St. Peter’s emerges as the champions in the Tier ‘B

U19 Inter-Schools Division 1 Two Day Tournament 2023/24

U19 Inter-Schools Division 1 Two Day Tournament 2023/24

St. Peter’s College, Colombo was crowned as champions of the U19 Division I Tier ‘B’ schools cricket tournament today (4th April) at the MCA grounds against Lumbini College, Colombo.

St. Peter’s College secured the first-innings points in the final against Lumbini College which was enough to be crowned champions in Tier ‘B’ as per the tournament rules. Batting first, St. Peter’s posted a formidable score of 294 runs. In reply Lumbini College was restricted to 169 due to some high-class spin bowling by St. Peter’s vice-captain, Shennon Rodrigo, who ended up with figures of 6 for 55

>>Richmond College clinched the Tier A title<<

St. Peter’s enforced the follow-on and once again dismissed Lumbini for 220 runs in their second innings. Nabeel Rajudeen and Dinitha De Silva both scored half-centuries for Lumbini College and Janith Kaushan picked up 3 wickets for St. Peter’s.

With a target of 98 runs in sight for St. Peter’s, the day ended with the Peterites at 59 runs for the loss of 3 wickets. Time prevented them from achieving an outright win in the finals.

St. Peter’s College, Colombo 291 (87.5) Asadisa Thejana 46, Chamindu Perera 35, Lashmika Perera 34, Sahan Kaushalya 3/60, Praveen Maneesha 3/72 & 59/3 (16) Dilana Damsara 20*


Lumbini College, Colombo 169 (41.4) Nabeel Rajudeen 44, Ashan Shanilka 36, Shennon Rodrigo 6/55, Vishen Halambage 2/38 & 220/9d f/o (43) Dinitha De Silva 63, Nabeel Rajudeen 53, Janith Kaushan 3/47, Chamindu Perera 2/39


Result – Match Drawn (St. Peter’s College, Colombo won on 1st innings lead)  

Two relegation battles took place in the U19 Division I tier ‘B’ schools’ cricket tournament resulting in Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya and Dharmashoka College, Ambalangoda being demoted to Division II.

At St. Sebastian’s College grounds in Moratuwa, Ananda College thrashed  Dharmapala College easily to play in the top division next year as well. Batting first Dharmapala College were bundled out for 114 runs by the Ananda bowlers.

In reply, Ananda went on to score a mammoth 442 runs with Kenul De Silva scoring a magnificent 122 and Ayesh Shashimal scoring 97. First innings points were enough for Ananda College to get the honors in the match

>>Nikil Jayaweera puts Richmond in a commanding position at the end of Day 2<<

St. Sylvester’s College, Kandy beat Dharmashoka College, Ambalangoda by 3 wickets in a hard-fought game at Wesley College grounds at Campbell Park. Dharmashoka College got bowled out for 189 runs in their first innings and in reply, St. Sylvester’s also managed only to have a slender lead of 3 runs at the end of their 1st innings.

The boys from the south were treated to a bowling masterclass by their counterparts from the hill country, as the Dharmashoka batters were dismissed for 130 runs in their second innings. Arusha Jaysinghe picked up 4 wickets in the process. St. Syleveter’s was set a target of 127 runs, which they achieved after losing 7 wickets batting out of their skins.

Brief Scores :

Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya 114 (39.2) Bisara Anjana 48, Ashinsa Nainayake 3/22, Yasandu Kiriella 2/14, Ruvishan Perera 2/22


Ananda College, Colombo 442/7 (73.5) Kenul De Zoysa 122*, Ayesh Shashimal 97, Iruth Gimshan 58, Thimoth Pathinayake 2/65, Menusha Pabasara 2/82


Result – Match Drawn (Ananda College, Colombo won on 1st innings lead)

Dharmashoka College, Ambalangoda 189 (56.1) Randul Samarahewa 94, Senitha Halambage 56, Arusha Jayasinghe 3/40, Nimesha Silva 3/54 & 130 (28.3) Randul Samarahewa 34, Senitha Halambage 33, Arusha Jayasinghe 4/47, Isuru Gunasekara 3/46


St. Sylvesters College, Kandy 192 (62.2)  Wageesha Hansala 49, Kashyapa Dissanayake 46, Jithira Sansika 5/41, Senitha Halmbage 5/75 & 128/7 (30.2) Yoshitha Udahakotuwa 21, Senitha Halambage 3/36


Result – St. Sylvesters College, Kandy won by 3 wickets