Zahira demolish archrivals Hameed Al Husseinie to become champions

U18 Division I Championship 2022

Zahira demolish archrivals Hameed Al Husseinie to become U18 Division I Champions

Zahira College hammered six goals past Hameed Al Husseinie College in the final to become champions of the Renown President’s Cup U18 Division I Championship 2022 played at the Sugathadasa Stadium.

Zahira entered the final with an 8-2 thrashing of Jaffna Central College while Hameed Al Husseinie booked a finals place with a tense 1-0 win over St. Joseph’s College.

Amidst a vociferous partisan crowd, the two teams kicked off and straight away it was Zahira who took control of the game. They took the lead in the 7th minute when A. Aaqil flicked a header, from a free kick, and crept in at the far post

Hameedians did get a penalty but captain Mohamed Hathif’s effort was excellently saved by Mohamed Musthaq. Just a minute later Zahira was awarded a penalty on the other end which was converted by Mohamed Shahil.

Shahil went on to add another in the 41st minute and Aaqil too scored his second in added time to end the first half 4-0.


Hameedians made a couple of substitutions at half time hoping for a change in fortunes, but Shahil destroyed those hopes completing his hat trick in the 49th minute. Hameed Al Husseinie did create a couple of chances, but Musthaq did well to save those.

Sri Lanka U17 cap Fareeq Ahamed scored the 6th in the 67th minute. With the win secured Zahira took the foot off the pedal and played out the rest of the minutes with ease.

3rd Place – St. Joseph’s v Jaffna Central

In the 3rd Place encounter Jaffna Central College defeated St. Joseph’s College 2-0 at the Beddegana Football Complex.

J. Harish scored the 1st in the 15th minute and added the 2nd in the 73rd minute. Josephians’ R.A.L. Fernando was sent off in the 86th minute for violent conduct.

Individual Awards

  • Player of the Final – Mohamed Shahil (Zahira College)
  • Golden Glove – Mohamed Musthaq (Zahira College)
  • Golden Boot – J. Harish (Jaffna Central College)
  • Golden Ball – J. Harish (Jaffna Central College)

>>Click Here For more Football News <<