The ‘Singer’ under 19 division 1 schools cricket tournament 2017/18 is set to kick off in September.

Nipun Ransika crowned Dialog 4G Schoolboy Cricketer 2017

Sri Lanka U19 and P. de. S Kularathne College Ambalangoda fast bowler Nipun Ransika haS…

According to the Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association (SLSCA), 36 teams will once again battle it out in 4 groups, with each team playing 8 tournament games. The 4 groups were seeded from points gained in the group stages during last 2016/17 season.

Apart from the 8 matches, each school is expected to nominate 5 more traditional matches to be considered for the player and team performances at the end of the season. Schools can play as many matches possible to continue their traditional encounters.

“Last year only two teams from one group qualified to play the knockouts but this time, we have decided to make it four teams from each group in order to give more opportunities for the schools and increase the competitiveness.”  Secretary of SLSCA, Kapila Jayalath exclusively told

Each team must play a minimum of three tournament matches before the season halts for the G.C. E O/L examinations in December this year. After the resumption, all tournament matches are to be completed before the 15th February, 2018 and all traditional matches before the end of February next year.

After the ‘March Madness – The Big Match Season’ is over, the knockout games are expected to be played followed by the limited overs tournament.

Two teams, Anuradhapura Central College and Royal College, Colombo were demoted to division 2 from last season after finishing in the bottom of the entire points table while St. Thomas College, Matara and St. John’s College, Panadura have been promoted after becoming division 2 finalists.

Kalana Wijesiri bats Ananda College to league title

16-year old Kalana Wijesiri’s fighting and extraordinary century secured the ‘Singer’ U19 division 1 schools…

The fixtures will be finalized on 13th August at a fixture meeting with the participation of all masters-in-charge and coaches at St. Joseph’s College, Colombo 10.

Ananda College won the league championship last season beating Richmond College in the final while the latter won the limited-overs tournament beating Thurstan College in the 50-over final.

Group A

Thurstan College, Colombo, St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa, Trinity College, Kandy, St. Thomas College, Matara, Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda, Moratu Maha Vidyalaya, D.S Senanayake College, Colombo, St. Benedict’s College, Kotahena, Bandaranayake College, Gampaha.

Group B

Maris Stella College, Negombo, St. John’s College, Panadura, St. Aloysius’ College, Galle, Isipathana College, Colombo, Prince of Wales’ College, Moratuwa, St. Mary’s College, Kegalle, President’s College, Kotte, St. Anthony’s College, Wattala, Mahanama College, Colombo.

Group C

Richmond College, Galle, St. Peter’s College, Colombo, Nalanda College, Colombo, Gurukula College, Kelaniya, Dharmaraja College, Kandy, St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa, Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya, St. Servatius’ College, Matara, Wesley College, Colombo.

Group D

Ananda College, Colombo, S. Thomas’ College, Mount Lavinia, St. Joseph’s College, Colombo, Zahira College, Colombo, St. Sylvester’s College, Kandy, Mahinda College, Galle, De Mazenod College, Kandana, Lumbini College, Colombo, Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala.