S. Thomas’ takes upper hand against Mahinda on day one

Under 19 ‘Division 1’ Cricket Tournament 2018/19


Six matches of the Singer Schools ‘Under 19 Division 1’ Cricket Tournament 2018/19 were conducted today around the island.

St. Anthony’s College, Wattala vs Zahira College, Colombo

Traditional fixture between St. Anthony’s College and Zahira College concluded today in a draw at St. Anthony’s ground in Wattala. However, the first innings points were won by St. Anthony’s College. After been put into bat first, St. Anthony’s College posted only 138 runs on the board for their first innings. Joel Pinto (49) and Nisal Silva (29) top scored for the Antonians.

Read: Gurukula College takes honors in drawn game

Off spinner Mohamed Imthiyas was instrumental in causing the batting collapse of St. Anthony’s College as he took 7 scalps for 25 runs. In reply, Zahira batsmen also struggled with the bat as they were bundled out for just 89 runs. Ashen Malith was the pick of the bowlers for the Antonians as he took 3 wickets for just 14 runs. St. Anthony’s College began their second innings 49 runs ahead and posted 149 runs all-out, setting a target of 199 runs for the visitors. Zahira College batsmen made 100 runs for the loss of 4 wickets when umpires called stumps on day two.

Brief scores

St. Anthony’s College – 138 (44.3) Joel Pinto 46, Nisal Silva 29, Mohamed Imthiyas 7/25 & 149 (63) Kaveesha Dulanjana 51, Ashen Malith 30*, Joel Pinto 21, Mohamed Dilhan 3/31, Mohamed Rifath 3/43, Mohamed Imthiyas 3/51

Zahira College – 89 (20.5) Ridmika Nimesh 32, Dulsara Saminda 23, Ashen Malith 3/14, Vishal Silva 2/13, Sanchitha Hirushan 2/14, Avishka Tharindu 2/18 & 100/4 (21) Mohamed Shamas 55, Sanchitha Hirushan 2/10, Kaveesha Dulanjana 2/20

Result – Match Drawn (St. Anthony’s College won first innings points)

Maris Stella College, Negombo vs Thurstan College, Colombo

Traditional fixture between Maris Stella College and Thurstan College commenced today at Thurstan ground in Colombo. Thurstan College skipper won the toss and asked the visitors to bat first. Marist Stella College posted 244 runs all-out for their first innings. Kevin Perera starred with the bat for the visitors scoring a brilliant 91 runs.

Read: St. Sylvester’s College take 1st innings points in drawn game

In reply, the hosts managed to finish day one scoring 27 runs without losing any wicket. Match will continue tomorrow for day two.

Brief scores

Maris Stella College – 244 (55.3) Kevin Perera 91, Sahan Perera 48, Ravindu Fernando 36, Amantha Perera 29, Ayesh Harshana 2/37

Thurstan College – 27/0 (8)

Kingswood College, Kandy vs Wesley College, Colombo

Traditional fixture between Kingswood College and Wesley College commenced today at University ground in Peradeniya. Wesley College skipper won the toss and opted to field first. The decision paid off as they were able to restrict Kingswood College to 112 runs. Thenuka Perera bowled extremely well taking 5 wickets for 13 runs.

In reply, Wesley College batsmen struggled at the crease as they finished day one on 25 runs for 5 wickets in 11 overs. Uthpala Jayalath took 3 wickets for 15 runs for the lads from Kandy. Match will continue tomorrow for day two.

Brief scores

Kingswood College – 112 (44.2) Devinda Dissanayake 34, Dumindu Dhamishka 20, Thenuka Perera 5/13, Denuwana Mendis 3/13

Wesley College – 25/5 (11) Uthpala Jayalath 3/15, Harshana Wickramasinghe 2/04

Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya vs Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala

Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya dominate day one in their traditional fixture against Maliyadeva College which commenced today at Maliyadeva College ground in Kurunegala. Visiting skipper won the toss and had no hesitation to bat first on the batting friendly surface. They made 300 runs on the board for their first innings. Vihanga Gunarathne top scored with a knock of 62 runs.

Read: Abishek Liyanarachchi puts DS on top

Maduranga Naveen starred with the ball for the hosts picking up 5 wickets for 99 runs. In reply, Maliyadeva College batsmen finished day one on 19 runs for no wicket. Match will continue tomorrow for day two.

Brief scores

Dharmapala College – 300 (83.1) Vihanga Gunarathne 62, Sanchana Lanka 38, Savindu Sandaruwan 38, Dulaj Egodage 32, Amila Dayanka 22, Avishka Hasaranga 21, Maduranga Naveen 5/99, Nisanjaya Hettiarachchi 2/52

Maliyadeva College – 19/0 (9)

Lumbini College, Colombo vs Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa

Group B fixture between Prince of Wales College and Lumbini College commenced today at BRC ground in Colombo. After being put into bat, Lumbini College put on 208 runs all-out for their first innings. Prabath Madusanka (76) and Kavindu Fernando (38) top scored for Lumbini College.

Read: St. Aloysius registers innings victory over St. Mary’s

Kavinda Dilshan was the pick of the bowlers for Cambrians as he grabbed 5 scalps for 63 runs. In reply, Prince of Wales College was 16 runs for 1 wicket at stumps on day one. Match will continue tomorrow for day two.

Brief scores

Lumbini College – 208 (71.4) Prabath Madushanka 76, Kavindu Fernando 38, S B Gamlath 25, Maduramya Wijesiri 22, Kavinda Dilshan 5/63, Kaumal Nanayakkara 3/69, Suwath Mendis 2/32

Prince of Wales College – 16/1 (7.1)

Mahinda College, Galle vs S. Thomas’ College, Mount Lavinia

Traditional fixture between Mahinda College and S. Thomas’ College commenced today at Galle International Cricket Stadium. After winning the toss, Mahinda College chose to bat first but the decision backfired as they were bowled out for just 139 runs. Thevin Eriyagama showed a disciplined bowling effort picking up 5 scalps for just 9 runs.

In reply, S. Thomas’ College batsmen posted 135 runs for 6 wickets when umpires called stumps on day one. Sithara Hapuhinna (58) and Krishan Munasinghe (41) top scored for the visitors. Ovindu Kavindya and Subanu Rajapakshe picked up 2 wickets each for the hosts. Match will continue tomorrow for day two.

Brief scores

Mahinda College – 139 (54.1) Lahiru Bashana 29, Ashen Kandambi 29, Hansika Welihinda 21, Vinura Dulsara 21, Thevin Eriyagama 5/09, Dellon Peiris 2/45

S.Thomas College – 135/6 (35.3) Sithara Hapuhinna 58, Krishan Munasinghe 41, Ovindu Kavindya 2/17, Subanu Rajapaskha 2/25