The national selectors named the 15-man Sri Lanka squad for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 on Monday, with Lasith Malinga making a return to the ODI set-up after a lapse of nearly 2 years.

The squad features 8 batsmen, 5 pace bowlers and 2 spinners.

Angelo Mathews has returned to full fitness after missing out the last few series’ due to numerous leg injuries and will lead the strong Lankan team with Upul Tharanga having being named as Vice-Captain.

National Selectors, who would you pick?

With only a few days left for the announcement of the 15-man Sri Lanka ODI squad for the ICC..

Apart from this, middle order batsman Chamara Kapugedara too has been included in the squad after making two blistering centuries during the ongoing SLC Provincial tournament.

The squad will have a six-day high-intensity and altitude training in Kandy and Diyatalawa from 9th May before leaving the island on 18th May. Firstly, Sri Lanka will play two practice games against Scotland and then take on Australia (26th May) and New Zealand (30th May) in the official ICC Champions Trophy warm-up games.

Read: Should Malinga play the ICC Champions Trophy 2017?

Sri Lanka will battle it out with South Africa, India and Pakistan in group B during this eight-nation tournament. India won the last Champions Trophy held in United Kingdom in 2013.

Sri Lanka squad 

Angelo Mathews (Captain), Upul Tharanga (Vice-Captain), Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Janith Perera, Kusal Mendis, Chamara Kapugedara, Asela Gunarathne, Dinesh Chandimal, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thisara Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Seekkuge Prasanna

Standby on Tour – Dilruwan Perera, Dhanushka Gunathilake
Standby – Vikum Sanjaya, Lahiru Kumara, Sachith Pathirana, Milinda Siriwardene, Akila Dhananjaya

Sri Lanka’s fixtures in Champions Trophy 2017

Sri Lanka vs South Africa – 3rd June – The Oval, London
Sri Lanka vs India – 8th June – The Oval, London.
Sri Lanka vs Pakistan – 12th June – Cardiff Wales Stadium, Cardiff.