Sri Lanka national selectors named a 15-man squad to face Bangladesh in the upcoming three-match ODI series which starts on 25th March in Dambulla.


Upul Tharanga will continue to lead the ODI team in the absence of injured Angelo Mathews. 29-year old Mathews was keen on returning to full fitness prior to this series but according to sources he has not regained full match fitness hence the selectors have given the regular skipper some more time to recover.

Experienced all-rounder Thisara Perera has been named in the squad alongside dashing top order batting duo, Kusal Janith Perera and Danushka Gunathilaka. All three players showed great form with the Sri Lanka ‘A’ team in the recently-concluded five-match unofficial ODI series against England Lions which boosted their selection.

Leg-spinner Seekkuge Prasanna who last played ODI cricket against Australia in August, 2016 has also been recalled to the squad.

The Lankans were 5-0 whitewashed by South Africa in their last ODI assignment. From the series against the Proteas, senior fast bowler Nuwan Kulasekara, young batsman Sandun Weerakkody, leg-spinner Jefferey Vandersay, spin bowling all-rounder Chathuranga De Silva and seaming all-rounder Lahiru Madushanka have been dropped for the Bangladesh series.

The first two matches will be played in Dambulla with the third and final game scheduled to be played at SSC grounds on 1st of April.

Sri Lanka ODI Squad 

Upul Tharanga (Captain), Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Janith Perera, Danushka Gunathilake, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Mendis, Asela Gunaratne, Dinesh Chandimal, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vikum Sanjaya Bandara, Thisara Perera, Sachith Pathirana, Seekkuge Prassanna, Lakshan Sandakan.