Chamikara Edirisinghe spins Saracens victory; Dinesh Chandimal strokes 163*

SLC Major League Tier ‘A’


Six group stage matches of Tier A of SLC Major League tournament were played today at Colombo, Katunayake and Maggona. Three encounters from Group A and Group B were played. The highlight of the day was the magical spell bowled by the left-arm spinner Chamikara Edirisinghe who took 8 scalps to guide Saracens SC to an innings victory over Ragama CC. 

Moors Sports Club vs Burgher Recreation Club

The Burgher Recreation Club registered a 2-wicket win over Moors Sports Club in their Group A encounter which worked off at BRC Grounds in Colombo. The hosts were 2 runs for zero wickets when they resumed day three chasing 253 runs to win. 

Read: Sachithra Serasinghe puts Moors on top; Shehan Jayasuriya strokes a ton

The chase was not an easy one as they kept losing wickets at regular intervals but they finally pulled off the victory due to the well-compiled half-tons made by Sri Lanka capped Bhanuka Rajapakshe and Nisal Francisco. 

Brief Scores

Moors Sports Club – 353 (77.3) Sachithra Serasinghe 94, Pabasara Waduge 76, Adeesha Thilanchana 64, Praveen Jayawickrama 30*, Chathura Randunu 20, Duvindu Tillakaratne 3/103, Kevin Koththigoda 2/34, Tharindu Kaushal 2/58, Sohaibullah 2/66 & 137 (31.1) Pabasara Waduge 74, Ramesh Mendis 36, Tharindu Kaushal 4/30, Duvindu Thilakarathne 3/60, Savin Gunasekara 2/06 

Burgher Recreation Club – 238 (64.5) Raminda Wijesooriya 61, Kevin Koththigoda 60, Shanuka Dulaj 38, Deshan Dias 31, Sachithra Serasinghe 5/80, Adeesha Thilanchana 2/24, Ramesh Mendis 2/58 & 253/8 (61) Bhanuka Rajapaksha 69, Nisal Francisco 60, Raminda Wijesuriya 35, Kevin Koththigoda 34*, Ramesh Mendis 2/70, Ayana Siriwardana 3/72

Result – Burgher Recreation Club won by 2 wickets 

Army Cricket Club vs Negombo Cricket Club

Negombo Cricket Club registered an 8-wicket victory over Army Cricket Club in their Group A encounter which ended today at Moors Grounds in Colombo. After being 74 for no wickets overnight, the Soldiers displayed a strong batting performance today posting 398 runs on the board. 

Sri Lanka national test capped Dinesh Chandimal stroked an unbeaten 163 runs finding his rhythm back in red-ball cricket. Pathum Dilshan also starred with the bat scoring a half-ton for Army CC. However, Negombo batsmen had to get only 70 runs to win the match which they did quite comprehensively in 7.3 overs. 

Brief Scores

Army Cricket Club – 155 (42.1) Himasha Liyanage 56, Upul Indrasiri 3/73, Saad Nasim 2/04, Dilshan Munaweera 2/29 & 398 (97.5) Dinesh Chandimal 163*, Pathum Dilshan 91, Lakshan Edirisinghe 38, Seekkuge Prasanna 34, Upul Indrasiri 3/155, Roshen Fernando 3/65, Dilshan Munaweera 2/27

Negombo Cricket Club – 484/9d (112.3) Saad Nasim 139, Angelo Jayasinghe 87, Ashen Silva 67, Upul Indrasiri 63, Dilshan Munaweera 40, Roscoe Thattil 32, Seekkuge Prasanna 2/146, Dushan Vimikthi 2/83, Malka Madusanka 3/126 & 74/2 (7.3) Saad Nasim 40*, Pasindu Lakshanka 21*

Result – Negombo CC won by 8 wickets 

Sinhalese Sports Club vs Colombo Colts Cricket Club  

Sinhalese Sports Club defeated Colts Cricket Club by 88 runs in their Group A encounter which was worked off today at Colts Grounds in Colombo. After being 114 for 5 overnight, the visitors were bowled out for 175 runs today setting a target of 294 runs to win for Colombo Colts Cricket Club. 

Read More: Kasun Rajitha demolishes Ragama CC; Sahan Arachchige strokes a ton

Off-spinner Dilruwan Perera and left-arm spinner Prabath Jayasuriya picked up 4 wickets each for the hosts. Vishad Randika (69) and Dhananjaya Lakshan (54) tried their best to chase down the target of 294 to no avail. They fell short by 88 runs. Off-spinner Sachithra Senanayaka excelled with the ball taking 5 scalps for 59 runs. 

Brief Scores

Sinhalese Sports Club – 301 (76) Sandun Weerakkody 55, Krishan Sanjula 54, Sammu Ashan 41, Sachithra Senanayake 39, Kavindu Kulasekara 36, Charith Asalanka 32, Prabath Jayasuriya 5/89, Dhananjaya Lakshan 2/49 & 175 (56.5) Sachithra Senanayaka 33, Sahan Arachchige 32, Akash Senarathne 27*, Nuwanindu Fernando 21, Dilruwan Perera 4/45, Prabath Jayasuriya 4/55

Colombo Colts Cricket Club – 183 (58.1) Heshan Danushka 66, Dhananjaya Lakshan 26, Priyamal Perera 25, Sachithra Senanayake 5/52, Akash Senarathne 3/24 & 205 (73.2) Vishad Randika 69, Dhananjaya Lakshan 54, Sachithra Senanayaka 5/59, Dhammika Prasad 2/27, Jeffry Vandersay 2/43

Result – Sinhalese Sports Club won by 88 runs 

Saracens Sports Club vs Ragama Cricket Club 

Saracens Sports Club expansively defeated Ragama Cricket Club registering an innings victory today at Maggona. After being 321 for 5 overnight, Saracens managed to add only 52 runs today for the remaining 5 wickets. Navindu Vithanage, Sithara Gimhan, and Chamikara Edirisinghe shone with the bat scoring half-tons. 

Read Also: Sarathchandra & Shanaka hit centuries; Chilaw & CCC register wins

Off-spinner Kalhara Senarathne and left-arm spinner Amila Aponso starred with the ball sharing 9 wickets among them. The Ragama batsmen had to bat out of their skin in the second innings to avoid an innings defeat but failed again with the bat as they were bowled out for 144 runs. The left-arm spinner Chamikara Edirisinghe ripped through their batting lineup taking 8 wickets for just 32 runs. 

Brief Scores

Ragama Cricket Club – 119 (53) Lahiru Thirimanne 28, Kasun Rajitha 8/31 & 144 (47.2) Lahiru Thirimanne 45, Ishan Jayarathne 39, Udara Jayasundera 27, Chamikara Edirisinghe 8/32 

Saracens Sports Club – 373 (120.1) Navindu Vithanage 83, Sithara Gimhan 74, Chamikara Edirisinghe 55, Gamindu Kanishka 45, Milinda Siriwardana 41, Pramod Maduwantha 34, Kalhara Senarathne 6/127 Amila Aponso 3/40

Result – Saracens Sports Club won by an innings & 110 runs 

Nondescripts Cricket Club vs Chilaw Marians Cricket Club 

The Group B encounter between Nondescripts Cricket Club and Chilaw Marians Cricket Club ended in a draw today at Katunayake. NCC batsmen resumed day three on 16 for no wickets and posted 314 for 8 at the close of play. Mahela Udawatta stroked an unbeaten century while Lahiru Udara and Pathum Nissanka chipped in with half-tons. 

Brief Scores

Nondescripts Cricket Club – 312 (79) Sahan Arachchige 128, Chamika Gunasekara 50, Chathuranga De Silva 47, Asitha Fernando 5/46, Nimsara Atharagalla 2/58, Shehan Jayasuriya 2/90 & 314/8 (78.1) Mahela Udawatta 117*, Lahiru Udara 75, Pathum Nissanka 73, Angelo Perera 26, Nimesh Vimukthi 4/86, Lasith Croospulle 3/35 

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club – 304 (88.1) Shehan Jayasuriya 120, Pulina Tharanga 56, Lasith Croospulle 36, Sanoj Darshika 38, Dilesh Gunarathne 5/52, Chaturanga De Silva 3/105

Result – Match Drawn

Lankan Cricket Club vs Tamil Union Cricket Club 

The Group B encounter between Lankan Cricket Club and Tamil Union Cricket Club commenced today at CCC Grounds in Colombo. After being put in to bat first, Lankan Cricket Club managed to put 266 for 9 at stumps on day one. Primosh Perera and Geeth Kumara starred with the bat scoring half-tons while leg spinner Jeewan Mendis and seamer Suranga Lakmal shone with the ball sharing 5 wickets among them. 

Brief Scores

Lankan Cricket Club – 266/9 (90) Primosh Perera 64, Geeth Kumara 69, Chanaka Ruwansiri 43, Damitha Silva 26, Keshan Wijerathne 20*, Jeewan Mendis 3/65, Suranga Lakmal 2/42 

Stumps – Day 1

>>For More Cricket News<<