Home Cricket National Cricket Rain spoils Zimbabwe’s day

Rain spoils Zimbabwe’s day

Sri Lanka tour of Zimbabwe | 2nd Test – Day 4

Groundsmen drag a sail onto the field to cover the pitch as rain has delayed play during the third day of the second Test cricket match between Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka at the Harare Sports Club in Harare on January 29, 2020. (Photo by SIMON MAINA / AFP)

Rain and bad light during the latter half of day 4 in the 2nd Test between Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka meant that play was cut short with Zimbabwe well ahead, leading by 354 runs.

Brendan Taylor, who was the man to turn the tables on Sri Lanka in the 1st innings, with a run-a-ball 62, did so once again, looking to score runs quickly in the first session of play, putting Sri Lanka under pressure as the hosts’ lead grew. 

Read More: ‘Raza’s career-best 7-fer put Zimbabwe on the driving seat

Lasith Embuldeniya gave Sri Lanka the start they wanted, dismissing overnight batsman Regis Chakabva within the 1st half hour, but Taylor, along with Prince Masvaure combined to put on 47 runs for the 3rd wicket before the latter was run-out. One wicket brought another as concussion substitute Timycen Maruma was dismissed short after, stumped off the bowling of Embuldeniya. Maruma replaced Kevin Kasuza, who was hit on the head while fielding close in yesterday; Kasuza was also subbed out in the first test in eerily similar circumstances. 

Taylor batted on, going past the 50-run mark and carrying Zimbabwe’s lead towards 250 but an inswinger from Kumara trapped him in front of the stumps to give Sri Lanka a 5th wicket. Taylor indicated that he had hit the ball, but with no DRS available in the series, he was forced to leave the crease.

Sikandar Raza and Sean Williams scored some quick runs with a few loose deliveries being offered up by the Sri Lankan bowlers and by lunch the lead had swelled to 292.

The post lunch session was a frustrating one for Sri Lanka as Zimbabwe continued to milk the runs with the field well spread out. Raza and Williams added a crucial 70 runs to the total before Vishwa Fernando got Raza out LBW – replays showed the ball pitching outside the leg stump, but once again, with no DRS, there was no reprieve for Raza.

Williams kept going as he had in the 1st innings until bad light and eventually rain stopped play for good on day 4.

With a lead of 354 already in the bank, Zimbabwe could well be tempted to declare overnight, however, the fact that Sri Lanka chased down 390 the last time the two sides met prior to this series, would make them naturally a little more wary when setting the visitors a target.

>>For More News <<

Match drawn

Sri Lanka
293/10 (119.5) & 204/3 (87)
406/10 (115.3) & 247/7 (75)
Prince Masvaure c Niroshan Dickwella b Lahiru Kumara9441020.45
Kevin Kasuza b Suranga Lakmal38974039.18
Craig Ervine c Oshada Fernando b Dhananjaya de Silva121111109.09
Brendan Taylor lbw b Suranga Lakmal6262101100.00
Sean Williams b Dhananjaya de Silva10713710378.10
Sikandar Raza c Angelo Mathews b Lasith Embuldeniya72994272.73
Regis Chakabva c Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya31693044.93
Tinotenda Mutombodzi lbw b Dhananjaya de Silva33994033.33
Donald Tiripano c Suranga Lakmal b Lasith Embuldeniya13471027.66
Carl Mumba not out11192057.89
Victor Nyauchi c Dhananjaya de Silva b Lasith Embuldeniya6101060.00
Extras12 (b 8 , lb 3 , nb 1, w 0, pen 0)
Total406/10 (115.3 Overs, RR: 3.52)
Fall of Wickets 1-21 (13.6) Prince Masvaure, 2-49 (19.4) Craig Ervine, 3-114 (32.6) Kevin Kasuza, 4-133 (36.5) Brendan Taylor, 5-292 (71.6) Sikandar Raza, 6-324 (78.5) Sean Williams, 7-362 (95.2) Regis Chakabva, 8-386 (110.1) Tinotenda Mutombodzi, 9-394 (111.6) Donald Tiripano, 10-406 (115.3) Victor Nyauchi,
Suranga Lakmal2293721.68
Vishwa Fernando1414503.21
Lahiru Kumara2056013.00
Lasith Embuldeniya42.3818244.30
Dhananjaya de Silva1717134.18
Dimuth Karunarathne lbw b Sikandar Raza441203036.67
Oshada Fernando c Regis Chakabva b Donald Tiripano441194036.97
Kusal Mendis c Carl Mumba b Sikandar Raza22731130.14
Angelo Mathews c Regis Chakabva b Carl Mumba641583240.51
Dinesh Chandimal c & b Sikandar Raza690166.67
Dhananjaya de Silva b Sikandar Raza42645165.62
Niroshan Dickwella lbw b Sikandar Raza160016.67
Suranga Lakmal c Tinotenda Mutombodzi b Sikandar Raza5270018.52
Lasith Embuldeniya c Brian Mudzinganyama b Sikandar Raza5390012.82
Vishwa Fernando c Regis Chakabva b Victor Nyauchi38815046.91
Lahiru Kumara not out3220013.64
Extras19 (b 9 , lb 10 , nb 0, w 0, pen 0)
Total293/10 (119.5 Overs, RR: 2.45)
Fall of Wickets 1-94 (36.2) Dimuth Karunarathne, 2-104 (43.1) Oshada Fernando, 3-134 (62.5) Kusal Mendis, 4-142 (64.5) Dinesh Chandimal, 5-226 (86.3) Dhananjaya de Silva, 6-228 (88.2) Niroshan Dickwella, 7-242 (94.3) Suranga Lakmal, 8-244 (97.1) Angelo Mathews, 9-268 (108.4) Lasith Embuldeniya, 10-293 (119.5) Vishwa Fernando,
Carl Mumba1844312.39
Sikandar Raza43811372.63
Donald Tiripano24123011.25
Victor Nyauchi22.574011.78
Tinotenda Mutombodzi1214804.00
Prince Masvaure run out (Dhananjaya de Silva)351053133.33
Craig Ervine c Niroshan Dickwella b Vishwa Fernando13431030.23
Regis Chakabva c Dhananjaya de Silva b Lasith Embuldeniya15391038.46
Brendan Taylor lbw b Lahiru Kumara67757189.33
Timycen Maruma st Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya014000.00
Sikandar Raza lbw b Vishwa Fernando34744045.95
Sean Williams not out53776168.83
Tinotenda Mutombodzi b Suranga Lakmal8220036.36
Donald Tiripano not out120050.00
Extras21 (b 4 , lb 15 , nb 1, w 1, pen 0)
Total247/7 (75 Overs, RR: 3.29)
Fall of Wickets 1-32 (11.2) Craig Ervine, 2-64 (23.3) Regis Chakabva, 3-111 (38.2) Prince Masvaure, 4-124 (42.4) Timycen Maruma, 5-151 (49.3) Brendan Taylor, 6-221 (67.5) Sikandar Raza, 7-240 (74.3) Tinotenda Mutombodzi,
Suranga Lakmal1853411.89
Dhananjaya de Silva723204.57
Vishwa Fernando2054322.15
Lahiru Kumara1023803.80
Lasith Embuldeniya2008124.05

Oshada Fernando lbw b Sikandar Raza471084043.52
Dimuth Karunarathne c Regis Chakabva b Carl Mumba12380031.58
Kusal Mendis not out11623313149.79
Angelo Mathews c Craig Ervine b Victor Nyauchi13691018.84
Dinesh Chandimal not out13750017.33
Extras3 (b 1 , lb 1 , nb 1, w 0, pen 0)
Total204/3 (87 Overs, RR: 2.34)
Fall of Wickets 1-26 (13.4) Dimuth Karunarathne, 2-107 (38.1) Oshada Fernando, 3-140 (61.2) Angelo Mathews,
Sikandar Raza32106311.97
Donald Tiripano16101500.94
Carl Mumba411313.25
Sean Williams1604903.06
Victor Nyauchi1234313.58
Tinotenda Mutombodzi721902.71