The 2nd week matches in the SLC Premier League ‘Tier A’ Tournament 2016/17 were concluded today in Colombo with only Ragama CC recording an outright win while the other games ended as drawn encounters.

 SLC Premier League Fixtures 

Ragama vs Moors

Former Peterite left-arm spinner Sahan Nanayakkara’s 6-wicket haul in the second innings helped Ragama CC record a convincing 10-wicket win over Moors SC at Braybrooke Place.

Photos: Moors SC v Ragama CC – Premier League Tournament 2016/2017

Udara Jayasundera’s century on day two guided the visitors to 361 while the left-arm spin twins, Nanayakkara and Amila Aponso shared 16 wickets throughout the match to annihilate Moors. Resuming on 120 for 6, the hosts were bowled out for 181 setting a comfortable 38-run target for Ragama.

Moors – 217 all out in 55.2 overs: Primosh Perera 64, Ruvindu Gunasekara 27, Shanuka Dulaj 36, Amila Aponso 4/40, Sahan Nanayakkara 3/52, Ishara Amarasinghe 2/39.

Ragama – 361 all out in 86.2 overs: Udara Jayasundera 112, Lahiru Milantha 63, Lahiru Thirimanne 43, Roshen Silva 79, Lahiru Jayarathne 29, Sachithra Perera 5/119.

Dilhan Cooray nears century; Gayan Sirisoma takes another 10-for

Former Sebastianite Dilhan Cooray made a sparkling, unbeaten 81 to anchor the Galle CC batting against…

Moors (2nd Inn) – 181 all out in 57.3 overs: Ruvindu Gunasekara 57, Tharindu Mendis 52, Suresh Niroshan 45, Sahan Nanayakkara 6/55, Amila Aponso 3/44.

Ragama (2nd Inn) – 40 for no loss in 5.5 overs: Lahiru Milantha 31*.

NCC vs Chilaw Marians

Chilaw Marians’ last pair held onto claim a draw against NCC despite off-spinner Tharindu Kaushal claiming 11 wickets in their Group A match at NCC grounds.

Photos: NCC v Chilaw MCC – Premier League Tournament 2016/2017

23-year old Kaushal took five wickets in the second innings to follow up on his six-wicket haul in the first innings as the visitors ended day three reeling on 193 for 9 in chase of 300 for victory. Earlier in the day, Maduka Liyanapathiranage and Malinda Pushpakumara took 4 wickets apiece to bundle out NCC for 199 in their second innings.

NCC – 385 all out in 88.1 overs: Niroshan Dickwella 51, Sandun Weerakkody 113, Pawan Wickramasinghe 46, Angelo Perera 45, Nimesha Gunasinghe 64, Farveez Maharoof 30, Malinda Pushpakumara 5/74, Maduka Liyanapathiranage 3/88.

Chilaw Marians – 285 all out in 68.3 overs: Mahela Udawatte 89, Kasun Vidura 64, Isuru Udana 40, Shehan Jayasuriya 34, Tharindu Kaushal 6/78, Chathuranga De Silva 3/104.

NCC (2nd Inn) – 199 all out in 50.4 overs: Niroshan Dickwella 24, Angelo Perera 38, Chathuranga De Silva 47, Madhuka Liyanapathiranage 4/54, Malinda Pushpakumara 4/59.

Chilaw Marians (2nd Inn) 193/9 in 56 overs: Arosha Janoda 40, Mahela Udawatte 39, Maduka Liyanapathiranage 33, Tharindu Kaushal 5/53, Chathuranga De Silva 3/68.

Badureliya vs Bloomfield

Bad light prevented Bloomfield C&AC from recording an outright win over Badureliya CC as their group A match ended in an exciting draw at Bloomfield grounds.

Photos: Bloomfield vs Baduraliya – Premier League Tournament 2016/17

Chasing a stiff target of 261 in the fourth innings, the hosts fell short of just 13 runs as the umpires decided to call it a day. Former Ananda College captain Nisal Fransisco struck a delightful 88 to inspire the chase while former Nalandians, Adeesha Nanayakkara and Lahiru Jayakody made half-tons.

Badureliya – 156 all out in 51 overs: Shehan Fernando 46, Vishwa Wijerathne 47, Sachin Hewawasam 26, Malith Mahela 5/41, Taneesha Weerakoon 3/24.

Bloomfield 233 all out in 68.1 overs: Adeesha Nanayakkara 79, Nipun Karunanayake 108*, Dilesh Gunarathne 2/64, Alankara Asanka 4/50, Duvindu Thillakarathne 3/39.

Udara, Roshen and spinners put Ragama on the brink of victory

Six matches in the SLC Premier League ‘Tier A’ Tournament 2016/17 were conducted today (Saturday) in Colombo….

Badureliya (2nd Inn) – 337/7 declared in 71.5 overs: Shehan Fernando 86, Sachin Hewawasam 48, Lakkana Jayasekara 53, Nadeera Nawala 71, Vishwa Wijerathne 31, Nipun Karunanayake 3/67, Malith Mahela 4/112.

Bloomfield (2nd Inn) – 248/6 in 67.3 overs: Nisal Fransisco 88, Lahiru Jayakody 58, Adeesha Nanayakkara 58, Alankara Asanka 4/91.

CCC vs SL Army

Sri Lanka Test discard, Asela Gunarathne made a match saving, unbeaten 93 for Army SC as CCC had to cope up with only a first innings win in their Group B encounter which ended in a draw at CCC grounds.

Photos: CCC v Army SC – Premier League Tournament 2016/2017

Former Trinity College opening batsman Ron Chandragupta slammed his second first-class century to guide the hosts to a commanding 309 for 7 before declaring the innings and setting a target of 312 for the Soldiers. The visitors were 227 for 7 at close of play after being 126 for 7 at one stage with Gunarathne consuming 160 deliveries for his 93 while left-arm spinner Sachith Pathirana claimed a five-wicket haul for the home team.

CCC – 218 all out in 56.3 overs: Sachith Pathirana 54, Ron Chandragupta 26, Ashan Priyanjan 32, Lahiru Madushanka 50*, Asela Gunarathne 3/27, Dushan Vimukthi 3/49, Lakshan Madushanka 2/34, Viraj Pushpakumara 2/70.

SL Army – 216 all out in 82.1 overs: Dushan Vimukthi 78, Kasun De Silva 31, Lakshan Sandakan 4/71, Sachith Pathirana 3/70, Ashan Priyanjan 2/42.

Weerakkody and Gimhan steal the limelight in Premier Cricket

Left handed opening batsmen, Sandun Weerakkody (NCC) and Sithara Gimhan (Tamil Union) struck classy…

CCC (2nd Inn) – 309/7 declared in 74 overs: Ron Chandragupta 116, Ashan Priyanjan 78, Nisham Mazahir 39, Viraj Pushpakumara 3/85, Dushan Vimukthi 2/73.

SL Army (2nd Inn) – Leo Fransisco 43, Asela Gunarathne 93*, Janith Chathuranga 21*, Sachith Pathirana 5/78, Lakshan Sandakan 2/70.

BRC vs Saracens

Irosh Samarasooriya (Saracens) and TM Sampath (BRC) made second innings centuries as the Saracens-BRC clash ended in a tame draw at BRC grounds.

Photos: BRC v Saracens SC – Premier League Tournament 2016/2017

The visitors Saracens claimed a first innings win to take major honours while the newly-promoted BRC outfit suffered their second first innings loss in the season. Samarasooriya made a sparkling 176-ball 110 while Sampath remained unbeaten till close of play smashing 10 fours and 4 sixes during his excellent 100 which came off just 97 balls.

Saracens – 302 all out in 79.5 overs: Irosh Samarasooriya 72, Umesh Karunarathne 84, Denuwan Rajakaruna 69, Chathura Randunu 28, Dinuka Hettiarachchi 5/96, Andy Solomons 2/25, TM Sampath 3/64.

BRC – 197 all out in 74.3 overs: Deshan Dias 32, Hashen Ramanayake 31, Chanaka Wijesinghe 24, Kasun Rajitha 5/72, Suraj Randiv 4/58.

Saracens (2nd Inn) – 212 all out in 62.4 overs: Irosh Samarasooriya 110, Suraj Randiv 34, Hashen Ramanayake 3/35, Rumesh Buddhika 3/50, Dinuka Hettiarachchi 2/62.

BRC (2nd Inn) – 183/3 in 32 overs: TM Sampath 100*, Rumesh Buddhika 44, Suraj Randiv 2/57.