Dharmaraja shocks Ananda with first innings victory

Under 19 ‘Division 1’ Cricket Tournament 2018/19


Five matches of the Singer Schools ‘Under 19 Division 1’ Cricket Tournament 2018/19 were conducted today around the island. Dharmaraja College managed to take first innings honors against a strong Ananda College line-up while left arm spinner Kanishka Maduwantha starred with the ball for St Peter’s, grabbing a 10-wicket haul against St. Benedict’s College.

Avishka Perera strokes blazing century as Nalanda takes honors

Six matches of the Singer Schools ‘Under 19 Division 1’ Cricket Tournament 2018/19..

St. Peter’s College, Colombo vs St. Benedict’s College, Colombo

St. Peter’s College managed to take major honors against St. Benedict’s College in their traditional fixture which concluded today at the St. Benedict’s College Grounds in Colombo. Peterite left arm spinner Kanishka Maduwantha was the star performer of the match as he picked up 10 wickets for 87 runs to dominate the Bens’ batsmen.    

Brief scores

St. Benedict’s College – 136 (60) Shehan Fernando 41, Kaveesha Jayathilake 29, Kanishka Maduwantha 5/29, Ruvin Senavirathne 2/42 & 182 (59.3) Ryan Johnpille 49, Shehan Fernando 44, Kavindu Perera 33, Maheesh Theekshana 22, Kanishka Maduwantha 5/58, Ruvin Senevirathne 3/21

St. Peter’s College – 227/6d (64) Santhush Gunathilake 66, Ranmith Jayasena 36, Dinith Anjula 33, Shanon Fernando 32*, Banuka de Silva 29, Nipuna Sasanka 21*, Maheesh Theekshan 3/70 

Result – Match Drawn (St. Peter’s College won first innings points)

Photo Album – St.Peter’s College v Royal College | Singer U19 Cricket Tournament 2018/19

Ananda College, Colombo vs Dharmaraja College, Kandy

The traditional fixture between Ananda College and Dharmaraja College also ended in a draw today at Dharmaraja College Grounds in Kandy but the hosts managed to shock a strong Ananda College outfit, claiming first innings points. After being 79 runs for no loss overnight, the Kandy lads put together 317 runs for 6 wickets in reply to Ananda’s 252 before declaring their innings on day 2.

Left handed stroke maker Isuru Dayananda was the chief contributor with the bat for the Rajans as he made a classy 122 in quick time. The visitors began their second innings 65 runs behind and were 73 for 1 when umpires called stumps on day two.

Brief scores

Ananda College – 252 (57.4) Kamesh Nirmal 77, Janidu Jayawardhane 45, Kalana Wijesiri 44, Muditha Ranathunga 23, Sudeepa Agulugaha 22, Upendra Warnakulasooriya 6/88, Yasith Samararathne 2/44 & 73/1 (14) Kamesh Nirmal 37*, Kanishka Ranthilakage 26*

Dharmaraja College – 317/6d (98) Isuru Dayananda 122, Yasitha Samararathne 65, Sachintha Senanayake 42, Dulaj Bandara 25, Dhanuka Marasinghe 23*, Janindu Jayawardhane 2/66

Result – Match Drawn (Dharmaraja College won first innings points)

Read – Lakshitha, Chamindu & Mahima outbat Mahinda

Zahira College, Colombo vs Lumbini College, Colombo

The Group B fixture between Zahira College and Lumbini College ended in a draw today at the Zahira College Grounds in Colombo with the visitors claiming first innings points. Sohan Dilshan starred with the bat scoring a ton while Ravishka Wijesiri shone with the ball picking up 7 wickets in the match for Lumbini College.

Photos: Zahira College v Lumbini College | Singer U19 Cricket Tournament 2018/19

Brief scores

Zahira College – 159 (40) Mohommed Slasa 63, C Dilrukshan 28, Mohommed Rishad 22, Ravishka Wijesiri 4/45, Yasiru Jayasinghe 2/22, Sithum Dissanayake 2/23 & 275/8d (54) Mohommed Shamash 95, Mohommed Shadilla 55, Rithmika Nimesh 35*, Aravinth Rajendran 34, Sithum Dissanayake 3/62, Ravishka Wijesiri 3/100

Lumbini College – 253 (52.4) Sohan Dilshan 101, Ravishka Wijesiri 60, Vishmitha Wijesri 31, Mohommed Slasa 6/63 & 118/9 (42) Prasad Madushanka 48, Mohommed Slasa 3/28

Result – Match Drawn (Lumbini College won first innings points)

Read More – Spinners bowl St. Sebastian’s to thumping victory

Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa vs Royal College, Colombo

The traditional fixture between Royal College and Prince of Wales College commenced today at the Royal College Grounds in Colombo. The Royal skipper Ranmith Jayasena won the toss and invited the opposition to bat first. The visitors posted 237 runs as Devaka Peiris (55) and Pasindu Pathum (45) top scored with the bat.

Left arm spinner Gishan Balasooriya was the pick of the bowlers for Royal as he captured 5 scalps for 80 runs. In reply, the hosts were on 35 runs for 1 wicket at the close of play on day one.  

Brief scores

Prince of Wales College – 237 (84.4) Devaka Peiris 55, Pasindu Pathum 45, Vinuja Rapul 38, Tharindu Gimantha 33, Dinura Hansaja 32, Gishan Balasooriya 5/80, Kamil Mishara 3/16

Royal College – 35/1 (10)

Read Also – Ravindu Fernando guides Maris Stella to first innings victory

D.S. Senanayake College, Colombo vs St. Aloysius College, Galle

The traditional fixture between D.S. Senanayake College and St. Aloysius College commenced today at Mattegoda. After being put in to bat first, DS posted 183 runs for 5 wickets with Muditha Lakshan top scoring with 40 runs. Manushka Samith picked up 3 wickets for 38 runs for the Galle boys. The match will continue tomorrow for day two.

Brief scores

D.S. Senanayake College – 183/5 (48) Muditha Lakshan 40, Chamath Yatawara 33*, Amitha Dabare 25, Manushka Samith 3/38