Sri Lanka beat Australia after 17 years

Sri Lanka celebrating the dismissal of Mitchell Starc

Sri Lanka recorded their second-ever Test win over Australia as the hosts’ won the first Test by 106 runs on Saturday at Pallekelle International Cricket Stadium.

Peter Neville and Steve O’Keefe delayed the win blocking 178 balls, scoring 4 runs for the 9th wicket but the rains which interrupted throughout the course of the game stayed away as Sri Lanka defeated the world no.1 Test team after 17 years. Sri Lanka’s last Test win against Australia came on 11th September, 1999 at Asgiriya under Sanath Jayasuriya.

    Photos: Sri Lanka vs Australia 1st Test Match – Day 5

Kusal Mendis’ exceptional 176 in the 2nd innings which turned the game on its head won him the man-of-the-match award while experienced campaigner Rangana Herath bowled his heart out to pick up 9 wickets in the match including 5 for 54 on the final day.

Earlier the morning showers delayed the start by an hour, the first session was scheduled to be a 90-minute affair, Herath struck gold when he dismissed Adam Voges for 12 in the 8th over of the morning through a return catch which needed the confirmation from the TV umpire. Steve Smith and Mitchell Marsh looked to take the game away from the hosts’ with a positive 43-run stand for the 5th wicket.

Mathews used his off-spinners, Dilruwan Perera and Dhananjaya De Silva during most of the time Smith and Marsh were at the crease but he finally brought his ace spinner, Herath and trapped Marsh right in front of the wicket for 25.

Live Text Commentary

Smith was given caught behind off Sandakan but the Australian skipper opted for a review which showed clear daylight between bat and ball. In the very next over, Smith was caught plumb in front as Herath took his 4th wicket.

Smith made the only Australian half-century of the game, 55 off 125 deliveries with just one boundary off Sandakan. Just before the lunch break, Mitchell Starc was caught and bowled by Sandakan as the Aussies were at some serious trouble at 141 for 7.

In the post-lunch session, Nathan Lyon was struck by a massive-turning Sandakan delivery and ruled out LBW for 8. Lyon opted for a review but the replays showed it would not miss the stumps.

Sri Lanka v Australia – Tournament HUB

In the 79th over, O’Keefe survived a huge appeal  for a bat-pad dismiss off Dhananjaya de Silva but umpire Richard Kettleborough turned down the decision and Sri Lanka were out of reviews.

Two overs later, O’Keefe was given out lbw by Kettleborough. His own review showed an inside edge and he was saved but his luck was short-lived as Herath skid one through the bat and pad gate in the 89th over to end the game.

Full Scorecard

Dimuth KarunarathneLBW b Starc512
Kaushal Silvac Voges b Hazelwood425
Kusal MendisLBW b Hazelwood87
Dinesh Chandimal c Nevill b Hazelwood1554
AD Mathews c Smith b O’Keefe15 24 
Dhananjaya De Silva c Burns b Lyon 24 38
Kusal Janith Perera b Lyon 20 15
Dilruwan Perera LBW b Lyon
Rangana Herath LBW b Starc 10
Lakshan Sandakan Not Out 19 15
Nuwan Pradeepc Smith b O’Keefe  0
Extras (1)TOTAL 117 (34.2 overs)

Fall of wickets :1-6 (Karunaratne, 4.1 ov), 2-15 (Mendis, 5.3 ov), 3-18 (Silva, 9.1 ov), 4-43 (Mathews, 14.2 ov), 5-67 (Chandimal, 25.6 ov), 6-87 (de Silva, 28.2 ov), 7-87 (MDK Perera, 28.4 ov), 8-94 (MDKJ Perera, 30.2 ov), 9-100 (Herath, 31.6 ov), 10-117 (Pradeep, 34.2 ov)

Mitchell Starc 111512
Josh Hazelwood104213
Steve O’Keefe10.23322
 Nathan Lyon  312
Joe Burnsb Herath315
David Warnerb Pradeep05
Usman KhawajaLBW b Herath2662
Steve Smithst Chandimal b Herath3053
Adam Vogesct Mendis b Pradeep47115
Mitchell Marshb Sandakan3163
Peter Nevillect Perera b Herath211
Steve O’Keefect Mendis b Sandakan2380
Mitchell Starcct Perera b Sandakan11 29
Nathan LyonLBW b Sandakan 1725
Josh HazelwoodNot Out218
Extras (11)TOTAL 203 (79.2 overs)

Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Warner, 2.2 ov), 2-7 (Burns, 3.6 ov), 3-69 (Smith, 21.2 ov), 4-70 (Khawaja, 23.2 ov), 5-130 (Marsh, 45.4 ov), 6-137 (Nevill, 48.3 ov), 7-160 (Voges, 62.1 ov), 8-179 (Starc, 69.5 ov), 9-190 (O’Keefe, 73.6 ov), 10-203 (Lyon, 79.2 ov)

Nuwan Pradeep166362
Rangana Herath 258494
Dilruwan Perera141430
 Lakshan Sandakan 21.2584
 Angelo Mathews 316
Kusal JanithLBW b Starc45
Kaushal SilvaLBW b O’Keefe732
Dimuth KarunarathneLBW b Starc03
Kusal Mendisc Neville b Starc176254
Angelo Mathewsc Burns b Lyon931
Dinesh ChandimalLBW b Marsh42100
Dhananjaya De Silvac Khawaja b Lyon3662
Dilruwan PereraLBW b Hazelwood1222
Rangana Herathc Henriques b Hazelwoood3534
Lakshan Sandakan b Starc97
Nuwan PradeepNot Out1012
Extras (13)TOTAL353 (93.4 overs)

Fall of wickets: 1-6 (MDKJ Perera, 2.2 ov), 2-6 (Karunaratne, 2.5 ov), 3-45 (Silva, 12.2 ov), 4-86 (Mathews, 27.1 ov), 5-203 (Chandimal, 58.1 ov), 6-274 (de Silva, 77.3 ov), 7-290 (Mendis, 82.1 ov), 8-314 (MDK Perera, 87.4 ov), 9-323 (Sandakan, 88.5 ov), 10-353 (Herath, 93.4 ov)

Mitchell Starc194844
Josh Hazelwood18.43592
Steve O’Keefe16.23421
Nathan Lyon2721082
David Warner10100
Adam Voges1.4030
Mitchell Marsh91331
Steve Smith1010
Joe Burnsb Sandakan2957
David Warner b Herath14
Usman KhawajaLBW b Perera1826
Steve SmithLBW b Herath55125
Adam Vogesc & b Herath1247
Mitchell MarshLBW b Herath2537
Peter Nevillc Chandimal b De Silva9115
Mitchell Starcc & b Sandakan03
Nathan LyonLBW b Sandakan816
Steve O’Keefeb Herath498
Josh HazelwoodNot Out07
Extras (0)TOTAL161 (83.3 overs)

Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Warner, 1.2 ov), 2-33 (Khawaja, 8.1 ov), 3-63 (Burns, 17.6 ov), 4-96 (Voges, 34.2 ov), 5-139 (Marsh, 47.3 ov), 6-140 (Smith, 49.4 ov), 7-141 (Starc, 50.2 ov), 8-157 (Lyon, 56.1 ov), 9-161 (Nevill, 85.5 ov), 10-161 (O’Keefe, 88.3 ov)

Nuwan Pradeep63160
Rangana Herath33.316545
Dilruwan Perera133301
Lakshan Sandakan258493
Dhananjaya De Silva117121