Janith Liyanage ton orchestrates Jaffna’s stunning win

National Super League 50 Over Tournament 2024

National Super League 50 Over Tournament 2024

The second day of the National Super League 50-Over Tournament 2024 was worked off today (26th February), with Team Dambulla and Team Jaffna registering wins at Pallekele and Dambulla.

Team Dambulla registered a 3-wicket win over Team Colombo in their encounter played today at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.

Dambulla Skipper Dhananjaya de Silva won the toss and invited Colombo to take the first lease of the wicket. Tharindu Rathnayake (55), Avishka Fernando (53) and Vishad Randika (45) excelled with the bat as Colombo posted a decent score – 261/9 on the board.

>>Kandy and Colombo register wins in opening day<<

The speedster Chamindu Wijesinghe picked up 3 wickets, while Sonal Dinusha claimed 2 wickets for Team Dambulla.

Pavan Rathnayake led Dambulla’s successful run-chase with a match-winning knock of 90 runs, while Ranesh Silva contributed with vital half-century.

Team Jaffna scripted a stunning run-chase over Team Kandy to record an impressive win at Dambulla International Cricket Stadium.

After been put into bat first, Kandy posted a massive total – 359/7 on the board thanks to the half-centuries made by Lahiru Udara (93), Kamil Mishara (76), Sahan Arachchige (73) and Niroshan Dickwella (53).

>>Squads & Fixtures announced for NSL 50 Overs Tournament 2024<<

Through the target of 360 looked beyond the reach of Jaffna, Skipper Janith Liyanage had other ideas as he produced a magnificent knock to put his side over the line in a tough run-chase.

Liyanage hit 130 runs off 106 balls with 14 fours and a six at a strike rate of 122.64, while Lahiru Madushanka also played a crucial hand with 87 runs. The due stitched together a massive 210-run stand for the fifth wicket to set the tone for Jaffna’s win.

Brief Scores

Colombo – 261/9 (50) Tharindu Rathnayake 55, Avishka Fernando 53, Vishad Randika 45, Krishan Sanjula 35, Shevon Daniel 28, Chamindu Wijesinghe 3/63, Sonal Dinusha 2/35

Dambulla – 263/7 (48.4) Pavan Rathnayaka 90, Ranesh Silva 50, Minod Bhanuka 35, Lasith Croospulle 23, Dushan Hemantha 21*, Tharindu Rathnayake 3/39, Dinura Kalupahana 2/23

Result – Dambulla won by 3 wickets

Kandy – 359/7 (50) Lahiru Udara 93, Kamil Mishara 76, Sahan Arachchige 73, Niroshan Dickwella 53, Ahan Wickramasinghe 23*, Jeffrey Vandersay 2/48, Chamath Gomez 2/54

Jaffna – 360/9 (48.5) Janith Liyanage 130, Lahiru Madushanka 87, Hasitha Boyagoda 47, Ron Chandraguptha 25, Chamika Gunasekara 3/75, Ashian Daniel 2/43, Lahiru Kumara 2/73

Result – Jaffna won by 1 wicket