Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) have named a 16-member squad for the upcoming two-match Youth Test series against Bangladesh U19s, which commences on Tuesday in Colombo.

The selectors have decided to name players who are eligible for the next 2020 ICC Youth World Cup in South Africa, from this series onwards.

Sri Lanka U19s succumb to India in final leap to Asian Glory

India U19 today beat Sri Lanka comprehensively by 144 runs to clinch the 2018 U19 Asia Cup. The final which was…

Sri Lanka U19s will play two four-day Youth Test matches and five Youth ODI games against the visiting Bangladesh U19 side, which will be led by right-handed top order batsman Tawhid Hridoy.

Left-handed batsman Nipun Dananjaya from St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa, who led Sri Lanka in the recently-concluded Youth Asia Cup, which the young Lions ended-up as runners-up will continue to lead the side.

He is the most senior player from this age category as he played under Kamindu Mendis during the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup, earlier this year held in New Zealand. Afterwards, he was also named skipper for the home series against India U19s in July/August.  

Read More: Bangladesh U19s to tour Sri Lanka – Fixtures released

Players such as Navod Paranavitana, Kamil Mishara, Sandun Mendis, Dunith Wellalage and Navin Fernando, the only members who toured Bangladesh for the Youth Asia Cup, were named in the Test squad to take on Bangladesh.

Hashan Tillakaratne, former Sri Lanka Test captain will serve once again as the Head Coach of the team. Chaminda Vaas will function as the Fast Bowling/Assistant Coach while Upul Chandana takes care of the Fielding aspect of the squad.

Sri Lanka U19 Test squad – Nipun Dananjaya (Captain – St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa), Navod Paranavithana (Mahinda College, Galle), Kamil Mishara (Royal College, Colombo), Sandun Mendis (Richmond College, Galle), Sonal Dinusha (Mahanama College, Colombo), Dunith Wellalage (St. Joseph’s College, Colombo), Navin Fernando (Maris Stella College, Negombo), Mohommad Shamaz (Zahira College, Colombo), Janishka Perera (St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa), Dineth Jayakody (St. Joseph’s College, Colombo), Chamindu Wijesinghe (Nalanda College, Colombo), Chihan Kalindu (St. Servatius’ College, Matara), Ashain Daniel (St. Joseph’s College, Colombo),  Vijayakanth Viyaskanthan (Jaffna Central College), Rohan Sanjaya (Tissa Central College, Kalutara) Ashan Dilhara (St. John’s College, Panadura).

Standby: Praveen De Silva (Gurukula College, Kelaniya), Muditha Premadasa (Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala), Avishka Tharindu (St. Anthony’s College, Wattala), Raveen De Silva (Nalanda College, Colombo)

Bangladesh U19 squad – Tawhid Hridoy (Captain), Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Sajid Hossan Seam, Mohammad Prantik Nawrose Nabil, Amite Hasan, Shamim Hossain, Akbar Ali, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Rakibul Hasan, Minhazur Rahman Mohanna, Mohammad Rishad Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Mohammad Mrittunjoy Chowdhury Nipun, Asadullah Hill Galib, Shahin Alam.

Standby: Pritom Kumar, Shahadat Hossain, Avishek Das, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Mehedi Hasan

පර්ත් නුවර ශතකයක් වාර්තා කරගත් එකම ශ්‍රී ලාංකිකයා – හෂාන් තිලකරත්න

වර්ෂ 1986 දී පළමු වතාවට ශ්‍රී ලංකා ජාතික ක්‍රිකට් කණ්ඩායම නියෝජනය කිරීමට වරම් දිනාගත් හෂාන් තිලකරත්න දක්ෂ, මැදපෙළ වමත් පිතිකරුවෙක්.

Sri Lanka U19 vs Bangladesh U19 – Fixtures

First Youth Test – 16th to 19th October – NCC Grounds, Colombo
Second Youth Test – 23rd to 26th October – Marians Cricket Grounds, Katunayake

First Youth ODI – 30th October – Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium
Second Youth ODI – 1st November – Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium
Third Youth ODI – 3rd November – Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium
Fourth Youth ODI – 6th November – Marians Cricket Grounds, Katunayake
Fifth Youth ODI – 9th November – Marians Cricket Grounds, Katunayake

Stay logged on to as we bring you exclusive previews, photos, videos, reports and reviews of this exciting tour.