Big hundreds for Mendis & Priyanjan as CCC end on top

SLC Major League Tier ‘A’ Tournament 2019/20

Sri Lanka Club Cricket

SLC Major League Tier ‘A’ Tournament 2019/20 came to a close with CCC winning the tournament for the second consecutive time.

Chandimal scores record-breaking 354 runs!

NCC recorded a win against Colts CC by an innings and 79 runs on dead-rubber. Chathuranga de Silva bagged 9 scalps in the game. They ended the tourney in the second position of the table. 

The glorious run of the Colombo Cricket Club took another step ahead byway of this victory. Skipper Kusal Mendis announced his fine form with yet another 157 runs today. This is the third century in the tournament for the 25-year old. He was accompanied by the former captain of CCC Ashan Priyanjan who made a cracking 170 runs. The partnership wiped any hopes the Chilaw Marians CC had to earn a win in the game.

In the spiced up pursuit of SL Army SC over Saracens SC ended in a draw as Saracens batsmen managed to survive just long enough. Seekkuge Prasanna wrapped an 8-scalp match bag falling inches behind victory. 

In reply to Ragama CC’s 491 runs in the first innings, Shanuka Dulaj of BRC staged a fighting 173 runs to save BRC. Half-centuries from all-rounder Hashen Ramanayake (56), skipper Bhanuka Rajapaksa (50), and opener Nisal Fransisco (50) took BRC to 406 runs in the first innings. 

The left-arm spinner Shashika Dulshan picked up 4 wickets for 127 runs while Kalhara Senarathne picked up 3 for 146. 

Damith’s twin tons save Badureliya; Dhananjaya smacks 167

Brief Scores

NCC vs Colts CC

Venue: CCC Grounds, Colombo

Toss: NCC

NCC 458 (88.2)

Angelo Perera 107, Kamil Mishara 72*, Lahiru Udara 66, Niroshan Dickwella 57, Sahan Arachchige 44, Prabath Jayasuriya 4/117, Dilruwan Perera 4/119

Colts CC 222 (51)

Angelo Mathews 52, Chathuranga de Silva 5/56

& F/O 157 (48.2)

Sadeera Samarawickrama 72, Chathuranga de Silva 4/81, Ashian Daniel 3/47, Dushmantha Chameera 2/12

NCC won by an innings and 79 runs

SL Army SC vs Saracens SC

Venue: Chilaw Marians CC Grounds, Katunayake

Toss: SL Army SC

SL Army SC 642/8d (156.2)

Dinesh Chandimal 354*, Pathum Dilshan 67, Ashan Randika 63, Saliya Saman 2/97, Mohammad Dilshad 2/86

Saracens SC 259 (69.5)

Gamindu Kanishka 95, Saliya Saman 45, Seekkuge Prasanna 5/72, Dushan Vimukthi 3/55

& F/O 76/5 (35)

Sithara Gimhan 31, Seekkuge Prassanna 3/29

Match Drawn

Nipun Karunanayake, Dasun Shanaka stroke tons; Maduka Liyanapathiranage takes 6-fer

Ragama CC vs BRC

Venue: P. Sara Oval, Colombo

Toss: Ragama CC

Ragama CC 491 (134.1)

Udara Jayasundera 158, Lahiru Thirimanne 140, Binura Fernando 52*, Hashen Ramanayake 3/80, Dilum Sudeera 3/136

& 23/0 (5)

BRC 406 (110.4)

Shanuka Dulaj 143, Hashen Ramanayake 56, Bhanuka Rajapaksa 50, Nisal Francisco 50, Shashika Dulshan 4/127, Kalhara Senarathne 3/146

Match Drawn

CCC vs Chilaw Marians CC

Venue: SSC Grounds, Colombo

Toss: CCC

CCC 287 (59.5)

Lasith Abeyrathne 68, Lahiru Madushanka 45, Nimesh Vimukthi 5/59, Asitha Fernando 3/75

& 494/8d (97)

Ashan Priyanjan 170, Kusal Mendis 157, Lasith Abeyrathne 56, Wanindu Hasaranga 51, Thikshila de Silva 2//44, Shehan Jayasuriya 2/53, Nimesh Vimukthi 2/175

Chilaw Marians CC 458/9d (87)

Shehan Jayasuriya 108, Oshada Fernando 85, Kasun Vidura 61, Rumesh Buddika 56, Lasith Croospulle 50, Malinda Pushpakumara 4/106, Lakashan Sandakan 3/113

& 52/2 (9)

Lasith Croospulle 42, Lasith Abeyrathne 2/23

Match Drawn

For More Cricket News