Sachithra Serasinghe puts Moors on top; Shehan Jayasuriya strokes a ton

SLC Major League Tier ‘A’

Club Cricket

Five group stage matches of Tier A of the SLC Major League Tournament continued today for day two at Colombo, Katunayake and Maggona. Three encounters from Group A and two encounters from Group B were played. The all-round brilliance of Sachithra Serasinghe puts Moors Sports Club on top against Burgher Recreation Club, while national capped left-hander Shehan Jayasuriya shone with the bat, scoring a ton for Chilaw Marians Cricket Club. 

Kasun Rajitha demolishes Ragama CC; Sahan Arachchige strokes a ton

Army Cricket Club vs Negombo Cricket Club

The Group A encounter between Army Cricket Club and Negombo Cricket Club continued today for day two at Moors Grounds in Colombo. The Negombo batsmen resumed day two on 164 for 2 and declared their first innings at 484 for 9. 

Pakistani cricketer Saad Nasim was the top-scorer as he made a classy 139, while Angelo Jayasinghe, Ashen Silva and Upul Indrasiri contributed with half-tons for Negombo CC. The soldiers began their second innings 329 runs behind and posted 74 for no wicket at stumps on day two.  

Brief Scores

Army Cricket Club – 155 (42.1) Himasha Liyanage 56, Upul Indrasiri 3/73, Saad Nasim 2/04, Dilshan Munaweera 2/29 & 74/0 (18) Pathum Dilshan 45*, Lakshan Edirisinghe 29* 

Negombo Cricket Club – 484/9d (112.3) Saad Nasim 139, Angelo Jayasinghe 87, Ashen Silva 67, Upul Indrasiri 63, Dilshan Munaweera 40, Roscoe Thattil 32, Seekkuge Prasanna 2/146, Dushan Vimikthi 2/83, Malka Madusanka 3/126 

Stumps – Day 2

Photos: Negombo CC Vs Army SC – Major League Tier A Tournament 2019/20

Moors Sports Club vs Burgher Recreation Club  

The Group A encounter between Moors Sports Club and Burgher Recreation Club continued today for day two at BRC Grounds in Colombo. After being 23 for 1 overnight, the BRC batsmen were bowled out for 238 runs today, with Raminda Wijesooriya (61) and Kevin Koththigoda (60) scoring half-tons. 

Photos: BRC Vs Moors SC | Major League Tier A Tournament 2019/20

The off-spinner Sachithra Serasinghe, who shone with the bat yesterday, showed his tricks with the ball by taking 5 scalps for 80 runs for the visitors. The Moors batsmen began their second innings 115 runs ahead, but posted only 137 runs, setting a target of 253 for Burgher Recreation Club. Off-spinner Tharindu Kaushal and left-arm spinner Duvindu Thilakarathne shared 7 wickets among them. 

Brief Scores

Moors Sports Club – 353 (77.3) Sachithra Serasinghe 94, Pabasara Waduge 76, Adeesha Thilanchana 64, Praveen Jayawickrama 30*, Chathura Randunu 20, Duvindu Tillakaratne 3/103, Kevin Koththigoda 2/34, Tharindu Kaushal 2/58, Sohaibullah 2/66 & 137 (31.1) Pabasara Waduge 74, Ramesh Mendis 36, Tharindu Kaushal 4/30, Duvindu Thilakarathne 3/60, Savin Gunasekara 2/06 

Burgher Recreation Club – 238 (64.5) Raminda Wijesooriya 61, Kevin Koththigoda 60, Shanuka Dulaj 38, Deshan Dias 31, Sachithra Serasinghe 5/80, Adeesha Thilanchana 2/24, Ramesh Mendis 2/58 & 2/0 (3) 


Stumps – Day 2

Sarathchandra & Shanaka hit centuries; Chilaw & CCC register wins

Sinhalese Sports Club vs Colombo Colts Cricket Club  

The Group A encounter between Sinhalese Sports Club and Colts Cricket Club continued today for day two at Colts Grounds in Colombo. After being 14 for 2 overnight, the hosts were bowled out for 183 runs today. Heshan Danushka was the chief contributor with the bat as he made 66 runs for the hosts. 

The off-spinner Sachithra Senanayake excelled with the ball, taking 5 scalps for 52 runs for the visitors. The SSC batsmen began their second innings 118 runs ahead and posted 114 for 5 at the close of play on day two. Off-spinner Dilruwan Perera was the pick of the bowlers as he took 3 scalps for 27 runs. 

Brief Scores

Sinhalese Sports Club – 301 (76) Sandun Weerakkody 55, Krishan Sanjula 54, Sammu Ashan 41, Sachithra Senanayake 39, Kavindu Kulasekara 36, Charith Asalanka 32, Prabath Jayasuriya 5/89, Dhananjaya Lakshan 2/49 & 114/5 (39) Sachithra Senanayaka 33, Nuwanindu Fernando 21, Dilruwan Perera 3/27, Prabath Jayasuriya 2/46 

Colombo Colts Cricket Club – 183 (58.1) Heshan Danushka 66, Dhananjaya Lakshan 26, Priyamal Perera 25, Sachithra Senanayake 5/52, Akash Senarathne 3/24 

Stumps – Day 2

Photos: Colts CC v SSC | SLC Major League Tier ‘A’ tournament 2019/20

Saracens Sports Club vs Ragama Cricket Club 

The Group B encounter between Saracens Sports Club and Ragama Cricket Club continued today for day two at Maggona. After being 134 runs for 1 wicket overnight, Saracens Sports Club finished day two strongly by putting 321 runs for 5 wickets. Navindu Vithanage, Sithara Gimhan and Chamikara Edirisinghe starred with the bat, scoring half-tons.  

Brief Scores

Ragama Cricket Club – 119 (53) Lahiru Thirimanne 28, Kasun Rajitha 8/31

Saracens Sports Club – 321/5 (106) Navindu Vithanage 83, Sithara Gimhan 74, Chamikara Edirisinghe 55, Gamindu Kanishka 45, Milinda Siriwardana 22*, Amila Aponso 2/36, Kalhara Senarathne 2/106


Stumps – Day 2

Sandun Weerakkody & Vishad Randika stroke tons; Suranga Lakmal takes 5-fer

Nondescripts Cricket Club vs Chilaw Marians Cricket Club 

The Group B encounter between Nondescripts Cricket Club and Chilaw Marians Cricket Club continued today for day two at Katunayake. The Chilaw Marians resumed day two on 35 for 1 and posted 304 runs, with the skipper Shehan Jayasuriya scoring a century and Pulina Tharanga contributing with a half-ton. 

The left-arm seamer Dilesh Gunarathne was the pick of the bowlers as he grabbed a 5-wicket haul for 52 runs, while left-arm spinner Chaturanga De Silva gave him good support at the other end by taking 3 scalps for 105 runs. 

Brief Scores

Nondescripts Cricket Club – 312 (79) Sahan Arachchige 128, Chamika Gunasekara 50, Chathuranga De Silva 47, Asitha Fernando 5/46, Nimsara Atharagalla 2/58, Shehan Jayasuriya 2/90 & 16/0 (6) 

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club – 304 (88.1) Shehan Jayasuriya 120, Pulina Tharanga 56, Lasith Croospulle 36, Sanoj Darshika 38, Dilesh Gunarathne 5/52, Chaturanga De Silva 3/105


Stumps – Day 2