Two Englishmen, Two South Africans join Jaffna Stallions

Lanka Premier League 2020


South Africans Kyle Abbott, Duanne Olivier, and Englishmen Ravi Bopara, Tom Moores will join the Jaffna Stallions squad for the upcoming Lanka Premier League 2020.

Read More : High-profile Commentary Panel for LPL

During the player draft held on the 19th of October, The Jaffna Stallions head coach Thilina Kandamby picked 4 overseas players for their quota of 6. Due to national duties, two of them; Dawid Malan and Asif Ali have become unavailable for the tournament.

The only overseas players left in the squad were two Pakistanis; Shoaib Malik and Usman Shinwari which meant 4 overseas slots had to be refilled before the tournament. After these new additions, the Jaffna Stallions squad will be completed with 20 players. 

Read : New Schedule of the LPL 2020 announced

Two seamers from South Africa, Abbott, and Olivier who have joined Hampshire and Yorkshire counties after quitting International cricket will be a valued addition to the Jaffna Stallions squad. The duo will strengthen the pace battery of the Stallions which included the likes of Suranga Lakmal, Binura Fernando, and Usman Shinwari.

Former English all-rounder Ravi Bopara and young wicket-keeper batsman Tom Moores are the other inclusions two for the Stallions squad which is set to be led by the Sri Lanka all-rounder Thisara Perera.

Read Also : Our goal is to develop cricket in the North – Jaffna Stallions CEO

Jaffna Stallions – Final Squad

Local players – Thisara Perera, Wanindu Hasaranga, Avishka Fernando, Dhananjaya de Silva, Suranga Lakmal, Binura Fernando, Minod Bhanuka, Chaturanga de Silva, Mahesh Theekshana, Charith Asalanka   

Overseas players – Shoaib Malik, Usman Shinwari, Kyle Abbott, Duanne Olivier, Tom Moores, Ravi Bopara

Supplementory Players – Nuwanindu Fernando, Kanagaratnam Kapilaraj, Thevendiram Dinooshan, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth

The tournament will start on 26th November at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium and all the teams are to play each other twice before the semifinals and finals. Each playing XI should consist of 7 local players and 4 overseas players.

>>Click Here For More Cricket News<<