With prominent international tourneys fast approaching, Sri Lanka’s best men and women in pool will be vying for qualifying timings at the Neo Garden 15th Singapore National Swimming Championship 2019.

Read More : SAAC entries on hold; SLASU rejected by AASF

The annual tournament has been graced by some of the country’s Lions and Lionesses in the past and this year in particular will see some new faces in the mix. While Commonwealth and Asian Games represents Akalanka Peiris and Cherantha De Silva will be returning to Singapore to earn qualification for the upcoming 18th FINA World Aquatics Championships, many others have different goals to swim for.

Sri Lanka’s star in the modern era, Matthew Abeysinghe will be exempt from having to go through the hurdles as his existing points will safely place him in the Championship. However, his younger brother Kyle will be sitting out due to a previous injury, rendering him unfit to swim.

Cherantha De Silva will be returning to Singapore from the Thanyapura Training Centre in Phuketh, Thailand where he is permanently stationed on a professional swimming scholarship.

Read More : As the water drains for 2018…

There will be a few more first-time contestants in the tournament, who’ve confirmed their participation up to date. The list includes Visakhian powerhouses Ramudi Samarakoon and Ganga Seneviratne along with National record holder Dilrukshi Perera of Mahamaya College, Kandy.

Another strong force from St. Peter’s College, who holds multiple national records, Akalanka Peiris will also hoping to rack up points for an entry to the FINA World Championships, in his pet events. 2018 Asian Games represent Kavindra Nugawela will also be competing for points.

Read More : Visakha and Ananda win Short Course Nationals 2019

Brothers Dhinal and Kavin Weerasinghe from Killer Whale Aquatics will make their debut appearance in Singapore along with Sandhu Savidi, Akeleshwar Premanadan and Revan Senaratne.

Final List as of 13th June

  • Ramudi Samarakoon
  • Ganga Seneviratne
  • Dilrukshi Perera
  • Sandu Savindi
  • Akalanka Peiris
  • Cherantha De Silva
  • Kavindra Nugawela
  • Akeleshwar Premanadan
  • Kavin Weerasinghe
  • Dhinal Weerasinghe
  • Revan Senaratne

Video – සති තුනෙන් ලංකාවට රන් පදක්කම් තුනක් දිනා ගත් කිමිදුම් විරුවා

Stay logged onto ThePapare.com for all updates and news on the Neo Garden 15th Singapore National Swimming Championship 2019!

>>Click here for more Swimming News<<