Chinthaka Edirimanne stars as Royal Masters clinch 4th Royal-Thomian Masters Encounter

4th Annual Royal-Thomian Masters Cricket Encounter


Royal Masters beat S. Thomas Masters by 8 wickets to win the 4th Annual Royal-Thomian Masters Cricket Encounter played for Sasi Ganeshan Trophy worked off yesterday (27th November) at Colts Cricket Grounds, Colombo.

S. Thomas’ College Masters were led by Johann Peiris while renowned match referee Nalliah Devarajan led Royal College Masters.

Read : Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan 2nd ODI called off due to rain

Having won the toss, S. Thomas’ College Masters opted to bat first and posted 208 runs in 29.4 overs. NIC Silva top scored for the Thomians with a brisk 79 runs while Vajira Wijegoonawardena chipped in with useful 48 runs.

Royal College Masters chased down the target quite comprehensively in the 22nd over with 8 wickets in hand. Chinthaka Edirimanne was the chief architect of Royals’ victory as he stroked an unbeaten 88 runs.

With this win, Royal College Masters lead the match tally with 3 wins while S. Thomas’ College Masters have registered only 1 win in the four concluded encounters so far.

Read More : Finalized squads announced for LPL 2022

Brief Scores

S. Thomas’ College Masters 208 (29.4) NIC Silva 79, Vajira Wijegoonawardena 48, Nalliah Devarajan 2/15, Shezard Nizar 2/22, Sajith Liyanage 2/32, Chinthaka Edirimanne 2/32

Royal College Masters 214/2 (21) Chinthaka Edirimanne 88*, Naveen Samarakoon 58*, Shezard Nizar 32

Result – Royal College Masters won by 8 wickets