Kaveesha sinks Atapattu’s Marians; big wins for Seenigama, Air Force, Army & Navy

Women’s Inter-Club Division I 50-over Cricket Tournamen

Sri Lanka Cricket

Kaveesha Dilhari smashed 91* and then captured 4 wickets, to help Seenigama CC register a comfortable 93-run win over the fancied Chilaw Marians at the Women’s Inter-Club Division I 50-over Cricket Tournament that commenced today.

4 matches of the competition were held today, with Navy SC, Air Force SC A and Army SC A the other teams that came away with wins.

Seenigama CC vs Chilaw Marians CC at R Premadasa

An unbeaten 130-run partnership between Dilhari and Piumi Wathsala for the 6th wicket dragged Seenigama from a spot of bother at 110/5 in the 30th over to 240/5 at the end of their innings. The Marians also conceded 31 extras, including 20 wides, not helping their cause after being asked to field by Seenigama skipper Dilhari.

For a while, it looked like Sri Lanka Captain Chamari Athapaththu would take the game away from Seenigama in the chase as she dominated a 1st wicket partnership of 60 alongside Vishmi Gunaratne, but when she fell to Dilhari on 66, the game was all but done.

Marians eventually folded for 147 with Dilhari and fellow national cap Sachini Nisansala picking up 4 wickets apiece.

Brief Scores

Seenigama CC 240/5 (50) Kaveesha Dilhari 91*, Piumi Wathsala 50*, Malsha Madushani 1/13

Chilaw Marians CC 147 (28.2) Chamari Athapaththu 66, Kaveesha Dilhari 4/39, Sachini Nisansala 4/41

Seenigama won by 93 runs

Navy SC vs Air Force SC B at Navy Grounds, Welisara

National discard Hansima Karunaratne hit a stylish 104 off 125 deliveries to help Navy SC set an imposing 251 on the board after winning the toss and opting to bat at their home grounds in Welisara. Karunaratne was involved in 2 big partnerships along the way, 92 alongside national vice-captain Harshitha Samarawickrama and 110 with Prasadini Weerakkody as the defending champions dominated proceedings.

Air Force B were never in the chase, as left-armers Udeshika Prabodhani and Tharika Sewwandi ran through their batting to reduce them to 9/4 inside the first four overs. Former National skipper Shashikala Siriwardene came in and finished things off with a tidy 3/13 as the visitors were bowled out for 73.

Brief Scores

Navy SC 251/5 (50) Hansima Karunaratne 104*, Harshitha Samarawickrama 58, Ushani Ruwanthika 3/26

Air Force SC B 73 (25.4) Surangika Perera 23, Udeshika Prabodhani 3/12, Shashikala Siriwardene 3/13

Navy won by 178 runs

Air Force SC A vs Army SC B at Air Force Grounds, Katunayake

Chamari Polgampola and Oshadi Ranasinghe’s half-centuries helped Air Force SC post a formidable 272 on the board in their tournament opener against Army B. Significant contributions also came off the bats of Dilani Manodara (41) and Malsha Shehani (30) as Army struggled to halt the flow of runs in the 2nd half of the innings.

The chase was another difficult one, as Army B were bundled out for 81. Polgampola was the star with the ball as well, as she picked up 3 wickets to go along with her 82.

Brief Scores

Air Force SC A 272/7 (50) Chamari Polgampola 82, Oshadhi Ranasinghe 71, Sachni de Silva 2/28

Army SC B 81 (44.2) Ayesha Chandrasiri 15, Chamari Polgampola 3/8, Oshadi Ranasinghe 2/7

Air Force A won by 191 runs

Colts Cricket Club vs Army SC A at Army Grounds, Panagoda

The shortest game of the day came in Panagoda, as the Army A team demolished the young Colts CC side, bowling them out for just 45 and then chasing that down in no time. Off break bowler Ganesha Chamari was the star with the ball, picking up the tournament’s 1st 5-wicket haul. Colts just had no answer, with only 1 batter, skipper AD Janakanthimala the only one to reach double figures; she made 10.

Brief Scores

Colts CC 45 (32.4) AD Janakathimala 10, Ganesha Chamari 6/7, Achni Kulasooriya 2/19

Army SC A 45/1 (13.5) Anushka Sanjeewani 16*, Roshini Perera 12, Nimasha Madushani 1/21

Army A won by 9 wicket