Six matches in the SLC Premier League ‘Tier A’ Tournament 2016/17 were conducted today (Saturday) in Colombo.

 SLC Premier League Fixtures 

Tamil Union vs Galle

Off-spinner Roshan Jayathissa and veteran left-arm spinner Sajeewa Weerakoon picked up 9 wickets as defending champions, Tamil Union suffered a first-innings defeat at the hands of Galle CC in their drawn encounter which ended at P. Sara Oval Grounds today.

Photos: Tamil Union C&AC v Galle CC – Premier League Tournament 2016/2017

After resuming from 228 for 1, the home team crumbled against the spin duo as they were bundled out for 338 in chase of 352. Jayathissa took a five-wicket haul while Weerakoon took 4 wickets.

Galle – 352 all out in 111.3 overs: Nilushan Nonis 34, Dilhan Cooray 86, Shalika Karunanayake 45, Eranga Rathnayake 62, Chamika Karunarathne 3/80, Dulanjana Mendis 2/66, Jeewan Mendis 4/87.

Tamil Union 338 all out in 109.5 overs: Dinuk Wickramanayake 33, Sithara Gimhan 127, Tharanga Paranavithana 84, Jeewan Mendis 39, Roshan Jayathissa 5/101, Sajeewa Weerakoon 4/96.

Galle (2nd inn) 189/5 in 49 overs: Nilushan Nonis 43, Dilhan Cooray 37, Shalika Karunanayake 38, Dinuk Wickramanayake 2/27, Dulanjana Mendis 2/56.

Dilhan Cooray nears century; Gayan Sirisoma takes another 10-for

Former Sebastianite Dilhan Cooray made a sparkling, unbeaten 81 to anchor the Galle CC batting against…

Ragama vs Moors

Left-handed batsman Udara Jayasundera slammed his 13th first-class ton while Sri Lanka Test discard, Roshen Silva made a vital 79 to put Ragama CC on the brink of an outright win over Moors SC at Braybrooke Place.

Photos: Moors SC v Ragama CC – Premier League Tournament 2016/2017

Resuming on 85, Jayasundera went onto score 112 off 145 balls while Silva consumed 124 balls for his 79 as the visitors posted 361 in reply to the Moors first innings score of 217. Leg-spinner Sachithra Perera was the most impressive bowler for the hosts taking his 3rd five-wicket haul. The home team were reeling at 120 for 6 at stumps on day two with Ruvindu Gunasekara stroking 57 while left-arm spin duo, Sahan Nanayakkara and Amila Aponso sharing 5 wickets.

Moors – 217 all out in 55.2 overs: Primosh Perera 64, Ruvindu Gunasekara 27, Shanuka Dulaj 36, Amila Aponso 4/40, Sahan Nanayakkara 3/52, Ishara Amarasinghe 2/39.

Ragama – 361 all out in 86.2 overs: Udara Jayasundera 112, Lahiru Milantha 63, Lahiru Thirimanne 43, Roshen Silva 79, Lahiru Jayarathne 29, Sachithra Perera 5/119.

Moors (2nd inn) – 120/6 in 37 overs: Ruvindu Gunasekara 57, Tharindu Mendis 39*, Sahan Nanayakkara 3/23, Amila Aponso 2/25.

Saracens vs BRC

Fast-bowler Kasun Rajitha and off-spinner Suraj Randiv bowled Saracens to a first-innings lead over BRC in their match at BRC grounds.

Photos: BRC v Saracens SC – Premier League Tournament 2016/2017

Rajitha grabbed a five-for while Randiv took 4 wickets to dismiss the home team to a mere 197 after the visitors posted 302 on day one. Many BRC batsmen got starts but did not convert them into big scores while Saracens now lead the game by 145 runs at stumps on day two.

Saracens – 302 all out in 79.5 overs: Irosh Samarasooriya 72, Umesh Karunarathne 84, Denuwan Rajakaruna 69, Chathura Randunu 28, Dinuka Hettiarachchi 5/96, Andy Solomons 2/25, TM Sampath 3/64.

BRC – 197 all out in 74.3 overs: Deshan Dias 32, Hashen Ramanayake 31, Chanaka Wijesinghe 24, Kasun Rajitha 5/72, Suraj Randiv 4/58.

Saracens (2nd inn) – 40/2 in 14 overs: Irosh Samarasooriya 21*.

CCC vs SL Army

Chinaman bowler, Lakshan Sandakan’s 4-wicket haul clinched a close two-run first-innings win for CCC against SL Army at CCC grounds.

Photos: CCC v Army SC – Premier League Tournament 2016/2017

The hosts made 218 yesterday while the Soldiers were bowled out for 216 today with Sandakan, Sachith Pathirana (3 wickets) and skipper Ashan Priyanjan (2 wickets) doing most of the damage. CCC in their second innings managed to score 165 for 1 with former Trinitian opening batsman Ron Chandragupta unbeaten on 84* alongside captain Priyanjan on 58*.

CCC – 218 all out in 56.3 overs: Sachith Pathirana 54, Ron Chandragupta 26, Ashan Priyanjan 32, Lahiru Madushanka 50*, Asela Gunarathne 3/27, Dushan Vimukthi 3/49, Lakshan Madushanka 2/34, Viraj Pushpakumara 2/70.

SL Army – 216 all out in 82.1 overs: Dushan Vimukthi 78, Kasun De Silva 31, Lakshan Sandakan 4/71, Sachith Pathirana 3/70, Ashan Priyanjan 2/42.

CCC (2nd inn) – 165/1 in 43 overs: Ron Chandragupta 84*, Ashan Priyanjan 58*.

Badureliya vs Bloomfield

Badureliya hit back strongly in their second innings after skipper Nipun Karunanayake’s second consecutive ton helped Bloomfield take first innings lead in their game at Reid Avenue.

Photos: Bloomfield vs Baduraliya – Premier League Tournament 2016/17

Karunanayake scored 108 off 163 balls with 11 fours and a six as the hosts made 233 in reply to Badureliya’s first innings score of 156. The visitors however managed to cut down the deficit and take a 146-run lead thanks to some exciting batting by the Joe-Pete opening pair of Sachin Hewawasam and Shehan Fernando.

Badureliya – 156 all out in 51 overs: Shehan Fernando 46, Vishwa Wijerathne 47, Sachin Hewawasam 26, Malith Mahela 5/41, Taneesha Weerakoon 3/24.

Bloomfield 233 all out in 68.1 overs: Adeesha Nanayakkara 79, Nipun Karunanayake 108*, Dilesh Gunarathne 2/64, Alankara Asanka 4/50, Duvindu Thillakarathne 3/39.

Badureliya (2nd inn) – 223/2 in 52 overs: Shehan Fernando 86, Sachin Hewawasam 48, Lakkana Jayasekara 37*, Nadeera Nawala 46*, Nipun Karunanayake 2/19.

Weerakkody and Gimhan steal the limelight in Premier Cricket

Left handed opening batsmen, Sandun Weerakkody (NCC) and Sithara Gimhan (Tamil Union) struck classy centuries…

NCC vs Chilaw Marians

Off-spinner Tharindu Kaushal took 6 for 78 as NCC recorded a first innings win over Chilaw Marians at NCC grounds.

Photos: NCC v Chilaw MCC – Premier League Tournament 2016/2017

At stumps on day two, the home team leads the game by 187 runs with 6 wickets remaining. Kaushal disabled the Chilaw Marians chase of 385 as they were bundled out for 285. Skipper Mahela Udawatte and Kasun Vidura made half-tons for the visitors. Off-spinner Madhuka Liyanapathiranage picked up 3 late wickets to keep Chilaw Marians in the game.

NCC – 385 all out in 88.1 overs: Niroshan Dickwella 51, Sandun Weerakkody 113, Pawan Wickramasinghe 46, Angelo Perera 45, Nimesha Gunasinghe 64, Farveez Maharoof 30, Malinda Pushpakumara 5/74, Maduka Liyanapathiranage 3/88.

Chilaw Marians – 285 all out in 68.3 overs: Mahela Udawatte 89, Kasun Vidura 64, Isuru Udana 40, Shehan Jayasuriya 34, Tharindu Kaushal 6/78, Chathuranga De Silva 3/104.

NCC (2nd Inn) – 87/4 in 15 overs: Niroshan Dickwella 24, Angelo Perera 24*, Madhuka Liyanapathiranage 3/20.