Domestic T20 kick-starts with thrilling super over

SLC Major T20 Tournament 2018/19


The 24-team SLC Major T20 Tournament began today with all 24 teams in action on the opening day. Six matches concluded in the morning session and saw one exciting super over finish and a whirlwind century by national discard Sadeera Samarawickrama.

Sri Lanka Club T20 league to commence tomorrow

The Major T20 Tournament 2018/19 which will see 24 clubs from all over the country…

SSC vs Saracens SC

The Group ‘A’ match which ended in a tie, saw SSC beating the league runners-up Saracens in the super over. Earlier in the day Saracens SC won the toss and restricted SSC for 145 runs at Bloomfield grounds.

SSC captain Dasun Shanaka top-sored with a 48-ball 64 while all-rounder Andy Solomons finished his 4 overs with 3 wickets for just 14 runs. The Saracens run-chase was hit by Jeffrey Vandersay, who is returning from injury, with impressive figures of 2/18 in 4 overs.

From 77/7 in the 13th over, Nipun Karunanayake and Navindu Nirmal put on an unbeaten stand of 68 runs for the 8th wicket to take Saracens close towards victory. However, needing 14 runs in the final over Saracens managed only 13 runs off Nuwan Pradeep’s over with a 6 and a 4 off the last two deliveries by Nirmal.

SSC145 (20) Dasun Shanaka 64, Tharindu Ratnayake 25, Andy Solomons 3/14, Saliya Saman 2/17, Raveen Sayer 2/27

Saracens SC – 145/7 (20) Nipun Karunanayake 50*, Navindu Nirmal 37*, Gamindu Kanishka 21, Jeffrey Vandersay 2/18


Photos: Saracens SC vs SSC | Major T20 Tournament 2018/19

Colts CC vs Police SC

The Group ‘B’ match played at Moors grounds was all about Sadeera Samarawickrama’s 65-ball century. After being put in to bat first, Colts put up 198 runs for the loss of 4 wickets. The opening stand between Samarawickrama and Avishka Fernando was worth 105 runs and came in just 12 overs.

In reply the cops were all out for 159 runs as Prabath Jayasuriya ripped through their batting line-up with 3 wickets for 15 runs. Akila Dananjaya too picked up a couple of wickets. Manjula Jayawardena top-scored for Police SC with 58 runs as Colts CC won by 39 runs.

Colts CC198/4 (20) Sadeera Samarawickrma 100*, Avishka Fernando 63, Jehan Daniel 24, Mahesh Priyadarshana 2/29

Police SC159 (20) Manjula Jayawardene 58, Malinga Maligaspe 35, Prabath Jayasuriya 3/15, Akila Dananjaya 2/18, Ravindu Tillakaratne 2/43


Photos: Colts CC vs Police SC | Major T20 Tournament 2018/19

Ragama CC vs Navy SC

The sailors registered a good win over Ragama CC chasing down 152 runs after they won the toss and opted to chase. The Navy run chase was inspired by two 40+ scored by Dilan Chandima and Dushan Hemantha. The match went right down to the wire when off-spinner Nishan Peiris was given the responsibility to defend 6 runs in the last over with Navy having 4 wickets in hand.

Wicket-keeper Salitha Fernando guided Navy towards the win as he finished off the game with a boundary in the 3rd delivery of the over.

In bowling for Navy, right-arm fast bowler Sathik Nimalsha grabbed 4 wickets to restrict Ragama for 152. In batting for Ragama, Janith Liyanage top-scored with 55 runs in 39 deliveries. The Group ‘C’ match was played at the Marians Cricket grounds in Katunayake.

Ragama CC152 (20) Janith Liyanage 55, Ishan Jayaratne 28, Sathik Nimalsha 4/28, Dilan Chandima 2/15, Tharushan Iddamalgoda 2/24, Sathik Nimalsha 2/25, Charuka Wijelath 2/27

Navy SC155/6 (19.3) Dilan Chandima 44, Dushan Hemantha 43, Thushara Madushanka 30, Ishan Jayaratne 2/16


SL Ports Authority CC vs Air Force SC

Air Force SC after winning the toss were beaten by 18 runs in the Group ‘C’ encounter played at Colts grounds. The 157 made by SL Ports Authority CC was sufficient for them as former Sri Lanka U19 seamers Hashan Vimarshana and Charith Jayampathi shared 6 wickets equally among them to restrict Air Force for 139 runs.

Photos: SLPA Cricket Team Preview 2019 | Viraj Kothalawala | 14/02/2019 Editing and re-using images without…

Opener Yohan Chanuka’s half-century was the highest score for SL Ports Authority as left-arm spinner Umega Chathuranga grabbed 4 wickets for Air Force. Veteran Sampath Perera too contributed with 3 wickets.

In Air Force’s failed run-chase, opener Ravindu Sembukuttige scored a half-century.

SL Ports Authority CC157 (20) Yohan Chanuka 62, Gayan Maneeshan 29, Primosh Perera 22, Umega Chathuranga 4/30, Sampath Perera 3/30

Air Force SC139 (19.3) Ravindu Sembukuttige 50, Charith Jayampathi 3/26, Hashan Vimarshana 3/26


Photos: Air Force SC vs SL Ports Authority SC | Major T20 Tournament 2018/19

NCC vs Panadura SC

NCC registered an easy 31-run win over Panadura SC in the Group ‘A’ match played at CCC grounds. Fast bowlers Dilesh Gunaratne and Asitha Fernando picked up 3 wickets each for the defending champions as Sri Lanka limited overs captain Lasith Malinga also picked up 2 wickets for NCC. Interestingly 8 Panadura wickets were taken by fast-bowlers.

NCC being inserted to bat first managed only a modest 142 runs. Mahela Udawatte scored 45 runs batting at 5 while skipper Upul Tharanga scored 33 runs at the top. Sri Lanka Test skipper had another horrid outing as he scored just 1 run.

NCC142/6 (20) Mahela Udawatta 45, Upul Tharanga 33, Lahiru Udara 21, Charana Nanayakkara 2/35

Panadura SC111 (17.1) Ajith Kumara 36, Mishen Silva 24, Asitha Fernando 3/21, Dilesh Gunaratne 3/28, Lasith Malinga 2/14


Photos: NCC v Panadura SC | Major T20 Tournament 2018/19

Lankan CC vs Badureliya SC

Badureliya registered a convincing win over Lankan CC in the Group ‘D’ encounter played at Army grounds in Panagoda. Lankan CC were bowled out for 125 runs after they were put in to bat first.

‘Podi Malinga’ Nuwan Thushara starred for Badureliya with 3 wickets. In reply Badureliya cruised to the required target in 18.2 overs losing 6 wickets.

Lankan CC125/8 (20) Maduranga Zoysa 25, S Kankanange 25, Lahiru Dilshan 21, Nuwan Thushara 3/22, Asanka Silva 2/24

Badureliya CC129/6 (18.2)Shiran Rathnayake 24*, Nadeera Nawela 21, Dulanjala Mendis 4/17