Pasindu Sooriyabandra shines despite Cambrians taking honours

Under 19 ‘Division 1’ Cricket Tournament 2018/19


Four matches of the Singer Schools ‘Under 19 Division 1’ Cricket Tournament 2018/19 were conducted today around the island. D.S. Senanayake College registered an innings victory over St. Aloysius’ College while Prince of Wales College took major honours against Royal College in their traditional fixture.

Dharmaraja shocks Ananda with first innings victory

Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa vs Royal College, Colombo

The traditional fixture between Royal College and Prince of Wales College ended in a draw today at Royal College grounds in Colombo with Prince of Wales College taking major honours. After being 35 runs for 1 wicket overnight, the hosts posted 229 runs on the board in reply to the visitors’ 237.

Photos: Royal College vs Prince of Wales College | Singer U19 Cricket Tournament 2018/19

Sri Lanka U19 cap Pasindu Sooriyabandara stroked a magnificent knock of 98 runs for Royal. Cambrian spinner Kaumal Nanayakkara picked up 5 wickets for 70 runs. Cambrians batted for the second time in the match with an 8-run lead and posted 122 for 3 at the close of play on day two. Cambrian skipper Suwath Mendis made a classy 85 runs with the bat.

Brief scores

Prince of Wales College – 237 (84.4) Devaka Peiris 55, Pasindu Pathum 45, Vinuja Rapul 38, Tharindu Gimantha 33, Dinura Hansaja 32, Gishan Balasooriya 5/80, Kamil Mishara 3/16 & 122/3d (31.3) Suwath Mendis 85, Prince Fernando 23*, Gishan Balasooriya 2/56

Royal College – 229 (82.1) Pasindu Sooriyabandara 98, Kamil Mishara 47, Ahan Sanchitha 24, Bhagya Dissanayake 20, Kaumal Nanayakkara 5/70, Kavindu Dilshan 2/27, Suwath Mendis 2/63 

Result – Match Drawn (Prince of Wales College won first innings points)

D.S. Senanayake College, Colombo vs St. Aloysius College, Galle

D.S. Senanayake College recorded a comprehensive innings victory over St. Aloysius College in their traditional fixture which concluded today at Mattegoda. Muditha Lakshan was the star performer of the day as he picked up 6 wickets for 16 runs for D.S. Senanayake College.

Photos: St.Peter’s College v Royal College | Singer U19 Cricket Tournament 2018/19

Brief scores

D.S. Senanayake College – 208 (57.5) Chamath Yatawara 45*, Sonal Jayasena 42, Muditha Lakshan 40, Amitha Dabare 25, Manushka Shamith 7/50, Kavindu Dilhara 2/38 

St. Aloysius College – 97 (33.1) Gimhana Ashirwada 20, Chamath Yatawara 4/21, Methushan Kumara 3/15 & 74 (40.5) Umal Sachintha 23, Muditha Lakshan 6/16, Methushan Kumara 3/33

Result – D.S. Senanayake College won by an innings & 37 runs

Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala vs Thurstan College, Colombo

The traditional fixture between Maliyadeva College and Thurstan College commenced today at Thurstan College grounds. After winning the toss, the Maliyadeva skipper opted to bat first and posted 175 runs all-out with Muditha Premadasa top scoring with 75 runs. Avishka Kaushalya was the pick of the bowlers for Thurstan College as he picked up 4 wickets for 23 runs.

Avishka Perera strokes blazing century as Nalanda takes honors

In reply, Thurstan College batsmen were in a spot of bother as they lost 7 wickets for 123 runs when umpires called stumps on day one.

Brief scores

Maliyadeva College – 175 (50.4) Muditha Premadasa 75, Nisanjaya Hettiaracchchi 52, Vidath Batepola 29, Avishka Kaushalya 4/23, Bimara Ranathunga 2/21, Sandaru Dias 2/24

Thurstan College – 123/7 (31) Yohan Liyanage 68, Chaluka Athapaththu 2/12, Maduranga Naveen 2/39

Photos: Thurstan College vs Maliyadewa College | Singer U19 Division 1 Cricket Tournament 2018/19

St. Sylvester’s College, Kandy vs Devapathiraja College, Rathgama

The Group ‘A’ fixture between St. Sylvester’s College and Devapathiraja College commenced today at Pallekelle. After being put into bat first, St. Sylvester’s posted 323 runs for 9 wickets before declaring the innings. Chandula Rajaguru was the chief contributor with the bat as he scored a magnificent century for the lads from Kandy. In reply, Devapathiraja College was 12 for no wicket at stumps on day one.

Lakshitha, Chamindu & Mahima outbat Mahinda

Brief scores

St. Sylvester’s College – 323/9d (91.1) Chandula Jayakodi 131, Kevin Nimshan 58, Manoharan Pavitran 53*, Charith Rajaguru 21, Pasan Hettiarachchi 20, Sudeera Weerarathne 3/23, Pathum Madusanka 3/70

Devapathiraja College – 12/0 (6)