Ragama CC & Chilaw Marians clinch big wins amidst poised battles between bat and ball.



Ragama Cricket Club, Chilaw Marians Cricket Club, Colombo Cricket Club & Army Sports Club were the teams to register wins out of the 6 matches played today across the island, at various venues. Ragama CC and Chilaw Marians registered 10 wicket wins outplaying their opponents in all departments.

Read More : Ragama CC complete come-from-behind win

Lankan Cricket Club vs. Ragama Cricket Club

Ragama Cricket Clubs formidable batting performance powered by one of their finest national product Roshen Silva (165) and promising young talent Nishan Madhushka (154) piloted them to a hefty first inning score of 417 for 6 when they decided to declare their first inning. Having been bowled out for just 205 in their first inning prior to the Ragama CC inning, the Lankan CC team was able to get in their second inning was 226 runs, which gave Ragama CC a target of just 15 runs to get in their second inning. Just the icing on the cake, Ragama clinched to a 10 wicket win with ease and grace sprayed over various phases of their performance.

Lankan Cricket Club 205 (77)
Primosh Perera 57, Keshan Wijerathne 51, Sahan Nanayakkare 20*, Shashika Dulshan 5/26, Amila Aponso 2/42
& 226 (72.4)
Chanaka Ruwansiri 43, Kasun Abeyrathne 35, Malinga Amarasinghe 32, Risith Upamal 30, Malinga Amarasinghe 29, Sawan Kankanange 20, Amila Aponso4/59, Nishan Peiris 3/61


Ragama Cricket Club 417/6d (99)
Roshen Silva 165, Nishan Madushka 154, Supeshala Jayathilake 22*, Lahiru Thirimanne 21, Udith Madushan 3/103
& 16/0 (2.4)


Saracens Sports Club vs. Chilaw Marians Cricket Club

Both the teams weren’t very exceptional with regards to their batting performances, but Chilaw Marians did seal the deal with a real tight and disciplined work in their bowling department, Chathuranga Kumara and Nimesh Vimukthi were the top performers as the duo walked out with match figures of 7 for 77 & 6 for 41 respectively. Requiring just 19 runs in their second inning, Chilaw Marians got over the line with all 10 wickets in hand and recorded a 10-wicket victory.

Saracens Sports Club 176 (83)
Saliya Jeewantha 35, Pathum Madusanka 29, Chamikara Edirisinghe 24*, Nimesh Vimukthi 4/39, Chathuranga Kumara 3/25
& 123 (37.3) 
Harsha Rajapaksha 25, Sithira Gimhan 22, Chathuranga Kumara 4/52, S Ghadigaonkar 2/15, Thikshila De Silva 2/31


Chilaw Marians Cricket Club 281 (70.5)
Oshada Fernando 69, Sumit Ghadigaonkar 60, Kasun Vidura 49*, Lasith Croospulle 45, Pulina Tharanga 25, Mohomed Dilshad 4/63, Chamikara Edirisinghe 3/105 
& 19/0 (6.4)


Sri Lanka Army Sports Club vs. Moors Sports Club

Moors who were following on after a poor batting performance in the first innings were only able to score 29 more runs than the 374 runs made by Sri Lanka Army SC in their first inning. Chasing a target of 30 runs, SL Army got home quite comfortably after earning themselves an 8 wicket win over the Moors. National Caps Asela Gunarathne’s five-wicket haul in the second inning & and Dinesh Chandimal’s knock of 84 runs were valuable contributions for Army rendered by their most experienced men.

Army Cricket Club 374 (96.3)
Lakshan Edirisinghe 86, Dinesh Chandimal 84, Ashan Randika 77, Dushan Vimukthi 61, Yashodha Mendis 27, Dhanushka Ranasinghe 8/76 
& 30/2 (6.5) 
Ashan Randika 23, Dhanushka Ranasinghe 2/21


Moors Sports Club 128 (43.1)
Nipun Karunanayake 31, Adeesha Thilanchana 25, Charitha Kumarasinghe 20, Yasoda Mendis 7/18
& F/O 275 (67.1)
Pabasara Waduge 62, Mohamed Shamaz 62, Nipun Karunanayake 31, Anuk Fernando 25*, Asela Gunaratne 5/63, Yashoda Mendis 3/42


Burgher Recreation Club vs. Negombo Cricket Club

Both teams battled out a hard-fought competition between bat and bowl where the Burgher Recreation Club racked up 328 & 289 runs which the lads from Negombo replied with 279 runs in the first inning & 171 for 3 in the second inning when the match ended in a tame draw. Both teams had stunning performances with both bat and ball, Lisula Lakshan (59 & 133) scored a fifty in the first inning and doubled it to make a century for BRC in the second inning. Former Sri Lanka youth cap Lakshitha Rasanjana impressed with the ball for the Burghers as the youngster picked an 8-wicket haul in the second inning. Whereas for the lads from Negombo, Angelo Jayasinghe scored a stunning century with the bat in the first inning while left-arm spinner Upul Indrasiri bagged 7 wickets to his name.

Burgher Recreation Club 328 (105.4) 
Shanuka Withanawasam 68, Lasith Lakshan 59, Lisula Lakshan 49, Deshan Dias 36, Umeshka Morais 33, Hashan Sandeepa 28*, Upul Indrasiri 7/120 
& 289 (64.2)
Lasith Lakshan 133, Kevin Kothigoda 30, Raminda Wijesooriya 30, Bhanuka Rajapaksa 55, Lakshitha Rasanjana 8/57


Negombo Cricket Club 279 (56.1)
Angelo Jayasinghe 109, Madawa Warnapura 55, Saad Nasim 51, Lasith Lakshan 4/21, Mohamed Shiraz 3/68, Kevin Koththigoda 2/25 
& 171/3 (39)
Anjelo Jayasinghe 53*, Pasindu Lakshanka 52 , Madhawa Warnapura 31*, Ashen Silva 25


Read Also : A handful of Tons, A double ton & wins for Panadura & Bloomfield

Colts Cricket Club vs. Colombo Cricket Club

Colts CC who were bowled out for 205 in the first inning were given a slim lead of 39 runs by Colombo CC. Santhush Gunathilake top scored with 67 runs for Colts while Minod Bhanuka, unfortunately, perished at 99 for Colombo Cricket Club. Sri Lanka cap Dilruwan Perera picked a five-fer while young spinner Prabath Jayasuriya picked 4. Colts Cricket Club was bowled out for 239 runs in their second inning handing a target of 201 runs for the Colombo Cricket Club batters. Vishad Randika scored 73 runs for Colts CC while young Sonal Dinusha picked a five-wicket haul for Colombo CC. Colombo Cricket Club chased down the target after losing 7 wickets earning them a 3-wicket victory over Colts Cricket Club.

Colombo Colts Cricket Club 205 (53.2) 
Santhoosh Gunathilake 67, Vishad De Silva 46, Dhananjaya Lakshan 29, Sonal Dinusha 6/55, Vishwa Fernando 3/40 
& 239 (65.4) 
Vishad Randika 73, Santhush Gunathilake 44, Dhananjaya Lakshan 41, Heshan Dhanushka 25, Sonal Dinusha 5/100, Vishwa Fernando 3/37


Colombo Cricket Club 244 (59.2)
Minod Bhanuka 99, Lasith Abeyratne 38, Sonal Dinusha 26, Dilruwan Perera 5/95, Prabath Jayasuriya 4/76 
& 203/7 (58.1) 
Lasitha Abeyratne 45, Minod Bhanuka 44, Ron Chandraguptha 35, Sonal Dinusha 30*, Dilruwan Perera 4/80, Nipun Ransika 3/34


Nondescripts Cricket Club vs. Badureliya Sports Club

Besides the brilliant knock from the young sensation Pathum Nissanka, there was not much action happening at Maggona as the match was abandoned just under a day and a half due to dangerous playing conditions. The pitch was believed to be a bit too uneven for the batters as the umpires had to call the playoff within the first session of play on day 2.

Nondescripts Cricket Club187/2 (55.2)
Pathum Nissanka 101*, Upul Tharanga 44*, Hasitha Boyagoda 33, Thilakarathne Sampath 2/59


Badureliya Cricket Club