National Trials for Asian Games and Asian Athletics Championship to kick off this weekend

National Athletics Trials 2022


The last trial held in order to select athletes for the Asian Games and Asian Athletics Championship, will commence this weekend 16th – 17th September at Diyagama Mahinda Rajapakse Stadium.

The Athletic Association of Sri Lanka [AASL] has extended the invitation to all the athletes who are willing to participate in the above-mentioned championships, to take part in this final trial to include their name into the shortlist.

Read : Rumesh Tharanga storms into the final with new Junior National Record

The 1st day of the trial will feature the 2 most anticipated events, the men’s and women’s 100m and 400m finals. Unfortunately, current national champion Amasha De Silva will not participate in the trials as she’s under an international training session and due to her absence the Women’s 100m is expected to be a nail-biter. Chamod Yodhasinghe and Kavindu Nimesh are most likely to dominate the Men’s 100m.

This year the Women’s 400m will hold a special place at the trials as the current national champion Tharushi Karunarathne, former national champion Nadisha Ramanayake and Dilshi Kumarasinghe who’s back on the track after a long period of recovery from her injury will be competing to book their slot. In the Men’s 400m will see a showdown between Kalinga Kumarage and Aruna Dharashana.

The second half of the trials will feature the Men’s and Women’s 800m finals. If the participation of the current national record holder Gayanthika Abeyrathne is confirmed it is most likely to be another interesting event as she will be competing alongside Dilshi Kumarasinghe and Tharushi Karunarathne.

Read More : Yupun Abeykoon placed 5th in Diamond League Final

Day 2 will bring the rest of the running events. The 1st half of the 2nd day will commence with the long-distance events and the Men’s and Women’s 200m finals. All the relays will be featured in the second half of the trials.

The Women’s 200m final is also expected to be thriller with current national champion Medhani Jayamanna and former national champion Nadisha Ramanayake dominating the tracks.

Keep it logged onto for further details.