Madurusinghe to head Junior Cricket Selection Committee


Former Sri Lanka Cricketer Ranjith Madurusinghe has been given the reins as the Chairman of the Junior Selection Committee of Sri Lanka Cricket.

Schools Cricket | Live Cricket Scores, News, Photos, Videos, stats

Live scores, updates, photos & videos of Sri Lanka U19 Schools Cricket…

Madurusinghe will lead a nine-member selection panel to unearth young talent from all over the island. The appointment will be effective from 29th January for a period of one year. He was also the Chairman of the previous Junior Selection Committee which functioned in between 2015-2017.

During his recent tenure, players like Lahiru Kumara, Charith Asalanka, Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Sammu Ashan and Wanindu Hasaranga came into the limelight.

Last year, the national selectors were given an uphill task of looking after the junior cricket as well since there were no selectors in age-group cricket for more than 12 months.

“Our goal is to implement the Junior National Selection policy to the district and provinces in age-group cricket from U15 to U23 levels. With that, they will have a clear pathway and equal opportunity to make it to the national level. “ Madurusinghe told exclusively.

Imminent changes to national cricket selection committee?

The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) national selection committee is expected…

Almost all the members have been in various selection committees of SLC in the past, except, former first-class cricketer and match-referee K.H Nandasena and former Sri Lanka all-rounder Farveez Maharoof.

The main task for Madurusinghe and his committee will be to finalize a strong squad for the upcoming U19 Cricket World Cup 2020 in South Africa.

The Junior Selection Committee – Ranjith Madurusinghe (Chairman), Gajaba Pitigala, Gamini Wickramasinghe, Ranjan Paranavithana, Dilshan De Silva, Farveez Maharoof, Nilantha Ratnayake, K.H Nandasena, A. S Nishanthan.

>>Visit the HUB<<