Avishka Fernando and Lasith Croospulle stroke tons

SLC Major Emerging Tournament 2019/20


The quarter finals of Sri Lanka’s premier U23 Club Cricket tournament commenced today in Colombo and Katunayake. Lasith Croospulle (134) and Avishka Fernando (120) starred with the bat scoring centuries while Praveen Jayawickrama excelled with the ball taking a 5-wicket haul on the opening day. 

Read : Taneesha Weerakoon pilots SSC to an innings victory

Tamil Union Cricket & Athletic Club vs Sinhalese Sports Club

In the first quarter final, the Tamil Union skipper won the toss and opted to field first at Marians Cricket Grounds in Katunayake. The strong SSC batting lineup could not impress with the bat as they were crumbled to just 121 runs in 36.1 overs. Sohan de Livera (28) and Krishan Sanjula (22) were the chief contributors with the bat for SSC.

Supun Kavinda and Damitha Silva starred with the ball picking up 4 wickets each. In reply, the Tamil Union batsmen posted 152 runs in 45.5 overs with Yohan Mendis scored 63 runs to his name. Akash Senarathne (4/42) and Taneesha Weerakoon (3/32) starred with the ball sharing 7 scalps among them. SSC began their second innings 31 runs behind and finished day one on 19 runs for the loss of 1 wicket. 

Brief scores

Sinhalese Sports Club – 121 (36.1) Sohan de Livera 28, Krishan Sanjula 22, Pasindu Sooriyabandara 21, Sasith Manuranga 18*, Supun Kavinda 4/22, Damitha Silva 4/31, Supun Waragoda 2/29 & 19/1 (7)

Tamil Union C & AC – 152 (45.5) Yohan Mendis 63, Damitha Silva 24, Akash Senarathne 4/42, Taneesha Weerakoon 3/32, Sandaruwan Chinthaka 2/44

Stumps – Day 1

Read Also: Duvindu Thilakaratne’s 5-fer earns BRC 1st innings win

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club vs Nondescripts Cricket Club

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club took on Nondescripts Cricket Club (NCC) in the second quarter final which commenced today at the Colts Cricket Ground in Colombo. After winning the toss, the NCC skipper invited the opposition to bat first; The Chilaw batsmen led by Lasith Croospulle batted well to post 323 runs on the board. The right-handed stroke maker Croospulle scored a valiant century while Risith Upamal (56) and Dilshan Sanjeewa (55) chipped in with half-tons.

Sri Lanka national cap Lasith Embuldeniya was the pick of the bowlers for NCC as he grabbed 4 wickets for 86 runs with his left arm spin. Off spinner Ravindu Fernando gave him a good support at the other end taking 3 scalps for 88 runs. The NCC batsmen began their reply with the bat but were stuttering at 41 for 3 at stumps on day one. 

Brief scores

Chilaw Marians CC – 323 (67.1) Lasith Croospulle 134, Risith Upamal 56, Dilshan Sanjeewa 55, Lasith Embuldeniya 4/86, Ravindu Fernando 3/88

Nondescripts Cricket Club – 41/3 (23) 

Stumps – Day 1

Colombo Colts Cricket Club vs Air Force Sports Club 

The third quarter final was played between Colts Cricket Club and Air Force Sports Club at BRC Grounds in Colombo. After winning the toss, the Air Force skipper chose to bat first but the decision backfired as they collapsed for 104 runs in 44.1 overs. Shabiq Ifthary was the only standout batsman for Colombo Colts with a knock of 47 runs. 

Former Sebastianite cricketer Praveen Jayawickrama took 5 scalps for 30 runs with his left arm leg spin. In addition, the mystery spinner Mahesh Theekshana and right arm speedster Nipun Malinga picked up 2 wickets each for Air Force. Colts batsmen replied strongly with the bat scoring 259 runs for 4 wickets at the close of play on day one. 

Young batting sensation Avishka Fernando showed his class with the bat once again scoring a blistering century. Heshan Danushka remained unbeaten on 47 runs at the crease. Suminda Lakshan was the pick of the bowlers for Air Force with figures of 3 for 105 runs. 

Brief scores

Air Force Sports Club – 104 (44.1) Shabiq Ifthary 47, Praveen Jayawickrama 5/30, Mahesh Theekshana 2/07, Nipun Malinga 2/16 

Colombo Colts CC – 259/4 (48) Avishka Fernando 120, Heshan Danushka 47*, Santhush Gunathilaka 39, Vishad Randika 35*, Suminda Lakshan 3/105

Stumps – Day 1

Read : Kavika, Savindu and Sathik earn win for Navy

Navy Sports Club vs Army Cricket Club  

The fourth quarter final between Navy Sports Club and Army Cricket Club commenced today at NCC Grounds in Colombo. Due to the wet outfield, the match could not be started on time but after about two hours of delay, the game commenced. After being put into bat first, the soldiers were shot out for just 139 runs in 66 overs.

Savindu Peiris was the star with the ball as he took 3 scalps for 41 runs. In addition, Hashin Dilman and Sathik Nimalsha chipped in with 2 wickets each. The sailors began their reply with the bat and finished day one on 2 for 1. 

Brief scores

Army Cricket Club 139 (66) Gihan Koralage 31, Himasha Liyanage 27, Savindu Peiris 3/41, Hashin Dilman 2/19, Sathik Nimalsha 2/27

Navy Sports Club – 2/1 (4) 

Stumps – Day 1