Dushan Hemantha powers BRC to win; Nalin Priyadarshana wrecks Colts

Major Club Limited Over Tournament 2021/22


Burgher Recreation Club, Police Sports Club and Air Force Sports Club registered wins in the only three encounters of SLC Major Club Limited Over Tournament played today at Colombo and Welisara. 

BRC managed to record a thumping win over Nugegoda S & WC thanks to the brilliant century made by the 20-year old England batter Dan Mousley who scored 105 runs off 94 balls with 8 fours and 5 sixes.

Read more: Whirlwind Shammu Ashan fifty powers SSC to win

Along with Mousley, Dushan Hemanth starred with both bat and ball for BRC scoring 46 runs and taking 4 wickets with the ball.

Colts CC a renowned club in Sri Lankan domestic cricket was defeated by the hands of Police SC today. The experienced campaigner Tillakaratne Sampath, who is the second-highest run-getter of the tournament starred with the bat for the cops with a half-ton while the off-spinner Nalin Priyadarshana delivered with the ball taking a 5-fer.

Read more: Thikshila De Silva blitz powers Chilaw CC to win

The Group A encounter between Navy SC and Air Force SC witnessed a thrilling finish as the latter managed to hold their nerve to register a 2-wicket win at the end. A stalwart of domestic cricket, the 40-year old left-arm spinner Gayan Sirisoma was the best man on show as he snared 4 wickets for 15 runs representing Air Force SC.

Brief Scores

Burgher Recreation Club – 232 (33.5) Dan Mousley 105, Dushan Hemantha 46, Lahiru Samarakoon 25, Rahul Gunasekera 3/35, Nilanka Premaratne 3/50, Sahan Nanayakkara 2/30

Nugegoda Sports & Welfare Club – 98 (23.3) Raveen Sayer 23, Dushan Hemantha 4/34, Lahiru Samarakoon 2/13

Result – BRC won by 134 runs

Police Sports Club – 171 (33) Tillakaratne Sampath 51, Nadeera Balasooriya 32*, Sujan Mayura 23, Akila Dananjaya 3/31, Rohan Sanjaya 2/32

Colombo Colts Cricket Club – 109 (21.1) Sangeeth Cooray 33, Nalin Priyadarshana 5/39, Lahiru Diyantha 3/20

Result – Police SC won by 62 runs

Navy Sports Club – 111 (38.1) Madura Madushanka 35, Gayan Sirisoma 4/15, Madushanka Premaratne 3/25, Dulanjana Mendis 2/22

Air Force Sports Club – 112/8 (29.1) Udayawansha Parakrama 21, Movin Subasingha 21, Pasindu Madushan 3/29, Aravinda Akurugoda 3/28, Sudara Dakshina 2/30

Result – Air Force SC won by 2 wickets