A total of 16 records were established at the 45th National Sports Festival Games, which was held over the weekend (6th & 7th July) at the Sugathadasa Indoor Swimming Complex.

Read More : Lankan swimmers on the hunt for qualification

Five provinces competed at the annual event this year with Western Province pulling ahead by a mile. Western Province topped the combined medal count with 64 total medals at the end of the 2nd day.

The 64 medals included 27 Gold, 23 Silver and 14 Bronze medals. Central Province finished in 2nd place with 5 Gold, 9 Silver and 10 Bronze medals. 

Final Medal Table

Team Gold Silver Bronze Total
Western Province 27 23 14 64
Central Province 5 9 10 24
North Western Province 2 1 5 8
Southern Province 0 1 4 5
Sabaragamuwa Province 0 0 1 1

Akalanka Peiris had a stellar run in the event, bottling up 3 meet records in the Men’s 50m Backstroke, 100m Backstroke and the Men’s 50m Butterfly. Swimming a 26.80second lap in the Men’s 50m Backstroke Peiris renewed his previous record of 26.88sec at the meet.

Read More : Akalanka doubles up with a Silver

In the Mens 100m Backstroke, Peiris already held the record at 59.55seconds. At this years’ meet, Peiris clocked in 59.11seconds in his final lap to renew his record.

Akalanka’s 3rd and final record came in the Boys 50m Butterfly event which was already in his name since 2017. His final timing clocked at 25.27seconds renewed the previous timing of 25.38seconds.

Ramudi Samarakoon of Visakha Vidyalaya too, had a stunning meet this year, with 2 meet records to her name in the Women’s 50m and 100m Breastroke events. Both her achievements were renewals of her own records at the meet.

She clocked in at 35.24seconds in the 50m Breaststroke where her previous record was 36.40seconds. Her final timing in the 100m Breaststroke read as 1:17.08 min, marking her second Gold and record at the event.

Read More: Swimmers geared for World Uni Games 2019

Dilanka Shehan, Dilrukshi Perera and Sandu Savindi eached finished with 2 records to their name in their respective events. N M Perera, Sandev Senarathne and Shevinda De Silva also managed to mark 1 record each to their names.

Akalanka Peiris, Sandev Senarathne, K C Dalpathadu and Shevinda De Silva teamed up in the Men’s 200m Medley Relay to establish another record by a solid margin. The previous record, also held by Western Province, was swum at 1:53.05min. Setting a new record, the 2019 quartet finished the race in 1:51.43min.

Dilanka Shehan, K G Silva, Sandev Senarathne and Shevinda De Silva also teamed up to establish a new meet record in the Mens 200m Freestyle Relay with a timing of 1:41.73min. The previous record was held at 1:42.02min by a team representing Western Province.

Read More : 3 medals for Sri Lanka at Singapore Nationals

Final list of Record Holders for the 2019 meet

Event Record Holder Timing
Men’s 1500m Freestyle Dilanka Shehan 17:14.69min
Women’s 100m Freestyle Sandu Savindi 1:00.56min
Women’s 50m Butterfly Dilrukshi Perera 30.34sec
Men’s 100m Backstroke Akalanka Peiris 39.11sec
Women’s 200m Butterfly N M Perera 2:43.80sec
Men’s 400m Freestyle Dilanka Shehan 4:17.99min
Women’s 50m Breaststroke Ramudi Samarakoon 35.24sec
Men’s 100m Butterfly Sandev Senarathne 58.08sec
Women’s 100m Butterfly Sandu Savindi 1:06.55min
Men’s 200m Backstroke  Shevinda De Silva 2:16.76min
Women’s 100m Breaststroke Ramudi Samarakoon 1:17.08min
Women’s 50m Freestyle Dilrukshi Perera 27.76sec
Men’s 50m Backstroke Akalanka Peiris 26.80sec
Men’s 50m Butterfly Akalanka Peiris 25.27sec
Men’s 200m Medley Western Province 1:51.43min
Men’s 200m Freestyle Western Province 1:41.73min

With 15 points each to their names, Akalanka Peiris and Ramudi Samarakoon were given ‘Best Swimmer’ awards in the Men’s and Women’s categories respectively.

>>Click here for more Swimming News<<