Bhanuka, Oshada dropped | Sri Lanka T20 squad announced

West Indies tour of Sri Lanka – 2020


The Sri Lanka squad for the upcoming T20I series against West Indies which will commence on 4th March has been released, the only change to the ODI squad is replacing ODI skipper Dimuth Karunaratne with T20I skipper Lasith Malinga.

Vintage Angelo Mathews…. Welcome back!

All-rounder Thisara Perera who last played a T20I in March 2019, has been recalled after his successful outing in the ODIs and all-rounder Shehan Jayasuriya and seamer Nuwan Pradeep will also make a comeback to the T20I squad.

There are four players who have been dropped from the squad which toured India in January. Unfortunately, Oshada Fernando and Bhanuka Rajapaksa are in the list of the players to miss out while seamer Kasun Rajitha who was benched throughout the India tour will also not feature in the upcoming T20I series. Dhanushka Gunathilaka who was axed from the ODI squad due to a back injury hasn’t recovered yet.

Mendis, Fernando and bowlers give Sri Lanka series win

IN – Nuwan Pradeep, Shehan Jayasuriya, Thisara Perera
OUT – Dhanushka Gunathilaka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Oshada Fernando, Kasun Rajitha

After the horrendous tour to India, the Lasith Malinga led bunch will look to bounce back in the West Indies series in the shortest format of the game and the series will be a great test of Lankan strength in the T20Is against defending World Champions.

>>Photos : Sri Lanka vs West Indies | 2nd ODI<<

14 out of the 15 members in the series winnings ODI squad will be raring to go against West Indies and the addition of the star player Lasith Malinga will only bolster Sri Lanka’s chances in the series. 

Sri Lanka squad

Lasith Malinga (C), Kusal Perera, Avishka Fernando, Dasun Shanaka, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis, Thisara Perera, Shehan Jayasuriya, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Dhananjaya de Silva, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana, Nuwan Pradeep

T20I series – Schedule

  • 4th Mar – 1st T20I – Pallekele
  • 6th Mar – 2nd T20I – Pallekele

>>Sri Lanka v West Indies 2020<<