Kamindu Mendis of Richmond College, Galle has been named Sri Lanka U19 captain for the upcoming U19 Youth Asia Cup which is scheduled to start on 15th December in Sri Lanka.

 U19 Youth Asia Cup Sri Lanka 2016 Hub 

U19 Youth Asia Cup
Kamindu Mendis

Mendis who took the cricketing world by storm earlier in the year bowling with both arms during the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup in Bangladesh will be assisted by another lad from down south, right-handed middle order batsman Ashen Bandara of St. Aloysius’ College, Galle.

U19 Youth Asia Cup
Ashen Bandara

Apart of Mendis who made 156 runs in 6 matches, fast-bowling all-rounder Jehan Daniel of St. Joseph’s College represented Sri Lanka U19s in the 2016 Youth World Cup. The selected 15 players eligible for the Youth Asia Cup are those who qualify for the next ICC U19 World Cup, to be held in New Zealand in early 2018.

U19 Youth Asia Cup
Jehan Daniel

India and Pakistan were crowned joint champions in the first Youth Asia Cup in 2012 after the final was tied in Malaysia while India comfortably won the 2013/14 tournament held in UAE beating Pakistan by 40 runs in the final.

U19 Youth Asia Cup
Thilan Prashan

The eight-team competition will kick off on 15th December and will go on till 23rd December with the final to be played under lights at R. Premadasa International Stadium. The hosts, Sri Lanka has been drawn with former champions, India, Nepal and Malaysia in group A while Pakistan will battle it out with Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Singapore in group B.  

U19 Asia Cup – Sri Lanka grouped with India, Malaysia and Nepal

U19 Youth Asia Cup
Praveen Jayawickrama

St. Aloysius’ College, Galle has contributed three players to the national youth squad while two players each from Trinity College, Kandy and St. Joseph’s College, Colombo have also been named in the squad.

U19 Youth Asia Cup
Vishwa Chathuranga

The team is coached by former Sri Lankan batsman Roy Dias and managed by former SSC and S. Thomas’ College left-arm fast bowler Mahinda Halangoda.

Sri Lanka U19 Squad

  • Kamindu Mendis (Richmond College, Galle) – Captain
  • Ashen Bandara (St. Aloysius College, Galle) – Vice Captain
  • Ravindu Sanjana  (St. Aloysius College, Galle)
  • Hareen Buddhila  (St. Aloysius College, Galle)
  • Jehan Daniel (St. Joseph’s College, Colombo 10)
  • Revan Kelly (St. Joseph’s College, Colombo 10)
  • Hasitha Boyagoda (Trinity College, Kandy)
  • Thisaru Rashmika Dilshan (Trinity College, Kandy)
  • Praveen Jayawickrema (St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa)
  • Vishva Chathuranga (Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa)
  • Lasith Croospulle (Maris Stella College, Negombo)
  • Wanitha Wanninayake (St. Anne’s College, Kurunegala)
  • Thilan Prasan (St. Servatius College, Matara)
  • Krishan Sanjula (De Mazenod College, Kandana)
  • Nipun Ranshika (P.De.S Kularathne College, Ambalangoda)

U19 Match Fixtures