Chandimal responds to ODI discard with a whirlwind century

SLC Major T20 Tournament 2018/19


Six matches of the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Major T20 Tournament were worked off around the island this morning (19).

>>Major T20 Tournament Fixtures and Results<<

Navy Sports Club vs Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC

Leg Spinner Dushan Hemantha led Navy SC bowling line up and made sure SL Ports Authority CC innings closed within 18 overs as Ports Authority could only manage 107 runs to give Navy a 43 run win.

Earlier Navy made 150 runs in SL Army OCICS grounds after being put to bat by the opposition.

Navy Sports Club – 150 (19.3) Salitha Fernando 40, Tharushan Iddamalgoda 30, Ranesh Perera 3/24, Poorna de Silva 2/22 Chaminda Bandara 2/31

Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC – 107 (18) Primosh Perera 56, Dushan Hemantha 3/09, Tharushan Iddamalgoda 2/16, Sathik Nimalsha 2/19

Navy won by 43 runs

Air Force Sports Club vs Army Cricket Club

In form, Roscoe Thattil’s unbeaten half-century wasn’t enough to put Air Force SC ahead as Army CC cruised to an 8 wicket win at BRC grounds, Colombo.

Rampant Dilshan Munaweera excels in CCC thumping win

Six matches of the Sri Lanka Cricket Major T20 was worked off around the island today (18). Major T20 Tournament…

Fifties from national ODI discard Asela Gunaratne and Ashan Randika guided Army to the victory inside 16.1 overs

Air Force Sports Club – 153/5 (20) Roscoe Thattil 52*, Ravindu Sanjana 26, Udesh Parakrama 22, Janaka Sampath 2/21

Army Cricket Club – 154/2 (16.1) Asela Gunaratne 54*, Ashan Randika 53, Lakshitha Madushan 22, Himasha Liyanage 21*

Army won by 8 wickets

Photos: Air Force SC vs Army SC | Major T20 Tournament 2018/19

Colombo Colts Cricket Club vs Kalutara Town Club

Following the scrap from Test and ODI squads, Sadeera Samarawickrama piled another half-century at Katunayake to secure his position at the top in the highest run scorers’ column.

Colts recorded a 48 run victory to have their 3rd win in 4 games.

Colombo Colts Cricket Club – 150/7 (20) Sadeera Samarawickrama 55, Dilruwan Perera 31, Sachitha Jayathilake 4/23, Eranga Rathnayake 3/23

Kalutara Town Club – 102/6 (20) Nipuna Gamage 22, Prabath Jayasuriya 2/14, Kavishka Anjula 2/15, Nisala Tharaka 2/17

Colts won by 48 runs

Nondescripts Cricket Club vs Saracens Sports Club

Sri Lanka permanent Test captain Dinesh Chandimal timed a perfect century in 62 balls at NCC grounds to answer his critics just after his omission from the ODI squad.

Read More: Chilaw beats Colts in high-scoring thriller

NCC tops group A with 6 points after their 196 proved to be too much for Saracens SC as they only managed to gather 149 runs in 20 overs.

Nondescripts Cricket Club – 196/5 (20) Dinesh Chandimal 101*, Pathum Nissanka 35, Chaturanga de Silva 23, Raveen Sayer 2/28

Saracens Sports Club – 149/9 (20) Ranitha Liyanarachch 48, Andy Solomons 35, Sachinda Colombage 3/08, Dilesh Gunaratne 2/21

NCC won by 47 runs

Photos: NCC vs Saracens SC – Major T20 Tournament 2018/19

Sinhalese Sports Club vs Bloomfield Cricket Academy

SSC tasted their second defeat in the competition as Bloomfield’s Madushan Ravichandrakumar’s unbeaten 47 guided Bloomfield to a comfortable 4 wicket win at Thurstan College grounds, Colombo.

This is Bloomfield’s first win in the competition.

Sinhalese Sports Club – 149/8 (20) Sandun Weerakkody 41, Nipun Dananjaya 28, Sachithra Senanayake 28, Dasun Shanaka 23, Asel Sigera 2/20, Madushan Ravichandrakumar 2/20, Sachin Jayawardena 2/20

Bloomfield Cricket Academy – 150/6 (17.1) Madushan Ravichandrakumar 47*, Sachin Jayawardena 34, Jeffrey Vandersay 2/40

Bloomfield won by 4 wickets

Badureliya Cricket Club vs Kandy Customs Sports Club

Baduraliya CC won a comfortable battle by 37 runs as Kandy Customs SC’s winless run continued.

Photos: Badureliya CC vs Kandy Customs SC – Major T20 Tournament 2018/19

Alankara Silva’s 43 put Baduraliya in front in the first innings as they racked up 159 runs before wrapping up the opposition innings within 19.2 overs

Badureliya Cricket Club 159/8 (20) Alankara Asanka Silva 43 Pramud Hettiwatte 33, Sachith Pathirana 27, Shiran Ratnayake 23, N Rathnayake 4/25, C Fernando 2/40

Kandy Customs Sports Club – 122 (19.2) Tharaka Waduge 24, Buddhika Sanjeewa 4/22

>>More News on Club Cricket<<