Dinusha Peiris shines with a hundred

U19 Schools Cricket Tournament 2022/23


A couple of the traditional encounters of the ongoing U19 Schools Cricket Tournament were held today (20th March), at Hambantota and Kandy.

The St. Aloysius’ – D.S. Senanayake traditional game ended today in a draw at Sooriyawewa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota.

After asking to bat first, St. Aloysius’ were on 264/9 before calling for early stumps on Day 1 due to bad light. On this morning, the St. Aloysius’ overnight batting pair added another 34 runs as they fell 2 runs short of the 300 run-mark in the 1st innings.

No.7 batter Hasitha Suranga played a brilliant counterattacking knock of a 52-ball 77 including 6 sixes and a four, after 5 were down for 192. Keeper-batter Charya Paranawithana, who open the innings, also made a valuable 70 runs. On the other hand, Poorna Sulakshana picked 3/73, while Deshan Hettige and Senura Silva took couple of wickets each.

In reply, D.S. Senanayake College found themselves in a terrible position with half of the side back in the hunt for only 17 runs, due to some superb opening spells from St. Aloysius’ right arm-left arm fast bowling duo – Dumindu Naveen and Kalana Pathum.

Akidha Weerasuriya was the top scorer with 31 as they were bowled out for 111 runs on another rain-affected day. On the other hand, Dumindu Naveen bagged 4 wickets, while Vidura Lakshan took 3 as well. In the meantime, the match ended in a draw.

Another traditional match commenced today at Asgiriya Grounds in Kandy, between Trinity College and Devapathiraja College of Rathgama.

After having won the toss, Devapathiraja’s Skipper Shasheen Rashmitha put Trinity into bat first. The Trinitian openers started off well with a positive approach as they went after the bowlers with a 68-run opening stand in just 7.2 overs. Skipper Rahal Amarasinghe was the first to dismiss as he scored a 26-ball 47.

Thereafter, keeper-batter Dinusha Peiris set the platform for the Trinitians with a brilliant ton as they managed to post 297 for their 1st innings. On the other hand, Irushka Thimira was able to take 4/68 for Devapathiraja College.

When the stumps been called on Day 1, Devapathiraja had been able to get a solid start as they were on 52/1 in 24 overs.

Brief Scores:

St. Aloysius’ College, Galle 298 (77) Hasitha Suranga 77, Charya Paranawithana 70, Dineth Nimsara 41, Kalana Pathum 37, Poorna Sulakshana 3/73, Deshan Hettige 2/39, Senura Silva 2/50

D.S. Senanayake College, Colombo 111 (40.2) Akidha Weerasuriya 31, Chenul Pinsara 26, Dumindu Naveen 4/21, Vidura Lakshan 3/21, Kalana Pathum 2/19

Result: Match Drawn (St. Aloysius’ College won on 1st innings lead)

Trinity College, Kandy 297 (74) Dinusha Peiris 102, Janith Ravishka 47*, Rahal Amarasinghe 47, Kusal Wijethunga 38, Irushka Thimira 4/68, Puljith Wathsuka 2/44, Dasun Dilshan 2/54

Devapathiraja College, Rathgama 52/1 (24) Darshaka Sandeep 28*, Jayavi Liyanagama 1/6

Day 1 Stumps.

<<< Visit For More Cricket News >>>