Nipun Karunanayake, Dasun Shanaka stroke tons; Maduka Liyanapathiranage takes 6-fer

SLC Premier League Tournament Tier ‘A’ 2020

SLC Premier League Round-up

The second day’s play of the final round of the plate championship in the SLC Major League Tier ‘A’ Tournament worked off today at Colombo and Moratuwa. 

Lahiru Udara continues the run fest

Moors Sports Club managed to take honors against the Lankan Cricket Club thanks to the centuries scored by Sachithra Serasinghe (151), Nipun Karunanayake (142), and Ramesh Mendis (104). The 17-year old left-arm spinner Dunith Wellalage picked up 4 scalps for 143 runs for Lankan Cricket Club. 

In reply to the mammoth score put on by Moors, the lads of Lankan Cricket Club posted 209 runs for 5 wickets. Former Nalandian Malinga Amarasinghe stroked a classy century while Primosh Perera chipped in with a half-ton. 

Negombo Cricket Club has taken the upper hand against Tamil Union Cricket Club as they lead by 142 runs at the end of the second day’s play. After been 161 for 1, the Negombo boys managed to put on 371 runs for their first innings. 

Ashen Silva (90), Dilshan Munaweera (85), and Madawa Warnapura (84) smashed half-centuries. The off-spinner Maduka Liyanapathiranage found his rhythm taking 6 scalps for 54 runs. 

In the other encounter, SSC managed to dominate the play as they put brakes on Badureliya innings after scoring a mammoth total on the board for their first innings. The skipper Dasun Shanaka (128), Sandun Weerakkody (101), Charith Asalanka (83), and Sammu Ashan (75) shone with the bat for SSC.

Praveen spins Moors to win

Damith Perera (113) and Dunith Jayathunga (63) played well with the bat for Badureliya Sports Club while the left arm seamer Kalana Perera and leg spinner Jeffrey Vandersay impressed with the ball for SSC taking 2 wickets each. 

Brief Scores

Moors Sports Club vs Lankan Cricket Club

Venue: NCC Grounds, Colombo

Toss: Moors SC

Moors Sports Club – 599/9d (122.4)

Sachithra Serasinghe 151, Nipun Karunanayake 142, Ramesh Mendis 104, Mohammad Shamaz 81, Dunith Wellalage 4/143, Malinga Amarasinghe 2/50

Lankan Cricket Club – 209/5 (55)

Malinga Amarasinghe 117, Primosh Perera 65, Kavishka Anjula 2/39, Sachithra Serasinghe 1/16, Praveen Jayawickrama 1/36

Stumps – Day 2

Video – The standard of Sri Lanka’s premier First-Class tournament in question?- Around The Wickets

Tamil Union Cricket & Athletic Club vs Negombo Cricket Club

Venue: Colts Grounds, Colombo

Toss: Negombo CC

Tamil Union Cricket & Athletic Club 184 (49.1)

Devin Pathmanathan 40, Roshen Fernando 5/31

& 45/1 (23)

Yohan Mendis 28*, Pramod Madushan 12*, Roshen Fernando 1/12

Negombo Cricket Club 371 (105)

Ashen Silva 90, Dilshan Munaweera 85, Madawa Warnapura 84, Pasindu Lakshanka 37, Maduka Liyanapathiranage 6/54, Pramod Madushan 2/78

Stumps – Day 2

Singhalese Sports Club vs Badureliya Sports Club

Venue: Tyronne Fernando Stadium, Moratuwa 

Toss: Singhalese Sports Club

Singhalese Sports Club 583 (115.1)

Dasun Shanaka 128, Sandun Weerakkody 101, Charith Asalanka 83, Sammu Ashan 75, Nuwanindu Fernando 49, Dhanushka Gunathilaka 47, Alankara Asanka 3/97, Buddika Sanjeewa 3/144

Badureliya Sports Club 239/6 (63)

Damith Perera 113, Dunith Jayathunga 63, Dushan Hemantha 29, Kalana Perera 2/35, Jeffrey Vandersay 2/69

Stumps – Day 2

For More Cricket News