St. Aloysius’ & St. Sylvester’s record wins; Shevon Daniel put Joes on top

Under 19 Schools Cricket 2020/21


One game of the Division 1 Schools U19 Cricket Tournament – Tier A was played today (19th March), while two games in Tier B were also worked off. Four other traditional matches were also played around the Isle. 

Tier A

The only Tier A game played today between Nalanda College and St. Anthony’s College ended without a result as rain interrupted the play in the latter stage of the game. However, as per the rules of the tournament, both teams were awarded 2 points each. 

Brief Scores

Venue – Nalanda College Grounds, Colombo 

Toss – Nalanda College 

Nalanda College, Colombo 168/9 (47.2) Vinuja Ranpul 68, Jimutha Eranga 34*, Nikil Abegunasekara 21, Yasiru Gamarachchi 2/08, Asitha Wanninayake 2/32, Chamindu Wickramsinghe 2/33 

St. Anthony’s College, Kandy 

Result – No Result (2 points awarded to each team) 

Tier B

In the two Tier B games worked off today, St. Aloysius’ College managed to register a comprehensive 6-wicket win over Moratu Maha Vidyalaya, while St. Sylvester’s College defeated Lumbini College by 70 runs. 

Sandun Madushanka of St Aloysius’ College was the star performer of their win against Moralians as he bagged 4 wickets for just 14 runs with the ball. Sadeepa Halangoda led the charge with the bat for St. Sylvester’s College, scoring a half-century, while Charith Samuditha (3/14) and Akila Nimsara (3/16) shone with the ball in their victory against Lumbini College. 

SLC opens a new Cricket Ground in Mallakam

Brief Scores

Venue – Galle International Cricket Stadium, Galle   

Toss – St. Aloysius’ College 

Moratu Maha Vidyalaya, Moratuwa 91 (30.1) Sandun Madushanka 4/14, Mihiranga Nimsara 2/19

St. Aloysius’ College, Galle 93/4 (18.5) Omal Sadith 36*, Dilan Tharaka 2/12, Sukitha Dewthilina 2/17     

Result – St. Aloysius’ College won by 6 wickets 

Venue – Colts Grounds, Colombo    

Toss – Lumbini College 

St. Sylvester’s College, Kandy 194/9 (50) Sadeepa Halangoda 82, Kavishka Dilshan 35, Shashika Gihan 21, Thiranjaya Rasanjana 5/41  

Lumbini College, Colombo 105 (28.1) Yasiru Yugath Jasinghe 24, Vikum Kalhara 24, Charith Samuditha 3/14, Akila Nimsara 3/16, Maleesha Silva 2/17    

Result – St. Sylvester’s College won by 70 runs (Parabola Target 176 runs in 40 overs)

Traditional Matches

The traditional encounter betweeen Ananada College and S. Thomas College ended in a draw, with the latter taking the major honors thanks to the excellent century stroked by Ryan Fernando (127). 

The other traditional encounter held between Trinity College and St. Peter’s College also ended in a draw, but St. Peter’s College had the upper hand throughtout the match. The left-arm seamer Danal Hemananda, who picked up a match bag of 7 wickets for 76 runs, was the standout performer of the day for the Peterites. 

Shevon Daniel of St. Joseph’s College had a great outing with the bat today as he made an unbeaten 134 runs against Wesley College.  

Adishtan’s 100 earns win for Maliyadeva; Pavan ruins St. Joseph’s party

Brief Scores

Venue – S. Thomas’ College Grounds, Mount Lavinia  

Toss – Ananda College

Ananda College, Colombo 217 (74.2) Hansaja Jayasinghe 47, Anuda Jayaweera 45, Kanishka Ranthilakage 32, Yasiru Rodrigo 5/63 & 90/1 (31.2) Nushal Dharmarathna 60*, Anuda Jayaweera 28 

  1. Thomas College, Mount Lavinia 236/8d (74.1) Ryan Fernando 127, Mahith Perera 33, Yasiru Rodrigo 23, Nethma Samaraweera 3/64, Saviru Bandara 2/52

Result – Match Drawn 

Venue – St. Peter’s College Grounds, Colombo 

Toss – St. Peter’s College

St. Peter’s College, Colombo 277/9d (72.5) Nipunaka Fonseka 76, Shenal Botheju 51, Wanuja Kumara 45, Shanuka Galagoda 26, Niman Umesh 24, Manula Kularathns 5/60, Abhishek Anandakumara 3/81 

Trinity College, Kandy 169 (50) Umair Raizan 56, Thewin Amarasingha 28, Pawan Pathiraja 21, Danal Hemananda 5/62, Wanuja Kumara 3/34 & 188/8 (63.1) Umair Raizan 56, Abhishek Anandakumara 53, Wanuja Kumara 3/51, Danal Hemananda 2/14, Jasuran Benjamin 2/34      

Result – Match Drawn 

Venue – Wesley College Grounds, Colombo 

Toss – St. Joseph’s College

St. Joseph’s College, Colombo 223/2 (58) Shevon Daniel 134*, Sheran Fonseka 73

Wesley College, Colombo    

Stumps – Day 01 

Venue – St. Sebastian’s College Grounds, Moratuwa 

Toss – Richmond College

St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa 166 (82) Sandesh Fernando 42, Bihanga Mendis 31, Tharinda Nirmal 3/34, Nalaka Jayawardana 2/36, Amshi De Silva 2/49

Richmond College, Galle 8/0 (4)      

Stumps – Day 01 

Groups for the Schools U19 Cricket Tournament 2020/21 announced