Shreyas Gopal, Rahul Chahar picked for Sri Lanka A series

Shreyas Gopal had impressive returns in the recently-concluded IPL season © BCCI

BCCI has named two different 14-member India A squads against the visiting Sri Lanka A side for two unofficial Tests and five One-Day games, starting on May 25 (Saturday). The series, which will be played across two venues in Belgaum and Hubli, is set to feature plenty of promising young talents from the Indian domestic circuit.

Read More : Sri Lanka A squads released

Shubman Gill, Shreyas Gopal and Rahul Chahar are the notable inclusions in the squad having enjoyed decent success in the recently-concluded IPL. Priyank Panchal has been named as the skipper for the four-day games while Gujarat’s Ishan Kishan will take over the captaincy duties in the limited-overs series. Both squads, however, are highly dominated by youth and players who enjoyed success during the Indian domestic season.

Punjab’s Anmolpreet Singh and Maharashtra’s Ruturaj Gaekwad have been in the radar for a while now and the duo will look to make most of the opportunity in the unofficial Tests and one-day games respectively. Vidarbha’s premier spinner Aditya Sarwate, KKR’s Rinku Singh (Uttar Pradesh) and Sandeep Warrier (Kerala) earned their maiden India A call-up alongside Mumbai’s Shivam Dube and Tushar Deshpande.

Read : Roy Dias appointed as Sri Lanka ‘A’ Head Coach

India A squad for5 one-day games: Ishan Kishan (C & WK), Anmolpreet Singh, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Deepak Hooda, Ricky Bhui, Shubman Gill, Shivam Dube, Shreyas Gopal, Washington Sundar, Mayank Markande, Tushar Deshpande, Sandeep Warrier, Ishan Porel, Prashant Chopra

Read Also : SLC organises important tours for second-string teams

India A squad for 2 unofficial Tests: Priyank Panchal (C), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Anmolpreet Singh, Ricky Bhui, Siddhesh Lad, Rinku Singh, Shivam Dube, Srikar Bharat (WK), Rahul Chahar, Jayant Yadav, Aditya Sarwate, Sandeep Warrier, Ankit Rajpoot, Ishan Porel


  • 25 May 2019 – 28 May 2019 – First 4-day game – Belgaum
  • 31 May 2019 – 03 June 2019 – Second 4-day game – Hubli
  • 6 June 2019 – First One day game – Hubli
  • 8 June 2019 – Second One day game – Hubli
  • 10 June 2019 – Third One day game – Hubli
  • 13 June 2019 – Fourth One day game – Belgaum
  • 15 June 2019 – Fifth One day game – Belgaum