All-rounder Shehan Jayasuriya and fast-bowler Vishwa Fernando produced stellar performances to help Colombo book their place in the final of the SLC Super Provincial Limited Over Tournament when they defeated Kandy by 4 wickets at R. Premadasa International Stadium.

Tashik, Ashan and Nuwanidu excel in SLC U19 Provincial tournament

Northern Province, Western Province North, South and Central recorded wins on day two of the SLC Under 19…

Jayasuriya captured 3 wickets and scored a match-winning, unbeaten 30 while Fernando scalped 4 wickets as Colombo chased down Kandy’s 136 in this virtual semi-final clash.

Earlier in the day, after opting to bat first, Kandy lost Sandun Weerakkody in the second over when he was clean bowled by Sachithra Senanayake for 10. Vishwa Fernando bowled a hostile opening spell and removed Danushka Gunathilaka and TN Sampath in quick succession as both batsmen were caught behind.

Kandy lost wickets at regular intervals as off-spinner Shehan Jayasuriya came into the game and decimated the Kandy middle order comprising, Charith Asalanka, Ramesh Mendis and Sachith Pathirana.

The regular skipper Chamara Kapugedara was ruled out of the match once again due to a hamstring strain and stand-in-captain Mahela Udawatte fought hard for his 48-ball 22 but became Vishwa Fernando’s 4th wicket in the innings.

Read More : Bhanuka Rajapaksa ton flattens Colombo; Commanding win for Galle

After being 96 for 9, the last pair, Amila Aponso and Nuwan Pradeep added valuable 40 runs to help Kandy reach 136 as Aponso slammed 4 boundaries during his 25-ball unbeaten 22. Pradeep was clean bowled by Wanindu Hasaranga for 14.

Chasing a moderate target of 137 runs, Colombo had to bat 14 overs prior to the dinner break. Young left-handed Leo Fransisco gave away his wicket in the very first over bowled by Amila Aponso. Dilshan Munaweera clobbered 2 sixes for his 8-ball 16 but holed out to deep mid-wicket off Danushka Gunathilaka.

Aponso then removed Angelo Jayasinghe for 1 while Sachith Pathirana clean bowled skipper Dinesh Chandimal for just 2. Off-spinner Ramesh Mendis castled Kithruwan Vithanage with a straighter delivery as Colombo was in deep trouble at 47 for 5.

Shehan Jayasuriya and Wanindu Hasaranga then rescued Colombo with a vital 68-run stand for the 6th wicket which ultimately sealed the deal for Colombo. Hasaranga made 3 fours during his 46-ball 29 while Jayasuriya remained not out on 30 from 48 balls with 2 fours.

Read More : Singer schools’ Cricket Under 19 final postponed

Sachithra Senanayake was promoted to number 8 in place of Thisara Perera. Senanayake whacked 3 fours and the winning six during his unbeaten 10-ball 22.

With this win, Colombo booked their place in the final scheduled on 29th April and will wait for the winner of the final group match between Galle and Dambulla which will take place tomorrow (27th April) at the same venue.

Kandy - BattingToss: Kandy 
TotalExtras (16)136/10 (31 overs)
Danushka Gunathilakac Fransisco b Fernando12 (9)
Sandun Weerakkodyb Senanayake10 (6)
TN Sampathc Fransisco b Fernando4 (7)
Mahela Udawattec Perera b Fernando22 (48)
Charith Asalankac Fransisco b Jayasuriya9 (26)
Ramesh Mendisc Perera b Jayasuriya6 (12)
Sachith Pathiranast Fransisco b Jayasuriya5 (11)
Isuru UdanaLBW b Fernando16 (19)
Lahiru GamageLBW b Hasaranga0 (6)
Amila AponsoNot Out22 (25)
Nuwan Pradeepb Hasaranga14 (17)
Colombo - BowlingOMRW
Vishwa Fernando80614
Sachithra Senanayake80211
Shehan Jayasuriya70143
Alankara Asanka30120
Wanindu Hasaranga51192
Colombo - BattingToss: Kandy 
TotalExtras (12)139/6 (25.5 overs)
Leo Fransiscoc Sampath b Aponso1 (4)
Dilshan Munaweerac Mendis b Gunathilaka16 (8)
Kithruwan Vithanageb Mendis26 (23)
Angelo Jayasinghec Gunathilaka b Aponso1 (3)
Dinesh Chandimalb Pathirana2 (13)
Shehan JayasuriyaNot Out30 (48)
Wanindu Hasrangac Asalanka b Pathirana29 (46)
Sachithra SenanayakeNot Out22 (10)
Thisara Perera
Alankara Asanka
Vishwa Fernando
Kandy - BowlingOMRW
Amila Aponso71342
Charith Asalanka30100
Danushka Gunathilaka40211
Sachith Pathirana5.50352
Ramesh Mendis30151
Nuwan Pradeep31200