Tharindu Amarasinghe, Uneth Peiris star as Cambrians beat Trinity

U19 Division 1 School Cricket Tournament 2022 (Limited-Overs


Three games of the ongoing Schools first-XI Cricket tournament were worked off today (15th September) at Kandy and Wattala.

Tier B encounter between St. Peter’s College and St. Sylvester’s College ended in a thrilling finish at St. Anthony’s College Grounds in Kandy. After being put into bat first, the home side posted only 134 runs with their number 9 batter top scoring with an unbeaten 43 runs off 66 balls with 3 fours and 2 sixes.

SMS NOW – ThePapare Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer 2022 – Phase 2

Lashmika Perera was the star with the ball for the visitors as he managed to pick up 4 wickets for 28 runs. In reply, St. Peter’s College also struggled to put runs on the board as they continued to lose wickets at regular intervals. However, Perera who starred with the ball earlier in the day held his nerves to put his side over the line at the end.

Prince of Wales College registered a 4-wicket win over Trinity College in another low-scoring encounter worked off today at Asgiriya International Cricket Stadium in Kandy. Uneth Peiris who picked up 4 wickets for 26 runs and Tharindu Amarasinghe who stroked 82 runs were the chief architects of the Cambrians’ victory.

Shane Adithya’s all-round brilliance helped Maris Stella College record a 51-run win over St. Anthony’s College in their Tier B encounter worked off today at Wattala. Maris Stella’s number 4 batter Adithya stroked 66 runs off 82 balls with 6 fours and a six while snaring 6 wickets for 30 runs with the ball.

Read : Shane Adithya’s century powers Maris Stella to win

Brief Scores

St. Sylvester’s College, Kandy 134 (42) Sahan Dissanayake 43*, Lashmika Perera 4/28, Nimuthu Gunawardana 2/17, Shenon Rodrigo 2/19

St. Peter’s College, Colombo 139/9 (41.3) Sanshay Gunathilake 26, Shenon Rodrigo 26, Lashmika Perera 26*, Khanka Wickramasinghe 3/29, Malith Lakshan 2/10

Result – St. Peter’s College won by 1 wicket

Trinity College, Kandy 150 (41.3) Manula Kularathne 51, Theeraka Ranathunga 25, Uneth Peiris 4/26, Suwas Fernando 2/28

Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa 153/6 (29.3) Tharindu Amarasingha 82, Suwas Fernando 22, Manula Kularathne 3/40

Result – Prince of Wales College won by 4 wickets

Maris Stella College, Negombo 232/9 (50) Shane Adithya 66, Mineth Fernando 35*, Levin Fernando 34, Prasad Maduranga 3/38, Pathum Vihaga 2/33

St. Anthony’s College, Wattala 181 (43.4) Vihanga Rashmitha 51, Shan Aniketh 47, Harsha Weerasooriya 24, Therika Akash 20, Shane Adithya 6/30

Result – Maris Stella College won by 51 run