Shanaka and Prasanna secure Nothern win despite Mendis’ ton

Army Commander's T20 League 2020


The 4th day of the Army Commanders League was worked out today at Dombagoda Sri Lanka Army Ordinance Corps Ground, as the Western Warriors and Northern Warriors managed to win their respective matches.  

Read More : Seekkuge Prasanna’s Hattrick seals Northern Warriors’ win

Western Warriors v Southern Warriors 

The Skipper of Southern Warriors, Dinesh Chandimal, won the toss and elected to bowl first. 

Southern Warriors XI – Dinesh Chandimal (C), Suranga Lakmal, Wanindu Hasaranga, Priyantha Rathnayaka, Gihan Koralage, Malinda Abhishek, Thushan Zoysa, Madushan Bothotage, Jagath Rajapaksa, Suminda Lakshan, Shehada Zoysa 

Western Warriors XI – Thisara Perera (C), Avishka Fernando, Dhammika Prasad, Lakshan Edirisinghe, Samitha Wanigasekara, Pathum Kumara, Harshajith Virendra, Yashoda Mendis, Gayan Chandraboos, Malka Madushanka, Maheesh Theekshana

Western Warriors opener Avishka Fernando contributed in rich form again as he struck a 38-ball 56 – his 3rd 50+ score in the 5 innings. The Westerners managed to pile 175 at the end of 20 overs but table toppers Southern Warriors could not even play out the 20 overs in their chase. Skipper Chandimal was the only one who made an impactful innings as the other failed to get going. The Southerners were all out for 120 as they dropped down from their position of first of the points table.

Video – වනිඳු හසරංගගේ සුපිරි තුන් ඉරියව් දස්කම් නැවතත්

Brief Scores

Western Warriors 175/8 (20) – A Fernando 56, M Bothotage 2/39
Southern Warriors 120/10 (17.3) – D Chandimal 67, H Virendra 3/32, T Perera 2/11

Western Warriors won by 55 runs.  

Eastern Warriors Skipper Asela Gunaratne won the toss and elected to bat first.

Northern Warriors XI – Seekkuge Prasanna (C), Dasun Shanaka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Ashan Randika, Shihan de Silva, Heshan Hettiarachchi, Janaka Sampath, Tharindu Kaushal, Dilshan Madushanka, Vinod Perera, Shehan Fernando 

Eastern Warriors XI – Asela Gunaratne (C), Sandun Weerakkody, Kusal Mendis, Thulina Dilshan, Pathum Dilshan, Himasha Liyanage, Dushan Vimukthi, Rednaraja Thenudaran, Hashan Sandeepa, Kamalanath Thanushan, Sanjeew Coomaraswami

Kusal Mendis, who hit 3 centuries including a double ton in the recently concluded Tier A Major Club tournament, added another century against the Northern Warriors today. His unbeaten knock of a 66-ball 113 included 11 boundaries and 5 sixes. However, he did not receive support from the other end as the team could only reach 166/5.

In the reply innings, national caps Seekkuge Prasanna and Dasun Shanaka played vital roles as both scored half-centuries, taking the Northerners to a 2-wicket victory in the 20th over.

Video – ක්‍රිකට් පිටිය කළඹමින් Rednaraja Thenudaran රැකගත් සුපිරි උඩ පන්දුව

Brief Scores

Eastern Warriors 166/5 (20) – K Mendis 133*, S Prasanna 1/22
Northern Warriors – 167/8(19.3) – S Prasanna 67, D Shanaka 59, H Sandeep 2/18

Northern Warriors won by 2 wickets 

 The last 2 games of the group stage will be played tomorrow (11) at the same ground.

Points Table 

Team  NR  Pts  NRR 
Western Warriors  5 12  1.218
Southern Warriors  3 2 12 -0.279
Northern Warriors  3 2 12 -0.825
Eastern Warriors  -0.157\

>>Click Here For More Cricket News<<