathnayake 37*, Shiran Fernando 2/47, Pramod Madushan 2/57 

Result – Colombo won by 3 wickets